Habits define you

35 130
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Do you know your habits define who you are? Habits are those small decisions you make and actions you perform daily. Habits account for half of your behavioral pattern on any given day.

Today, your life is basically the total of all your habits, whether you are out of shape or in shape? A result of your habits. How unhappy or happy you are? Result of your habits. How unsuccessful or successful you are? Result of your habits.

The actions you repeatedly do, what you spend time thinking and doing daily, form the individual you are, what you believe in, and the personality you portray. 

Whether it is procrastination, strength, nutrition, productivity, it all comes down to your habits. The moment you transform your habits, you essentially transform your life.

A great habit one can build is eating healthy and exercising daily because this could help you avoid excess weight gain and maintain good health/weight.

Being active physically is beneficial when it comes to reaching your weight-loss goals. It doesn't have to be losing weight; exercising and eating healthy are the best habits because they help you live better.

The truth is habits are tough to break, especially when they are wrong, but if you adopt healthy habits, you won't regret the decision. Healthy habits reduce your stress levels, improve your appearance and mental health.

Bad habits may seem reasonable to you, maybe it is lying, stealing, or holding grudges against others, but the truth is you are only hurting yourself.

If you lie or steal, you will eventually get caught; if you hold grudges against others, you are only hurting your health because all the negative emotions stored in you will affect you.

Bad habits can be attributed to two things, boredom and stress; think about it, it is only when you are bored/stressed that you tend to overbuy, drink without care, or spend so much time on the internet.

Things don't have to be that way; we can always teach ourselves healthy and new ways to deal with boredom and stress, and new habits will help you replace the bad habits.

Recognizing what causes you to lean on bad habits will be effective if you want to overcome it. You don't eliminate your bad habits; you replace them with good ones. 

Lying is a bad habit, but there is no way you can eliminate it; we will lie once or several times a day, depending on how social we are. Instead of eliminating lies, find a way to reduce or prevent the scenarios that cause you to lie.

All your habits are in your life for a reason, and in some ways, they benefit us even if sometimes they are wrong.

Simply, bad habits are our body's way of coping with stress and problems; people smoke and drink when they are confused or sad, people lie so they don't hurt others.

Bad habits provide some benefits to our lives, which is why it is sometimes hard to get rid of them, and that is why it is recommendable to replace them with newer habits that have similar benefits.

If smoking is your habit, it is not an intelligent plan to "just stop smoking" entirely, instead find other ways to deal with your stress without using a cigarette.

To effectively break bad habits, you should always choose a substitute for it and plan ahead of time on how you will respond when you face boredom and stress. 

What should you do to stop smoking/drinking?

Well, you could start doing some breathing exercises.

What should you do to avoid procrastination on Facebook.

Turn off your notifications, and set a timetable.

Whatever it is you are dealing with, you always need to plan what you would do.

If you smoke or drink, don't go to a bar or carry cigarettes; if you overeat, don't have so much food in your house.

If the first thing you do on the couch is look for the remote, then hide it somewhere you can't find it.

Make it easier to break bad habits by avoiding the things that would lead you to do them; it is that simple. Change your environment, and you change your habits.

Now let me ask you a question?

What is a bad habit you have? And how do you think you will replace it?

Thank you for reading!

29
$ 8.03
$ 7.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @NakamotoBch
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 19
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Bad actions should be corrected before they become habit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habits is always be our habits. We can't ignore nore denied it. Cause we believed that every actions speak the truth..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jonna how did you end up being spammed?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hii.. I don't know because im just a new here.. Can you help me? I dont have knowledge about this because im just 3 days here.. Sorry 🙏😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You would have to create a new account; that is what I did before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your actions speak for you, definitely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Habits grow the same way we grow, and the more we grow, the more our lives get built up with the habits too.

More particularly, we are the slaves of whatever habit we adopt, because we will only do things as it comes to us.

Habits are part of us, and can not be separated from a person, it reveals the kind of personality a person possess.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My bad habit is I'm lazy when it comes to eating. I don't know why, my doctor keep on telling me to not skip breakfast as it is the most important of all meals, i still didn't listen as I feel lazy eating breakfast, and now im suffering hyperacidity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That procrastinating thing was sometimes become my habit, and trying to overcome it by doing things ahead of time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My bad habit is that I always eat something sweet after lunch. I am trying to change that but I love sweets very much. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A bad habit, which I would rather say is a lack of habit is that I don't exercise very often. And it's something that I have to improve.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I believe you can do anything if you set your mind Coqui🤗🤗😁, maybe twice a week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep I need to set up some goals for this , hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right on this 100%, our habit truly defines who we are. I don't really think I have any bad habits but Procrastination is definitely one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is inspirational It let me to discover plenty of my good habit even the ones I didn't think are actually bad habits I hope to get Habit that define you part2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that part you said we exhibit bad habits to calm the system from stress and problems... And the worst part is that after its practice, the regretful feelings would add up to the problems and expand the emotional stress the more. Bad habits doesn't solve problems at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading your valuable article and I clearly understand that a person can understand everything clearly if he reads this article very carefully. Our habits really tell us where we are, What we are going to do in the future. Daily activities, Workplaces will tell us. We will be able to realise our whole thing on our own, the words are really beautiful, thank you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

While reading this article it reminds me of thinking what are my habits. Well, one of those is singing. i love to sing specially when I am stressed and tired. Aside from writing I used to sing. I don't what is in singing why it ease my tiredness and stress

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Singing is a healthy and great habit; I am glad it makes you happy. Maybe you can sing for me😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right that habits form us. When we exhibit the bad habits, it will affect us and people would see us for who we are. This is why we need to inculcate the good habits.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly Princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habits are really hard to stop but I'm proud to say I conquered it. I smoke before, now I stopped on it and definitely not gonna do it again.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

You're very much accurate about all you have said here, out habits define us and gives other people a general overview of our personality. Take for example someone like Ronaldo, just looking at his fitness level alone will tell you he has a good habit of exercising frequently and eating a very healthy diet

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Hehe, Ronaldo is a great example of good habits in body but not in a match.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a several bad habits Lazyness, excessive using mobile, sleeping late, eating unhealthy foods etc. As you said, I already set reminder in my phone , whenever I get notifications I hurriedly switched off my cellphone. I told myself if I sleep more than 9 hours then I will punish myself by exercising 😅as I hate to do exercise.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Lol, at least you are trying to change your habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habits will be formed in the same way that you will build your life with habits. In fact, habits are the slaves of human beings. But we do not want to understand the word. And yes, it is true. Habits reveal a person's personality.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

It's important to identify one's own habits and inspect each and every habit, whether you consider it good or bad. Then decide to disrupt the bad ones and replace them with good habits.

This seems trivial, but one is unaware of many habits unless one decides really to examine one's own behaviour. So identifying them is the first step.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You nailed it Mictorrani, if you don't know the problem then there is no way to fix it. Thank you for dropping by🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

habits are really hard to stop especially the bad ones, the thing is once you have it then stoping it is a challenge

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they can be tough to stop, but we will achieve whatever we set our mind to do; if you want to stop your bad habits, then set your mind to do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those bad habits that I have are my struggles everyday but I always fighting on it each day, I practice and discipline myself not to do it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Discipline is an important step when it comes to eliminating bad habits. Soon you will get rid of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so My Friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago