Are you starting your blog? Where do you start?

35 99
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 4th January 2022

Hello everyone! It is a beautiful new day, and I hope everyone is having a great time this new year and staying hydrated. 

It is the fourth day in 2022, and the market still seems to be going crazy, but I hope things will be better by the end of this month.

In today's article, I will be writing something a bit different, and as you have seen in the topic above, I will be showing you how you can start your blog.

Starting a blog can be difficult, especially when you don't know where to start, but don't worry. This article will show you the essential steps needed to start your blog.

I hope you enjoy the article, and I will see you in the next one.

This post will give you 6 essential steps to get started on the right foot and be successful from the get-go. 

The first and most essential step would be to:

1. Pick a Niche

A niche is a small yet profitable market. Take, for example, sugar-free cake recipes - it's under the broad subject of baking, has a small but dedicated following, and is profitable.

If you're stuck on finding your niche, simply write down your interests and hobbies on a piece of paper. Compare them and determine which you feel most comfortable writing about. Most successful blogs usually revolve around the interest of their creators.

2. Select a Blogging Platform

A blogging platform is a service that helps you maintain and publish your content on the internet. An excellent example of a blogging platform is WordPress. 

It's easy to use and comes with loads of plugins and themes to help customize your blog. I will talk about blog customization later in this article.

Read cash would also be a fantastic platform to start from, and I recommend it.

3. Choose a Catchy Name

Choosing a catchy name is super important when creating your blog. Blog names should give a general sense of what you write about and be easy to remember. A good example is Nerd Fitness- it encompasses all that the blog talks about and is memorable.

Once you've chosen your blog name, check if it's available on a domain registry, e.g., GoDaddy, Google domains. Getting a domain name should cost around $12.00. 

4. Purchase Web Hosting

Put simply, web hosting is an online storage space where you store all of your blog files. It makes your blog accessible online to everyone. You can select from various forms of hosting services online. Some examples are hostinger, Godaddy, and HostGator.

Web hosts usually charge a moderate fee to help put your blog online - usually around $3.00 a month.

5. Install WordPress on Your Host and Customize Your Blog

Installing WordPress shouldn't be too much of a problem. Hosts usually install WordPress automatically or on request. When this stage is done. Select a theme and Customize your blog to your taste.

Note: Customizing your blog is where the main work starts, and this is also where many spend a lot of time. Luckily, many YouTube videos will give you a step-by-step guide on customizing a WordPress blog.

6. Write, publish and promote your first post.

Writing your first post can be a daunting task. This usually stems from a lack of ideas. An easy fix to this is writing a guide on how to solve a common problem in your niche. 

Let's go back to the niche example we used in the first section, sugar-free cake recipes". At first glance, you might ask yourself; Are sugar-free cakes tasty? This question can be turned into an insightful blog post on how to make sugar-free cakes taste better. 

Conclusion

Once you're done, publish your post and promote it on social media platforms such as this one. Ideally, You should spend more time promoting your post than writing it.

Let me know if you have any ideas you'd like to share in the comments below.

34
$ 6.79
$ 6.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 19
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for sharing this tips Oikawa. This is really a big help for us. It's really important we should know the things that help us in terms of writing. It will make your work easily.

I agree with you Oikawa about the things we are interested too, like hobbies. It will give us ideas and help us in easy way because it is an advantage for ourselves. It's really good when you are already have an idea the things you want to make for.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, sometimes writing can be hard, but when you write on something you love, it become easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you into blogging? I guess it is also important to have a "catchy title" of your blog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are good tips to be a great blogger.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When you want to be a professional blogger, then go get a domain name and blog on WordPress. That's what I have as an article writer.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was just planning to start it but I don't even have a single idea how hahhaa thanks for this it will be a big help, also I just read some articles about blogs so that I could make one on my own.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Professional blogging never easy because it requires lot of research , paper work and above to all peace of mind to focus on write up . Really number 4 is very new to me , I never think about keeping my blog on web host . Then last sentence give me a clue that spend more time on promotion then writing. Thanks !

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These are really nice pointers to follow to be a blogger. Up tops @Oikawa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed the article, friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it to start my own website or means blogging platform?or my friend have published an website by thier on coding he not picked it from wordpress or site name is "Press release" he made it two years ago

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow these helpful but I have a question I don't really understand that number three 🤔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A catchy name, a name everyone can relate with, and what your store sells! If you are doing vegetables, you could use Evergreen Vegetables, something like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly dear. I have one. But rarely have time for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it is difficult keeping up with a blog, especially if you are writing on other platforms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are the key points we can use to start a blog,seems I'll try to create a blog too some day and run it online,even if it's challenging i will try to check it Btw picking a suitable topic is a good thing and most important while blogging.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Picking a suitable topic is critical to know what to write! Without the topic, you would write random things respecting them to stick

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are nice tops. I believe number 4 and 5 is where lots of beginner bloggers have their struggle

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There was a time I opened a blog, but I didn’t get to finish it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Blogging can be challenging, especially when you are starting! That is why you should follow these steps; they will guide and tell you how to start correctly. I hope they have helped you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have done justice to this, this is enough a guidelines to starting a blogging

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Ay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You’ve written extensively. I think any one who wants to venture into blogging can make good use of these tips

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed the article, Masiyiwa! Nice to meet you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice to meet you too Oikawa. Hope you’re enjoying the New Year alreaady?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already feel inspired to start my own blog. But I'm being cervical because of the long process involved, the stress and all.

I'm not even a good writer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No one is a great writer when they start, and it is when you start that you would get better at writing😁🥰 Try starting your blog, and your writing skills will become better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing blog is not as easy, it requires time, consistentency and a lot of hard work. I don't ever see myself having my own personal blogging site, it's not for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, yeah, before I started writing, I wanted to get my blog, and the process was challenging. In a way, readcash is like a blog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are beautiful tips.. as a person who is in blogging for long time, picking a niche is very important to gather audiences... I started to do well only after picking paranormal as my niche..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Picking a Niche is essential because it focuses on something you like, and writing on your niche can help you get better as a writer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do remember all of this 😊 I want to be a good writer but i found it hard for me but still trying to be

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know you can do it, friend! You only need to start first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any day is a good start. There is no auspicious day for work. Blogging is just another piece of work one can do. Starting is essential to move on.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with you Unity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago