A better future needs a strong BCH (Bitcoin Cash). Does everyone really want it though?

88 1018
Avatar for Mono
Written by
3 years ago

Note from the writer: The article is exaggerated intentionally. The article writer respects and admires all people mentioned, but wrote the article from a "take no prisoners" approach.

TL;DR
I get it, there's some disagreement. But it's not actually that bad and it could definitely be a lot worse. YOU, that's right, you. Put your ego aside and focus on what really matters. What you're here for. We'll look back at this whole thing and laugh, reminiscing about another chapter of the Bitcoin saga as we clink glasses and drink our beers (which will be paid for in the undivided Bitcoin Cash, of course). Cheers.

It needs to be said... WHAT. IS. GOING. ON?!?!

I, along with probably many other people who believe in "crypto" generally and Bitcoin Cash specifically, are in a weird spot. Why? It's quite simple and comes down to this: We're smart enough to understand the general fundamentals and share the genuine enthusiasm of the more technical people, but not smart enough to fully comprehend the nuance and feel stake in what the "in group" knows about. The "in group" is of course the group of people who have been getting more attention lately. Node developers, miners, startup initiators, cryptography enthusiasts, fringe developers, etc. Even wealthy HODLers are trying to exert influence on poor BCH.

To be fair, maybe not everyone in the "in group" is so technically knowledgeable and there are probably a lot of "outsiders" who are pretty competent, but for whatever reason have decided to not be as involved with the politics.

And that's exactly how a lot of us see it. As politics. Here is a crude summation of everything that's been going on (not actual quotes, obviously):

Amaury: "I am the benevolent dictator after all. No one wants to admit it, but I'm at least half the reason BCH is where it is right now. Accept my views on everything. Understand I'm the ship's captain, steering wheel, and the current of the ocean moving it. Provide the financial compensation accordingly. Something seems off? You don't agree? I don't care. That's the price when the mantra is 'innovate or die.'"

George Donnelly: "Exactly! Innovate or die. If you're not building, you're not helping. Never mind that my financial (and ideological*) incentives and work were aligned with a completely different ecosystem mere months ago. But i'm good at what I do. And now i'm doing this. So keep up or miss out. #BuildDASH #BuildBCH"
*[This still isn't so clear]

Tobias Ruck: "Uh...I just have some really cool ideas for BCH. I agree with Amaury and Vin. They're my rolemodels. So like them, I have things to say and i'll say them. Since I'm a pretty nice guy I'll just imply you're wrong with a smile and a compassionate discussion ending remark or open ended question. LET ME JUST GET MY STUFF MARKET READY AND ALL OF THIS FIGHTING WILL BE IRRELEVANT. And wait until you hear about Mitra..."

VIN: "[waxes poetic] ...and that's why I'm predicting it now, like i did in 2018, there will be a split. I don't want one, but logically, philosophically, siapanically, it's gonna happen. And I'll keep making covert and overt references that flat out embellish and prepare for the split, but continue to pretend like i'd prefer it didn't happen."

BCHN and its immediate supporters: "We have some technical disagreements, but mainly authoritarian disagreements, with everything Bitcoin ABC, under Amaury's rule, is doing. We're not sure what our direction actually is or how we're really going to sustain ourselves and avoid fizzling out, but right now THIS MATTERS TO US. There are also enough people agreeing with us to give us enough power to stand in opposition to Bitcoin ABC. We're pretty happy about that, but honestly have no idea where we're heading with all this..."

Bitcoin Unlimited: "...WTH?"

Bitcoin Verde: "...WTH?"

Bunch of others that will make this too long if I name: "...WTH?"

Justin Bons: "I really like BCH, but i'm a portfolio manager, so i'll cheer from the side and hope for the best (making tweaks to my allocations as necessary)."

Roger Ver: "Yeah, so i'm just gonna lay low for a bit while I try and get my head around what's going on. At first I was supportive of the IFP, then I wasn't, then I realized maybe there are other issues I should work out because honestly...WTH?"

Marc De Mesel: "You say you don't support Amaury? [Donates hundreds of $$$*] We can't let him destroy BCH!"
*[Feel free to do this here too]

The more people try and "rationalize their position", the more absurd things seem to get. Are there politics involved? Sure. There always are. But that should be the last thing we're worrying about, not the first.

Bitcoin Cash has a strong, though fairly silent community. Even if this article seems pessimistic, it's actually the opposite. It's meant to highlight how many of the problems are so artificial, so surface level. And the truth is that all cryptocurrencies actually worth something are starting to have problems like this in one form or another, a result of development that has reached a new stage of maturity. Luckily (or rather, intelligently), Bitcoin Cash has much less technical/adoption challenges then other "cryptos". That doesn't mean we should slow down, but it does mean being smart about identifying the theoretical destination we're headed to is not wasted time. If one step back means two steps forward, so be it.

Failure on both sides to internalize this with good intent could be disastrous. And i'm not worried, but the next 6-12 months are pretty important.

So "in group", what really matters to you? Put it all on the table. There are considerations for money, power, self pride, commitment, empathy, sacrifice and a lot more. Even with all that, i'd like to believe that Bitcoin Cash as a community, and as an idea, is important enough to let the people on all sides pull through. Maybe i'm just naive.

I don't have so much money on the line, but I also don't mind selling at a loss (though I don't want to and I don't plan on selling much regardless). I do mind seeing BCH being split yet again to rough, broken pieces of the whole that made it so compelling in the first place. Some splits really are unavoidable. This one isn't unavoidable. And I think deep down both "sides" know that it won't be good. Amicable? Maybe. But that doesn't make it healthy. Everyone will lose. I don't know how much, but i'm willing to bet enough to considerably ruin Bitcoin Cash's chances of being THE p2p cash of the world (without even mentioning all the other good stuff it has going for it in the future).

At the end of the day, there are two main ways of repairing something that's starting to show cracks. Assuming you can never stop the cracks entirely, you can either slow down their formation, or repair them as they appear. Ideally you do both. Bitcoin Cash has put more emphasis on slowing the formation of the cracking for a while now, but it's time to repair. Together.

Sincerely,
Mono

170
$ 507.81
$ 500.00 from @MarcDeMesel
$ 5.00 from @ralak
$ 1.00 from @JonathanSilverblood
+ 5
Avatar for Mono
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Hilarious article :)

Laughing does make my heart softer, but my mind does not see a future for BCH with Amaury and his friends at the helm.

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.

Hope to read more from u in future, please tweet to me also if I seem to have missed it here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, didn't expect that! I appreciate the support Marc.

I can't say I totally agree, but I understand where you're coming from. I'm rationally optimistic. I think we'll have some challenges ahead, but if Bitcoin Cash can stick to its roots, have strong and cooperating technical players, and persevere the next few years intact, it's value will be much better realized within the broader crypto market. I know you believe that as well or we wouldn't be talking here right now. Your financial and intellectual influence in the space has been, and still is, very important for the prosperous growth of BCH, so thank you again for what you do.

I hope to write up some more articles, especially for new people to crypto or for those who haven't yet realized why they should also be supporting BCH and need a nudge in the right direction. ;) Would love to have your input when they're out. Thanks again!

$ 10.00
3 years ago

Nice info, keep posting like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bitcoin cash is going faster grow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this article because it's actually true... Now am working on improve my speed and knowledge on my transactions with BCH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow motivating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article and good perspective. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love how BCH moving upward

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bitcoin the best..but bch now is moving fast...interesting article..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great future BCH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing this good informative article. ā£

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

stronger the base, more powerful will be the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

BTC transfer fee is too expensive, compared to BTC, BCH is more suitable for transaction.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this article. Its very helpful for everyone specially for the new commers. People can learn something from here,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow i love this Articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

GREAT ARTICLE

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The world wide rise and use of crypto currency can be delayed by govts but cannot denied. Ultimately it will be the norm.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pleased to read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've got new informatiom thanks a Lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will always grow if there s a good foundation. Waa you're article was really good, thank you for the information, pleased to read alsooo. More articles and informations coming from youu.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think crypto currency is the way forward especially btc.but your article is good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not go to comment on things in which I do not feel like a fish in the water, so in my case I will let things go alone, since what arises will be the best for the benefit of all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome article. Informative indeed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this wonderful information!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this article, I have learned something from it and for this I would love to share it. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no problem with that as I am currently working on a new project so I will not be able by any means until the end of the month as I am currently working on a new contract which will not allow me until the end of the month

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello everyone! I didn't expect this to be seen by so many people and i'm glad you enjoyed it.

I'll be writing from time to time on different topics, depending on interest from the community. I believe in a strong community -differences and healthy discussions are natural and part of the process- so please feel free to give suggestions or criticisms, all questions/comments are welcome.

At the end of the day, we're all here to spread BCH and grow the larger crypto community. Try and onboard your friends and family by sending them some BCH!

Thank you kindly for all the nice comments... Cheers, Mono

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe we should take off Amuary just kidding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"And I think deep down both "sides" know that it won't be good. "

One of the problems is that there are powerful anti-BCH forces pushing the sides. They are happy we are fighting instead of cooperating and their dream is to create another fork. They will settle for dividing the community as much as possible and keep working to get the damaging fork later if they must. Of course, ABC is walking right into their plans by acting the way they do (even if ABC has good reasons for their approach).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bitcoin is growing faster now.it good to be back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before I don't care with #BCH until I see the Transaction fees. So from BCT & ETH. I am now in #BitcoinCash Community. And honestly I always bought BCH when I trade. Thank you for this good article ā¤ļø

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am actually a new user here as well as a new earner of bitcoin cash so I dont know really much about this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This article is really amazing. This is great. It has a informative and interesting leading discussions. I got a lot of information and the people you mentioned was very generous and I like the better future for bitcoin cash to be strong for the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am actually a newbie in this platform but Iā€™m grateful to have known this because it gives me opportunities to share my thoughts. I hope Iā€™m welcome here tho! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i dont know how to earn this site

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The BCH Community is where to be actually, considering the charge fees. It's a bit of an advantage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the head of BCH will destroy BCH future and planning to have another fork. Like divided the entire community and start putting political aspects.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Give me more tips to earn more..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bitcoin is now known world wide .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really hope BCH will be a great success and continue to strive <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me bitcoin cash is the best for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes stronger bitcoin cash for the future..šŸ‘šŸ‘šŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very Informative Article. I liked the way you desceibed and pointed out everything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love BCH growing., now im trying my best to stock more knowledge about crypto trading. šŸ˜Š Hopefully this will help to my future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bitcoin is famous worldwide

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I loved this article , I wanted to write about these drama's which is happening now every month, Which makes halt every innovation happening in the community and diverts every one attention to this power game. I think it's time to say enough is enough lets stop the drama and let community grow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

long very long where disagreements are noted, among the participants, that make all those possible clients think about the use of the bch, either for political or investment purposes and it is due to that and for demographic reasons the disagreements that are seen in the article, but ultimately that will be the solution.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting article, the good of bch is improving faster...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://read.cash/@CryptoSmart/approximately-4500-merchants-now-accepts-bch-in-world-e8858058

'For the people, by the people' in-lined with satoshi's vision...BCH as a peer to peer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mission is to voluntarize the world. I see cryptocurrency as a major vector for achieving this.

https://morelibertynow.com/a-voluntary-world-by-2064/

I have sacrificed, worked, become an expat and been arrested for that vision.

In pursuit of that mission and that vector, I am going to work on whatever coin most suits that vision.

Roger has said the same thing. He and I are mostly on the same page, ideology wise. I am a voluntaryist - agorist - market anarchist with some mutualist tendencies. Roger and I actually know each other going back a decade, tho we have never been very close. I respect the guy greatly.

I have been in this space since 2011. I ran an online agorist conference in 2012 IIRC where we had a talk on Bitcoin.

Dash was not serious about building. Like most people in crypto, they are actually scared to go out there and change the world, and that fear powered ultimately successful attempts to stop my work with Dash.

https://morelibertynow.com/what-happened-with-dash/

I am not a tribalist. I am here to build. This is why I founded the BCH Latam team and BCH Ignite workspace. This is why I am working hard to fund Bitcoin ABC, among other things.

Let's do this!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

šŸ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Crypto currency to the moon

$ 0.00
3 years ago