Sugba Tuwa Kilaw with KKD STK+BBQ

18 37
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Today's blog will be a review of our lunch date at KKD STK + BBQ, a review on the ambiance, the food, and its pricing. All over Cebu and perhaps in the country, there are different restaurants and eateries which offer Sugba, Tuwa, or Tinola in Tagalog and Kilaw or in short STK.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

KKD stands for Koko Dine STK + BBQ, I looked online for who Koko is but I couldn't seem to find a reference, perhaps it's the owner's child's name or something like that. Launched early in 2017, the restaurant had this niche of offering authentic Filipino cuisine and Cebuano delicacies! It is one of those restaurants that you want to dine in when in Cebu.

Ambiance

Because I have seen Instagram-worthy photos of the restaurant, I had to mark them and add them to my to-visit restaurant list. I was excited to go there myself and find if these reviews are indeed true.

James and I were on our motorcycle and although not sure of the exact location, we easily found it right after turning to the left from the Sto. Niño street. The KKD STK+BBQ sign from the outside of the building gave us an impression that we were in the right location.

Pulled over and parked in their motorcycle parking area which was just right on the left side of the door entrance. We came inside and were surprised at how high their ceiling is!

Upon entry, their staffs welcome us, it was just a quarter to twelve, there were a number of heads around. An aquarium can be spotted on our left while on the right are the meat, fishes and other uncooked good which are available on the menu.

The kitchen is visible from the front desk cashier, the tables and chairs are wooden, there are two stairs going to the second floor. I found their chandeliers really interesting as they are made of wooden pallets and other items which looked like recycled ones.

However, what really caught my attention was the hanging bicycle which was made into a wall decoration. The print says:

"Serving Good Food Here, Everyday, Everywhere."

We both went up to the second floor, this was actually air-conditioned but for some reason, going alfresco was more okay for us so we decided to stay there, grabbed a table and chair, and set up our tripod.

Before ordering anything, I went ahead and took some photos of the second-floor interiors. There's another bicycle on the second floor with a wooden display showing the letters EAT with some artificial plants.

The balcony faces the Malacañang of Cebu and a few of the Cebu sea, we spotted a couple of ships passing by and some local boats too. There's an SM MyBus stop as well right below so for sure those who are commuting will appreciate that.

Food and Pricing

Right next to us was a foreign couple, I don't know their nationality, I couldn't understand their language but they ordered the baked scallops and I know I should get that too.

Looking at the menu, I found their food very affordable! Here's a preview of the food we ordered and its respective pricing:

Garlic Butter Shrimp at Php 170.

Kinilaw na Isda at Php 150.

Baked Scallops at Php 130.

I like their plating, the viands were all inside a mini-"kaldero" or pots which make them even more Filipino-ish. The use of banana leaves as well was really cool!

I was amazed at their ceviche, the servings were enough for more than two persons, we had a good amount of baked scallops as well as the shrimps which I could not almost finish but not because it was not good but because of the huge amount serving.

They were all my good and I love all of them. But one thing that surprised me was their Choco Leche Flan. It was brown and dark but sweet at the same time plus it has mango slices on top and I love ripe mangoes so this was a hit!

Perhaps the only issue I had or we had rather was their garlic rice. It was salty and so much garlic in it, they should have named it extra garlic rice, kidding! So since we still have a lot of viands available, we ordered another set of rice, this time we had the regular ones.

The drinks were nothing special though. I love the citrus feel but it seemed too simple and basic. I am still okay with paying Php 50 per glass but I guess they should have lowered that price. Anyways, those were the only two things that I feel like they need improvements on.

Service

I personally had no problem with their service, the staffs were too many and some of them were just waiting for more customers to come for them to serve. As soon as we got in our seats, the menu was offered to us.

When we requested another set of rice, the staff went to our needs immediately.

Waiting time after ordering our preferred viands took only a short amount of time, in fact, we didn't really mind if that would take longer because we were not that hungry yet and we were both busy taking photos of the location, not to mention that this industrial type of vibe is very common nowadays in cafes and restaurants.

Again, I don't have anything to complain about in terms of their service.

Indeed, Cebu's food industry has been booming and it has opened its way to various other establishments, there are diverse restaurants with different themes and surely social media will be their best friends or their enemies. Most customers would talk about their experiences online and this takes a huge part of the future of the said restaurant.


xoxo,

momentswithmat

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

12
$ 5.27
$ 4.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Ah. Pagakakita plang nako sa title, I suspected this is yours. Hehe. Namiss na nako ang sutukil.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The restaurant really looks cool! The food is so mouth watering and very affordable. Hoping to visit Cebu soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakagutom pero infairness, hindi rin pala ako ang nahihilig dyan hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That place is sure good sis. I'm glad all in all, the resto/eatery seemed great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww 🤤all those foods you ordered are my fave mamshyy. Kusog kaajo mkabisaya feels

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I'm on my intermittent fasting why did I come across this blog huhu. I am feeling hungry and craving some seafood. Not to mention the beautiful ambiance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lamia sa scallops madam oy and barato ra ba 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nabalik diay mog Cebu Mamsh? I thought nibalik na mog Bohol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, yong my foodies grabidad lalo ung scallops mukhang sosyal din 🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gigutom ko ngtan aw sa mga pag kaon sis labi na sa shrimp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Friend you just made me crave for this hehe sana all naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag crave ko while seeing this 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makagutom sis heheh😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those food looks so good naman po. I really love Cebu as always. i have a friend from there and he always cooks for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang mura nga ng foods nila. Expected kasi na kapag maganda un resto eh pricey ang foods pero very affordable sya. Nagutom ako bigla0😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Food lover ka talaga ma'am kasi kahit saan-saan nalang pumupunta tas ang sarap pa.🤤 Ang sarap naman kumain diyan ma'am.

Yung mga foods talaga grabe. Yung scallops sobrang sarap niyan. Lagi kami kumakain ng mga roommates ko nung andyan pa ako sa Cebu maam. Sobrang sarap niyan.🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayayay! ka lami gegutom nuon ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daming nag close nung pandemic pero mas marami ang nag oopen na mga food businesses. Nagutom ako sa mga pix. Di pa kasi ako kumakain haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago