My Mother's Home-Made Peanut Butter

21 39
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Any peanut butter lover here?

My family is a peanut butter lover. We always crave it! We love putting it on bread but eating it alone is preferable too, like licking a spoonful. I guess we got it from our father who's a sweet tooth!

A few weeks ago, my brother bought a huge container of peanut butter and we liked it, of course, it didn't last for a week. It was all gone in just a few days. So we asked him again to buy two containers but then it ran out of stock and will be available only in the next weeks so we persuaded my mother to start making peanut butter again.

Back in the days, when I was still studying, my mother had been making peanut butter for business. She'd sell it to my father's colleagues in the DPWH office and at church and even distributed it to our neighbors. This helped her a lot with our needs. Eventually, she stopped making them because it's tedious and she is also getting older.

But then, she was encouraged by our persistence and eventually, made her way to buying ten kilos of peanuts, and ingredients for the mixture, and in just two days, we have our very own yummy homemade peanut butter!

Let me tell you the process because it is not just my mother who does the work, it now has become a family affair as we are involved in making them.

First, the peanuts will be roasted. It was my younger brother who did the roasting on the first try but then my mother took over and said it is better for her to do it so that it is well cooked, it turned out that my brother was in a hurry to get the task done so she was not satisfied with the results, she had to redo it.

Roasting them was very tiring, the peanuts have to be stirred not to burn those which are at the bottom. Roasting ten kilos of peanuts is not a joke, mind you but my mother happily do it. She said this activity reminded her of our late grandfather who was always assisting her before back in the day. Today, we try our best to be of help.

Since she roasts them in batches, my brothers and I had to get those that had been roasted, with gloves to protect our hands, we use a rolling pin to easily get the skin off.

We have to sift it too and use a traditional winnowing basket to take the chaffs out. This is fun to do especially if we do it together. It doesn't take long to separate the chaffs but we have to make sure that there is no more skin in the peanuts.

After all the peanuts are cleaned and well winnowed, my mother will then be sending this to the grinding machine together with her secret ingredients, I won't disclose that here.

Then from there, the creamy peanut butter is sent back to the house for canning. I love putting the peanut butter into the containers myself, our customers can rest assured that everything is clean! We use a tin container for the mixture to ensure that we can see if there is any dirt or other things in the mixture.

My mother is so passionate about her peanut butter. The formula was given to her by her niece so she treasures it the most.

Our peanut butter gets sold out every time we make a batch. It would only take a day or two and everything is gone! Our ten kilos will make around 22-23 large bottles. Around two or three bottles are already reserved for our family too which means, we are eating the profit!

Nonetheless, making peanut butter is a good business because the profit is good too! I have tasted a lot of peanut butter before and even now but I am proud to say that my mother's homemade peanut butter is definitely worth the price!

For now, we only make batches if we have extra time, my mother is also busy with a lot of things. So far, based on the past few weeks, we make once a week and all the time, our stocks are always sold out. Praise God!

I look forward to making the packaging even presentable and even making a logo for it. I suggested that we sell it in smaller containers and make it pleasing by adding stickers above the cap.

But that will be for the future. For now, we are already satisfied with how this business is going.

Thanks for reading! If you love peanut butter! Like this article and comment below on what's your favorite brand!

Here's my previous articles too:

xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

15
$ 2.37
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Mamsh mabalik gani mo Cebu dalai ko ug 2 ka order hehehe...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was in Davao before, I also used to make peanut butter sandwich. Nakaka miss lang kasi ako yung nakakaubos ng marami palagi hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love peanut butter too! Such a nice family bonding, sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti pa po si mommy marunong gumawa huhu. It looks so delicious po, sarap ipalaman sa tinapay tapos sasabayan ng mainit na kape sa umaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bet ko peanut butter sa pandesal ate tapos with hot coffee. Kaso like other product, nagmahal na din po yan dito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap nto.. Kaso mahal na ganyan now no?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madamssss palibre ng isaaaaa 🤤🤤 haha pero diko kahang papakin yaan lalo matamis kasi huehue. Si Mama din nagawa ng ganito. Pero oang sarili laang kaya maunti lang ginagawa. Masarap din lalo with love, yuehhhhh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful family bonding. I love peanut butter too. Please make them available at the market so I can taste your mom's peanut butter. I'm curious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can smell the sweet aroma of your peanut butter. I love peanut butter but yours is truely different because your mother made it with her love, hardwork along with other family members which makes it more special.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matrabaho talaga yang pggawa ng peanut butter at nakakangalay magroast ng peanut, danas ko yan kasi lola ko eh gumagawa din nyan dati. Bigla ko tuloy namiss ang lola ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing naman ma'am jean. Gusto ko din talaga yung peanut butter ma'am jean. Sarap po sa bread. Bumibili kami ng peanut butter ma'am jean. Favorite ko kasi pati partner ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehhe apir sis! fave din namin to eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yohoo. I would definitely love a try si, someday. Basta made with love gyud, lamian gyud.

Nag try mig himo ug peanut butter sis but palpak. Permuro blender and food precessor ang gamit but nang init nalang, bati gihapon ang texture. Then naka decide akong bana nga ipa galing. Wala pod sya kabalo nga sagolan pa diay ug uban nga ingredients

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahhahaa yeah isagol..mas maau ipagaling kay barato ra..anyway, plan namo palitan si mama ug galingan lage para diretso na dire sa balay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh my, your mother would love that sis! I hope maabot na imong plan pohon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow that's many! I love and miss those homemades already. It's just that it takes so much effort of making. Perhaps, next time, I really have to make time. hihihi! Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

making. Perhaps, next ti

yeah,.. it requires energy and time...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung tita ko rin magaling din sa ganito. Naalala ko dati, enjoy na enjoy kaming mag pipinsan simutin yung nasa maliit na planggana. Hehe. Kakamiss. And buti namention mo to, me naalala ako about peanut butter. Maishare ko nga bukas. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

n yung nasa maliit na planggana. Hehe. Kakamiss. And buti namention mo to, me naalala ako about peanut butter. M

hahaha ano kaya yang naalala mo sis hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natakam ako bigla ate. Huhu nakakagutom, masarap yan sa tinapay tapos mainit na kape. Aguy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes masarap yan kahit nga wlang tinapay hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago