First Inoculation

46 45
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

"Be vaccinated, not just for yourself but for the people around you."

This line resonated in my ears for a few seconds. My best friend told me, she works at the local health unit as a medical front liner in our town and she was surprised when she learned that I am not yet vaccinated. She then told me the reasons and I told her my alibis too.


Project Balik Buhay "NO-SHOW"

On July 22, 2021, I was scheduled for my first shot of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine. I am thankful for my employer because even if I am on extended maternity leave, I was still included in the list of employees to be vaccinated under the Project Balik Buhay from the government. My schedule was at 8 AM that day inside the SM Seaside in Cebu City. 

It was a good time because I was in Cebu during that week, we were on a vacation and we had to go to the city for our swab test. I agreed with my HR department that I will show up on that day however, a day before the scheduled vaccination, I got my swab results and it showed positive. I had to go through home quarantine and there were so many things in my mind like not being able to go home to Bohol and more. It was stressful as well as it was a little uncomfortable for my in-laws as most of them were required to also be in isolation. 

I made a blog about it here: My COVID-19 Stranded Story

After the event, I decided not to think about the vaccination first because according to some of my relatives, if one has been tested positive, he or she should wait for 90 days before getting vaccinated.

However, this week, as I researched, this is only applicable to those who were treated for COVID-19 with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma. But in my case, I didn't receive such and so I can go ahead and get vaccinated. That encouraged me and I was already asking my friend about the next schedule available for the vaccination.

Thursday, September 2, 2021, The Negative Thoughts

"It's a first-come, first-serve basis.", my friend told me. I chatted with her that my husband and I will come to the local health center. My best friend told me to be early so she can help me. They got a few brands available but they are all limited. Some of which she mentioned were Pfizer, Moderna, and Sputnik.

By seven as the family was having breakfast, I told my parents about our plan but also mentioned to them that I felt like I am not in good condition so I guess we will just skip this time.

The truth was that I was having second thoughts again. I have read several stories on social media about those who had been vaccinated but ended up dying. I look at my son and I couldn't help but be worried, what if this vaccine would kill me? What if something happens? All these negative things plus my mother in law called my husband a day before telling him not to get vaccinated because they had heard stories from their neighbors about those who became sick after the vaccination.

Antibodies to Babies

By nine in the morning, I checked a breastfeeding support group that I had joined when I was still pregnant and then I checked if these mommies had been vaccinated and if there's anyone who went through bad side effects.

Scrolling through different updates from mommies all over the Philippines and in some other countries, they had testified that nothing bad happened to them. There were even shreds of evidence that showed how the baby can get the antibodies from their mom who's fully vaccinated.

While the previous variant of COVID-19 had somehow less effect on children and babies, the new ones aren't. There are now several children who got infected and some even were not able to survive. So, it is important that even if our babies are not vaccinated, they can get the antibodies from the mother.

This truth made me make up my mind and so we found ourselves on our way to the RHU center.

No Social Distancing?

There were too many people, everyone was wearing their masks, some had face shields on but there was an improper observation of social distancing!

I got discouraged, I know the supplies were limited so I thought, well, better luck next time. But I found my best friend who was surprised why I was late! We chatted a bit, Matti was with us (in the car) because no one can take care of him at that time, she told me she will just process our papers and will call me later. 

Pfizer - First Dose

After lunch, the best friend called and told me she scheduled us for 12:30 PM, both James and I. So we went straight to the center, there were fewer people around which was good but since we have Matti with us, the workers told us to stay inside one of the rooms at the center to avoid the crowd. 

We filled up the paper, run through the questions, and got our temperatures and blood pressures then James went inside first. After a short while, I was called to get inside too while Matti was handed to James.

I got shy about taking a photo or video of myself during the shot. I headed straight to the canteen area where Matti and James were waiting. We had to rest for 30 minutes first before heading home.

After getting our blood pressure again, and the results were normal, we were advised that we can go home already, avoid any alcoholic drinks of course until the next dose.

Our second shot will happen three weeks from that day, September 23, 2021.

Side Effects

So far, I felt sleepy, my arm is a little in pain like I was punched on that side also, I am always hungry.

I guess it varies per person because James was feeling unwell but was manageable, he just decided to take a leave for two days so he can rest.

We are now on our second day after the vaccination and I am hoping that we won't get any bad side effects.

That's it guys, thanks for reading!


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

14
$ 8.00
$ 7.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats on getting vaccinated! Are you a member of breastfeeding pinays? I get my breastfeeding related news and info there most of the time hehe. Super amazing Yung studies about antibodies from the vaccine na naipapasa through breast milk. All the more that bf moms should get jabbed diba

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes i am and also dr. marini's milk making mommies ..that's where I got the information too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow congratulations ma'am, at vaccinated na po kayo, at thank you for sharing your experience here, it can really help to other people who not totally yet understand what is vaccine for, Marami na din kasing MGA wrong reasons and wrong expectations Ang MGA lumabas ea social media, I hope in our simple way maparating SA Ina Ang Tama

$ 0.01
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

totoo..ung iba kasi based lang sa mga naririnig.. i admit natakot din ako pero ayun tinapangan ko nalng..ok namn ako now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh diba hehehe, ako maam fully vaccinated na ako but nag positive parin this moment but wala akong nararamdaman na kahit anu

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

I already decided to have the vaccine long ago but there's still no available vaccine on our municipality and I'm not part of the A something priority. Lol

But anyways, it's okay. Beside, I just stay at home most of the time. Can still wait for the abailability of the vaccine.

I hope that you won't feel any more side effects. Glad that you finally get vaccinated. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ohh.... i see..which category do you fall ba sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah ewan? Pwede nako sa kadulu duluhan haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhehehe ako kasi nilagay nila sa A5.di ko rin alam bakit..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha. tagal ng vaccine dito samin ih, kakaonti ang supply. or dikaya palaksan sila sa barangay or munisipyo. hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako for second dose na in 4 days. Haha. Sinovac nga lang. Same kayo ng kapatid ko ganyan brand din sa kanya. 😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

malapit na pala sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes hehe, magba-bike na naman ako papunta dun s vaccination area.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ingat ka ..tsaka remind ko ung helmet baka di mo na naman madala ung helmet mo.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy oo haha. Never again tsaka dapat kumpleto tulog. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The new variant also encouraged me to have my shot, because I have two kids with me. I am now done with my first dose and the second one will be next week. Fortunately the vaccination area I went to were very organized and health protocols were observed. I am really surprised I finished it in less than an hour. Have a great day sis! I enjoyed reading your article😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you dear! that's great! i really wondered why it was not that way in our rhu...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti kapa sis vaccinated na. Ewan ko ba dito sa probinsya meron parin takot magpavaccine kasi naman marami talagang na tegi after.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun na nga din concerned ko sis although ako ung nag encourage sa parents ko na magpavax talaga..pero nung time na ako na magpavax, parang natakot ako.hehe pero na overcome ko na sya..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigoo.. Ang dami nang nagpapabakuna, pero ako, wala parin sa isip ko..Hehe.. Di parin talaga ako sigurado sa mga bakuna na yan eh. Siguro, maghihintay nalang ako sa mandatory vaccination.Hehe Di naman ako masyadong pagala-gala eh..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ayos lang yan sis.. di naman mandatory sa ngayun.. ingat ka lang palagi!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis.. Ingat-ingat lang talaga tayo.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, bat ang dami ng nagpapa vaccine dito aguy. Ako nalang amg hindj ayaw ko pa rin talaga re. Di naman ako nalabas ng bahay ay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hheehe pavax ka na madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Breastfeed pa din ba si matti mii? Qtqt bb 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes sis..hehe bf pa din...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapila na jud ko gipangutana sa sister sa akong partner kung dili ba ko magpavaccine. Kapila na pud ko sige'g balibad.hihi.. Mahadlok man ko sis uy. Basin unya ug dili makaya sa akong lawas. Magguol ko maghunahuna sa akong bata.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

mao jd na akong nahunahuna sad momsh...mao pod na akong gikagul an para sa 2nd dose.pero ako nalng gisalig sa Ginoo.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ampo na lang sis nga walay kakulian sa lawas. Siguro puhon na ko magpabakuna kung mandatory na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad na minimal lang yung side effects sa inyu. Ako di parin nakakapag pa vaccine eh. Tinatamd ako pumila at natatakot din ako hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

heheh ok lang yan..normal naman ata matakot.. pag indi ka na takot..go go go na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pfizer wow! Someone I know had a really bad trangkaso but he recovered after two days. Iba iba talaga reaction ng katawan natin sa vaccine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aga reaction ng katawan natin sa vaccine.

ganun ba sis? indi naman ako tinarangkaso..iba iba talaga...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, iba iba response.. Sa akin Janssens ,di din masyadon ako naaapektuhan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy maganda un one shot lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good that you had yours already. Be safe :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks sis..yes i am glad tapos na...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered what my dad told who had received Jansen vaccine, there was a mother who newly gave birth na nkapila pra daw magpavaccine, nabigyan nman daw. Now, pregnant and breastfeeding moms can get it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

embered what my dad told who had received Jansen vaccine, there was a mother who newly gave birth na nkapila pra daw magpavaccine, nabigyan nman daw. Now, pregnant and breastfeeding moms can get it.

yes.. i am glad it is available na for breastfeeding moms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats po for being vaccinated.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you po for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala pa jud mi nagpa vaxx. observe pa mi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh pero naa ra na dha available permi?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo naa ra.

$ 0.00
2 years ago