My COVID-19 Stranded Story

16 40
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Diary, Covid19

A few weeks ago, I had shared how traveling to Cebu from Bohol was made possible during this pandemic. My husband and I processed our papers, got the requirements, and was able to travel to Cebu last July 14, 2021, together with our baby. It was supposedly one week worth of family visit only but all the plans were changed when I received the swab test result from Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center. The result arrived two days after the test was done and I was tested POSITIVE!

What happened?

As I read the results, again and again, I kept on blinking my eyes, I might have just misread it, surely it should be a negative since my husband had a negative result. I can't believe it, it's really positive. So, as I realize that it is indeed a positive result, that I have been infected by the virus, time ran slow and I began to recall what had happened from the day that we traveled to Cebu until the day of the swab test.

Rapid Test

It was July 13 when we undergo the Rapid Antigen test here in our rural health unit. The result showed negative which made our travel possible, without that, we won't be able to go out of Bohol and if we tested positive, then all our households will be placed under quarantine.

Trip to Cebu

July 14, we headed to Loon, a three-hour trip from our town. This was where we will take a shipping barge to Argao, Cebu. The trip was only for two hours and we were blessed to be able to take the ship because of the two vehicles which were unable to settle down their payments in time. If the vehicle fees were taken care of by those men, we won't be able to go with them on that day, instead, we will have to wait for another day. But we made it!

In the barge, I never recall getting close to anyone but James alone. Even when buying the tickets, it was James who processed everything while Matti and I were just waiting inside the car. We brought our private vehicle and that means I never had any contact with anyone until we reached Oslob.

From Argao, we traveled two hours to Oslob. No stopover, I didn't get out of the car, not even once.

Oslob Vacation

Our main reason for going to Oslob was to visit the family and since it is also the birthday of Matti's first cousin, Zia, we made sure to include her birthday in our vacation plans.

Matti's grandparents and relatives miss him already. Our last trip to Oslob was when Matti was still two months old, so ten months later, we finally got a chance to be here again.

We went to the public market and mall in Oslob but I was wearing my mask and face shield. I have been cautious.

Culprit

I can only point out that the person who had infected me with the virus is someone from the household. I realized that one of the cousins had a runny nose and I noticed her being unwell on July 16, on that same day, we were out taking photographs of Zia for her birthday.

On the 17th, we were busy preparing for the party. I helped with inflating the balloons. I was even seated next to that cousin who had a runny nose the other day, she was looking better that day, I didn't mind sitting next to her in fact. And I had been taking vitamins too.

On the 18th, I woke up feeling fine but by the afternoon, I started to have a headache and runny nose. So, I didn't attend the birthday party. I just stayed in the room then there was a blackout so I decided to stay inside our car while Matti was sleeping so he won't be disturbed by all the noise around the house.

Swab Test Day

On the 19th was our swab test schedule in Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center, this was a free test and I had arranged the schedule while we were still in Bohol. It was already set so even if I was not feeling 100% okay, we still headed to Cebu City.

I had a headache and my runny nose was there but it was not bad, I feel like that was a normal runny nose which I always get during these months, June to August.

Our schedule was at two in the afternoon, it was very hot in Cebu City, I was surprised that there were several people out, and there was traffic too! So, it was like no pandemic was happening at all in the city!

Delayed Swab Results

My husband and I had to stay for a night in Cebu City. Recalling our stay, we never had any close contact with someone. My husband received his results a day after. While I was still waiting for mine. Since it was already almost two days since the swab test, I called their laboratory.

According to the staff, my result was still under verification and they will send it within that day. We can't wait for that any longer so we just headed back to Oslob.

It was in Oslob when I received the results. I felt bad receiving the results, I then thought what will happen now? Will I be transferred to a quarantine facility? Will my in-laws be quarantined as well?

RHU Contact Tracing

It was on the next day, the 22nd when I received a personal message from an elementary classmate. He works with the DILG and he said that he is also part of the contact tracers. He asked many questions, even verified the symptoms, when it started and where was I at that moment.

Thankfully, I was in Oslob during this time. This means, my family in Bohol is safe. They won't be quarantined as I was already in Cebu two days before the onset of the symptom.

He then suggested that I get to a quarantine facility. I told him that I can just stay at home, my in-laws had moved to the other house within the compound so that we can just stay in the house while being isolated. He agreed as long as we are on a different roof.

Guindulman to Oslob Case Transfer

Four days after, he contacted me again and told me that they have to transfer my case to Oslob because that's my current location. The case was assigned to Guindulman because that was what I placed in my application.

So that same day, three contact tracers from Oslob RHU went to the house, interviewed my in-laws while I was in our room. They allowed us to stay in the house and do home quarantine until the 30th since it's just a 14-day period.

A form was also provided and we were advised to take note of our body temperature in the morning and the afternoon.

Delayed Vaccination

I was supposed to get vaccinated on the 22nd with the Project Balik Buhay but this of was not realized. PBB had messaged me that I have to contact my HR for I was tagged as a no-show during my scheduled date and time. I felt bad about it because I definitely want to get vaccinated, it was also one of our reasons for coming to Cebu City.

As for my husband, he as well didn't get to be vaccinated as when he tried to go walk in at Ayala Center, he was informed that there was no first dosage available on that day.

Graduation Day

After almost two weeks of isolation, we were able to finally go out of the house. I don't have any colds at that time as well and I was feeling really well. Thankfully, my symptoms are just mild and I didn't have those very serious problems like shortness of breath and the rest.

I am thankful to my in-laws for being so understanding, my sister-in-law's sari sari store was even closed because of me. My husband also had been my shoulders as I admit, I cried during the first two days of realizing that I have COVID.

I was scared that Matti will be infected, I was scared as well for myself, what if I might have serious health problems during the isolation and then I was disappointed with myself for what had happened.

Saliva Test Results

After getting COVID-19, I praise God that during our RT-PCR test last August 4, my results showed negative. This time, we went to RedCross for the Saliva collection.

Since my husband and I got negative results, we decided to travel back to Bohol the next day because the Bohol Province had declared closing their inbound borders from August 6 to 20, 2021 due to the Delta Variant.

That's my COVID-19 story, it was more of a mental challenge, my symptoms were mild and with vitamins and proper rest, the colds went away just a few days after.

I thank my in-laws for understanding me and supporting us. More importantly, I praise God for His protection, provision, peace, and hope during the entire quarantine period. To God alone be the glory!


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

13
$ 9.14
$ 8.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 11
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Diary, Covid19

Comments

Ay wow. Thank God, negative ka na, sis. Nakakapraning talaga yan lalo may baby ka pang kasama. God is good all the time!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uu sis..nakakapraning... buti nalng at wala ako masyadong symptoms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ao takot pa talaga akong mglalabas labas :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis.. mahirap na maexpose

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankfully your little one was well during those time.. I can't imagine the worry and anxiety you're in while being isolated..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaa. I could imagine the worry and fear nga imung nabati ato nga mga panahona dai ba. I am glad you're okay now. Ingat permi dai. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my gulay! nag problema kog apil nimo while nagbasa sis. Mental challenge talaga kc ung isip nag contact tracing na rin plus the anxiety pa. I hope all is well in your return to Bohol. Thank God for His healing mercies and God bless sa tanan. Amping!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe hirap jan sa pinas 😭 dto sa HK normal kahat. Maninibago tlga ako pag uei ko. Btw, cute ni baby 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaaktakot naman talaga yang kubidubidapdap nayan atee. Buti nlang po okay na kayo. Be safe po kayo palagi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank goodness kay ok na ka sis. Okay sad imo family, especially si Matti. Be safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww Thank God Mommy Jean!!!! I feel tortured just reading it and how much more on your part. Big hug and glad you're good now! You and your family keep safe mommy. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe. Mental and emotional torture talaga yn eh. Good thing malakas ang immunity mo kaya gunaling ka agad. Praise God! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It truly is a mental challenge. Good thing nobody else got infected especially the elders. Did your cousin got tested?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Covid really affect a lot of trip. I plan to go on holiday with my family but it came into our country. Since then we have been postponing till now we haven't been able to travel due to government restrictions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so happy that you've surpass the struggle while facing the fear of COVID. Its really difficult if you became positive since there's a worry and overthinking if the family got exposed too but hopefully you've recovered.🥰❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakaloka pag malaman na nagpositive taz may baby ka pa.. Daming test noh, d bale atlis negative na..

$ 0.00
2 years ago