Coron's Siete Pecados Marine Park

28 55
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Sunset at Mt. Tapyas, Coron, Palawan

On our first day in Coron, we witnessed its beauty from Mt. Tapyas, climbed a lot of steps, and tire our legs. Our plan of going to another tourist spot didn't push through so we called it a day after having dinner at a restaurant that has a rooftop view of Coron but it was already dark so there's not much of a view.

Day 2: Island Hopping

Now let's move on to our second day and this is one of which excites us the most, we went on island hopping! I realized that I didn't have many photos of our island hopping experience so I instead grabbed some scenes from our videos.

There are hundreds of tour agencies in Coron and flyers of these agencies are available at the airport. I love to plan and make sure that have already set up our itinerary but for this trip, I didn't pay any agencies in advance because I have read somewhere on the internet that it is advisable to just contact an agency upon arrival.

But we ended up getting an agency recommended by our guesthouse's caretaker, Ate Raquel. She mentioned that some agencies do not pick up guests and so she handed us a flyer and ended up paying for that specific agency instead, I already forgot its company name but I opted for the Ultimate Island hopping package which was good for Php 1600, this includes lunch and free pick up and drop off of a private van.

Our scheduled pick-up time was at eight in the morning, we got ready and all but the van was late. We already have a bad first impression of the agency but the contact person messaged me and apologized for the delay as the driver was still picking up some guests and we will be the last stop. The driver, unfortunately, was still waiting for those guests and so it caused the delay.

Can you spot Mt. Tapyas?
zooming in because that's where we were yesterday!

Finally, the van arrived and we were dropped at the Lualhati Park's bayside area. This is where the tour boats are docked. Actually, there are hundreds of tour boats in this area and most of them had already departed.

Again, we have to wait for the instructions on which boat to hop in. Each boat has a capacity of around 18 guests excluding the captain and the tour guides.

I feel so dark! That's me writing our names.

The tour guide arrived, gave us this passenger's manifest so we can fill it up with our names, it is needed for the boat to be allowed to go by the coastguard. Then we hopped on one of the boats, ready to go, we were given life jackets, that's a requirement although we usually take them off when swimming because we don't want to just float. It's quite hard to swim with a life jacket on, unless if you don't know how to swim.

Passengers were already bored of waiting. Are my brother and sister staring at the foreigner?

All aboard! Finally! I guess it was almost ten when the captain said it's time for departure! The tourists applied their sunscreen, prepared their action cameras, and faced the window or the side of the boat where the waters are visible, why do we always do that anyway? But yes, we all faced the ocean and make sure our hair won't be destroyed by the wind!

Our first destination is Siete Pecados Marine Park!

Siete Pecados Marine Park

According to our tourist guide, this area is best known as the perfect diving spot and snorkeling area for beginners. It offers shallow coral reefs with thousands of colorful fishes, they hid on the rocks, swim with the tourists, and even attempt to bite us!

There are rock islands too and when we arrived there, a lot of boats were on their way out.

I guess there's a positive side of us being late in departing as most of the tourists who came in first are now off to the next destination and we can enjoy the place to ourselves!

One by one, our boatmates went down using the wooden stairs and started snorkeling! The boat provides masks and goggles too, included in the package!

This is a protected area, fishing is not allowed and of course, since this is shallow, diving is not allowed too!

Oops, I said that too soon, my husband just showed his diving skills and as you can see, he almost hit the corals! Don't worry, we asked for the tour guide's permission and she allowed him to do so but with a reminder to never hit the corals.

Stepping on the coral reef is definitely a no-no! It will damage the corals but also, it might hurt the person too. Most of us were not even wearing those diving shoes. Most of the tourists were wearing their life jackets and that's cool so to always be floating while snorkeling but we wanted to have a closer look at the corals and the fishes so my husband didn't wear one. I asked him to take videos of what is underneath.

Here goes some of the underwater views:

I can't distinguish fish names so don't ask me that one.
Definitely a fave angle, the blue waters were seen and there's a plate-like coral on top of this rock.
Can you spot the clams?

I guess we were out there in the waters for 15 or 30 minutes? I am not sure but it was enough to make some videos and photos and be mesmerized by the beauty of what's under our feet.

In Coron, we have gone to different shipwrecks and diving sites, if we had enough budget, diving is the best activity to do here because there are more corals to explore. I remember our first diving experience, I was amazed to see so much life underwater that I don't want the session to end! That was a time when the waters above were rough, how much more if we went on a fine clear day?

Anyway, we hopped back on the boat and were ready for the next stop. I'll share that with you tomorrow!


Check out other related travel topics:


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

10
$ 4.65
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know swimming sis and we don't have beaches here in my area. But I is my dream if I got the chance I would love to sit near a sea and write my name in sand.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oh that's sweet.. i love writing in the sand too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakaganda lalo na yung sa underwater.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee I wish I am not afraid to swim or snorkel 🤧 so I could get to see the clams too and the corals just as you do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why are you afraid sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the virtual tour! It has been years since that last time I snorkel, and seeing your photos underwater made me want to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para syang abroad, sis Jean!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never have experienced diving sis,. ,maybe it was because of my fear of the sea. I'm afraid that the waves would take me to the depths

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol talaga nakakagala. Ako kahit nung wala pang pandemya, huhu di ako ganun nakakagala. Hays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag na ok na ang lahat try nyu po.. masarap po gumala.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow just wow!!! sana all nakakagala😭 saya sana magtravel kaso ayaw makipagcooperate ng pera saakin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mga hodl lang tau sis..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di ko pa masyado kabisado yan😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait---ang pogi yata nung isa hahahahaag. Sanaol nakakapamasyal. Nakakainggit😭 djk. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sinadya ko talaga ilagay yang pic nya sis.hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

agaw atensiyon😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap na talaga mamasyal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madammssss, mas napansin ko ung pogi na porenjer. Nag iisa lang ba sya? Beke nemen. Bwahahahaha.

Pero ang saya jan, inggit me. Buti pa kau nakaka pamasyal huehue. Me when kaya 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i na porenjer. Nag iisa lang ba sya? Beke nemen. Bwahahahaha.

Pero ang saya jan, inggit me. Buti pa kau nakaka pama

matagal tagal na din eto madam.. sa next na post ilagay ko ulit picture ni sir porenjer ahahah abang ka!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda para ka lng tlgang namamasayal sa ilalaim mg dagat, galing ng coral formations. .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes so pretty dun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing!!! Thank you for taking me there through your photos! Palawan is one of the places on our list. Hopefully, we'll get to check it off someday. Those underwater photos make me want to experience snorkeling too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

, we'll get to check it off somed

yes go for it sis.. if you are into diving, go to coron but if you like the chill one na pabeach beach, I'd suggest el nido... mas mahal din sa coron and I enjoyed el nido than coron but still, it depends sa inyu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis, El Nido daw sabi ni hubby hehe. Fingers crossed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayeeh..excited for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow what a great experience after all the stress at least you still got to your destination at times things didn't go the way we plan and thank God for journey mercy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago