Suggested Reading 9

14 538
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

In this series, I assume the role of a reader instead of a writer, discussing articles by other writers... things I recommend.

Let's begin with the question of which operative system to use, Windows or Linux. In the past, I used Linux. Various circumstances make me use Windows right now, but I consider Linux to be better, if you know what you do. I know, however, that it is not easy if you don't know how to handle it; changing from Windows to Linux might seem too difficult for the average user - so it's easier to keep Windows. In an ongoing series, relatively new member @valo tries to introduce us to Linux. Four parts have been published so far:

The Linux operating system, part 1

The Linux operating system - terminal, command line, shell

The Linux operating system - structure, graphics and distributions

The Linux operating system, native installations, virtual machines, live systems

@Geri recently published SMR: The future of hard disk technology.

@Pantera writes about Metaverse and Facebook, or perhaps one should say why we need a Metaverse without Facebook, in A Trustless and Decentralized Metaverse is the Main Objective. This is an important discussion, and I fully agree with @Pantera here.

Defi Winter?! When Stablecoins Become CBDCs writes @xuanling11. This is not a “deep” article, it states something that for many is obvious, but it deserves to be stated. For me, I have never really had any interest in so-called stablecoins. Perhaps they have their uses, but they are not real cryptocurrencies for me.

A title that caught my attention: "noise.cash is scamming people". I am not active at noise.cash so far; it might change eventually, but until now I have never found the time for it. I have read about it though, and I have seen many enthusiastic posts about it, and it seemed unbelievable that it would be a scam. How can one scam people by paying them?

Well, by reading this article by @JustMyRambles01, I found that the author saw it similarly, and actually refuted what the title says. This post definitely ought to be read by newbies and people who for some reason feel disappointed with noise.cash.

Another read-worthy article by the same author, @JustMyRambles01, is 05/11/21 - Working from home! And Upcycling!. This is someone who obviously appreciates the advantages of working from home, even if few of them are mentioned. I have previously written about this (see Covid-19 and a lagging step of the Digital Revolution); in many cases “going to a job” is a waste of as well money and time as environmental qualities.

The other point of @JustMyRambles01's article is “Upcycling”, which has obvious merits. We live in an era of waste; people waste everything. Upcycling is a small step in the opposite direction.

Next, we have Lessons from collapse of civilizations by @aniruddhasen, in which the author discusses different causes for collapse of civilisations. In the end he speculates whether the present “world civilisation” has any chance to survive, and he ends:

“But we have the ability to learn from our past and mend our ways. Collapse of the world civilization is not inevitable if we are ready to change ourselves. But as it is said human nature never changes, only the ways and means change with time.“

In my opinion, the world civilisation is already breaking down, and it is too late to stop that process. The question is what new will grow from the ashes and how long time it will it take. It is quite possible that we, living in the breakdown, will hardly even notice it, since historical processes follow another time scale than human lives (unless there is some cataclysmic event involved). It is necessary to step out from the limited perspective of a human lifetime to really discern patterns and processes of history and future.

A little science by @NakamotoBch: The Kuiper Belt A Vast Frontier.

In Do you want it now or later?, @Oikawa asks if delayed gratification is not better than the instant gratification with which people nowadays are so spoiled.

@Debesh recently published Less is Always Better Than More. It sounds counter-intuitive, but the is right. This is about a step by step approach instead of a single time overfeeding of the mind with tips and advices. I have previously expressed similar ideas in The Power Of Graduality.

This leads us to the next article, A HowTo Related to Wealth by @ezrider. The author gives a good explanation of how to change one's habits in order to build wealth. I absolutely agree, building wealth is not about getting a high income, it is about how one thinks of and handles money.

Talking About Hypocrisy by @dark_spirit666... I don't really know what to say about this article, but somehow I like it; the author certainly has a point or two.

An old article by the same author is Interesting Book That Review the History of God. An interesting topic.

@Gemstone writes about the nutritional value of pumpkins, in Autumn Pumpkin Rhapsody - Unrecognized Superfood.

How Much Is A Fan Worth? and The Best Movie Never Made by @Film.io outlines a new approach for the movie industry. It is about movie crowdfunding.

At the first sight, Horror Movies by @ArteFM doesn't look to be different from numerous other articles. But read on, there is a twist in the end making up for the reading.

@Sinless writes about NTFs in Would you like to open an art gallery? Cyber Brings Digital Art to Life!

@Greatwolfman writes about Banshees in Celtic Mythlogical Creatures - Abhartach, the Banshee.

Some history in Fawzia Fuad, Egyptian Princess Queen of Iran by @ceky321. I happened to be in Egypt when Princess Fawzia died in 2013; there was almost no attention given to the event. (I mentioned princess Fawzia in an article here a long time ago: Ottoman Egypt, Muhammad Ali & his Dynasty.)

More history in If the Texas Alamo was Defended Today by @AceyDeucey.

@cmoneyspinner teaches us about ta blue mushroom, E. hochstetteri, in Did You Know There is Such a Thing as a BLUE MUSHROOM?.

Scariest forest on the earth, Hoia Baciu, tells us about a strange forest in Transylvania. The author is @Amax33.

@ahmadmanga writes about learning Japanese from Anime and Manga. I have heard about quite a number of people who have done that, so I think it is possible. Read more in [eBook Highlights] Fluent Japanese from Anime and Manga.

Finally some fiction:

True or Faux is a story published as a series by @Ozzyy. So far 26 chapters have been published. It is long, but well worth reading. The introduction to the series says:

One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.“

The first episode is True or Faux. The rest you'll find in @Ozzyy's profile.

Read the whole series, ”Suggested Reading” and my series “Retrospection”.

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Colours VI: Green in Focus – Religion, Life, Death, Sex, Witchcraft...

Reversing Cardiovascular Disease - It Can Be Done!

Laws & Principles of Absurdity & Perversity

Suggested Reading 8

Iodine, Molybdenum, Zinc, Copper, & Manganese


26
$ 24.01
$ 23.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ozzyy
$ 0.05 from @Amax33
+ 13
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

Hello good morning sir. This is olawale4967, I noticed my account was spammed sir so I have to start from the scratch sir. please be aware sir. It's my new account I used to send this message sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, it is noted. I just subscribed to your new account.

I saw that your comments were classed as spam and wondered a little about that. It seems to be a little too easy to become considered a spammer here. Don't misunderstand, I hate spam when it is spam, but you are not the first example of a victim to exaggeratedly hard judgements in that respect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for your support

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, my friend,

I was absent here at read.cash for over a week. So the number of notifications stressed me out a bit. I read the titles of more than two hundred articles until I found the selection that you present to us.

I noticed that we followed some excellent columnists, and also I met others through your review. Very interesting indeed.

Thanks for your suggestions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I noticed that you were absent; I'm glad it was not permanent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, my, thank you so much for mentioning me and linking to my posts! I appreciate that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for mentioning my post, I'm still not good enough with Japanese but the book I posted my notes for definitely helped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a good chance most people who use Windows have not tried Linux because if they do, I am confident they will never use Windows again.

Additionally, I am totally in agreement with Pantera, since if Facebook succeeds in building its own metaverse alone, the end result will be selling the information of its users.

Nice 👍overview I think some of us really needed this since we are not always online to read the newest and informative article published on this platform.

Big ups

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi sir, thank you for liking my writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention! I had no idea you were following my series, but I think, if I'm remembering correctly, one of the writers here actually mentioned you're one of the most consistent readers, even though you hardly comment.

Thanks again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens that I comment, but only if I have something meaningful to say.

As a matter of fact,at first I did not follow your series, not until I found an episode, I think it was no. 21 or 22, and decided to read the whole series from the beginning. I think I dare to say that you are one of the best authors of fiction at this platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the mention! Much appreciated 🌻 so glad you found those posts interesting! I'm looking forward to reading your other suggestions. Have a lovely day 🌺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate a lot for including my post "Less is Always Better Than More" and for resonating with the idea of minimalism. Thank you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. I have just seen some interesting articles here that I'm yet to check out. Your brief introduction to the topic has made it a simply irresistible for a curious chap like myself to want to know more

$ 0.00
2 years ago