True or Faux

3 55
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Death, Art, Thriller, Online, ...

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

I canā€™t say for sure when the ability started functioning, or when they found out about its existence, but as I ran down the curb panting with my mouth open, I knew that I had gotten into trouble for something I had no control over. A problem that had come to my own doorstep, and from a life of relative boredom which I was tired of, I had been thrust into a dangerous situation.

It started a week earlier. I woke up to read a text from my girlfriend, Sharon, explaining why sheā€™d not answered any of my calls the previous night. Followed by an ā€œI love you ā¤ā¤ā€. But that was the big problem. All of it was in the very dark text, so dark that it almost seemed to glow black.

That was strange, because as I scrolled up our message logs, all the messages Iā€™d sent her when in gold-colored text instead of the usual white, and most of the texts she sent were black in color, while mine were gold. The last time she sent me a chat with the gold-colored text was a day beforeā€¦

I looked around my room, and all of the text around was gold in color, but I didnā€™t want to believe it yet. I grabbed a pen and wrote two sentences in my book.

ā€œThe Sun rises in the eastā€

And

ā€œThe Sun rises in the Westā€

Of the two, the second one, which was obviously the lie, was dark in color despite my writing with blue ink. It was now clear what was going on, or at least the hypothesis I had formed was beginning to prove itself true. All written things that were true shone a golden color, and all written things that were false were black.

The last time Sharon told me the truth, it was the day before we attended Pascal Velasquezā€™s birthday [arty. The day she left for over an hour and came back with disheveled hair and fucked up make-up. The day she told me sheā€™d been assaulted by someone she did not know.

It had all been a lie, and our relationship had been a faƧade since that day. All the texts, all the long heart-warming messages. Iā€™d been lied to completely from that point. I called Sharon and confronted her about the whole situation, and rather than break down and cry, she kept an even voice as she told me that she had already planned to break things off with me, and I had called at perfect timing.

It took me a few seconds to gather my thoughts as she rambled on before ending the call and cutting her off. I didnā€™t know whether to laugh, or whether to cry. I didnā€™t know how to feel, now that the confrontation did not go the way I planned it and Sharon was just a cold-hearted heat. That was all there was to it, to ā€˜usā€™ as it were because an ā€˜usā€™ no longer existed.

I showered, dressed up, and left my room, determined to find some activity to indulge in that would take my attention away from what had just happened to me. I didnā€™t know how to handle my actions if I ever met Sharon in person, so I decided to avoid her for the time being until I found another person to frolic with and make her jealous.

It was toxic behavior, especially for the new girl, but that was the game everyone played. I did not even bother to remember my strange abilityā€¦ or the source of its action until I passed by the library. I paused and looked back at the building, and remembered what happened that morning. Was that just a one-time thing, or would it work again> How much of history could I browse through, and what part of it would be true, or false? I had to find out. The first book I grabbed was one describing the assassination of John Fitzgerald Kennedy.

And right there, where it said that Lee Harvey Oswald was the perpetrator, the text was black. I gasped in shock as I opened several books and scanned through. A lot of the text, a lot of documentation, a lot of the history we had come to know and believe, taught at schools, and knowledge that had been imparted to us over the years.

70% of it was all lies.

I had no way to prove that all of it was false, but it was false. I feltā€¦. Empty. Just this morning, Sharon had unceremoniously dumped me after Iā€™d caught her cheating. And Iā€™d found out that most of all history was all fraudulent lies, and there was no one I could tell it to. Or no way I could prove it.

My life remained the boring hell that it was. It was usually at this time that a secret government agency or some other weird Men in Black type of agency would come after me.

But that only happened in the movies, right?

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

New Series Alert!

Thanks for Reading.

8
$ 17.00
$ 16.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 2
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Death, Art, Thriller, Online, ...

Comments

Ha- I finally got to this after all those shorts you had UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm up for the adventure! Haha. Well this is a wild ability!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ŠŠµŠæŠ»Š¾Ń…Š¾ ŠæрŠøŠ“уŠ¼Š°Š½Š¾, Š“Š°Š¶Šµ ŠøŠ½Ń‚ŠµŃ€ŠµŃŠ½Š¾.

$ 0.00
2 years ago