Do you want it now or later?

15 45
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

November 6th, 2021

Have you heard of the marshmallow test? If you haven't, then let me tell you about it!

The marshmallow test involves putting a marshmallow in front of a child and giving them an option to either eat the marshmallow or wait till the end and eat two marshmallows.

The test showed that we humans hate one thing in particular: waiting for things; we hate waiting.

I am sure it is not only me but do you ever feel like you are being tortured when your patience is being tested, you feel like time is slow, and you will never receive what you want.

Whether it is a video that won't download or a piece of fried chicken sitting in front of me begging to eat it, I often lose my patience when things don't seem to be going my way, and my desires aren't granted.

This generation is affected worse due to how fast everything is now, except my country's internet speed which seems to hate me for some reason.

But in other countries with high-speed internet and unlimited data plans, technological advances have made life tasks faster and lessened our patience meters, which reduces our ability to wait.

We always expect things to be done fast because we are used to things being like this.

Since we know this, it is essential to think about the implications of such culture, and while it would be difficult to let go of this practice, there will be value in confronting and overcoming it.

The proneness towards instant gratification won't always come from a place of selfishness or ignorant greed. Instead, it often appears in the most boring moments of our day, from surfing online to shopping.

We seek it out and are granted it without realizing it is creeping in on us, and when we are denied immediate results, we become irritated and depressed.

When our patience is being tested, we respond with anger and hatred because we feel cheated. Some people may roll their eyes but-

Like me, that slams my laptop shut and throws my phone away when my favorite series isn't downloading due to the internet speed. It is as if I reverted to my toddler days, throwing things away and crying, lol.

We have all come to expect things a certain way, and because of this, it would be difficult to fight off the waves of frustration and disappointment that come up when we face obstacles.

Instant gratification penetrates our everyday behavior and shapes the way we make decisions- and it won't always be for the best.

Learning to resist instant gratification may be difficult, but you have to manage your desires before they take over you. It is all about self-control and knowing your priorities.

The solution may take more than taking a few deep breaths, like waiting in a slow line for your meal.

Confronting instant gratification requires us to challenge ourselves to withstand harmful habits, such as the temptation to carry our phones when we are not busy.

By practicing patience, you allow yourself the opportunity to access the benefits of delayed gratification.

People who know how to manage their desires will always thrive more in relationships, careers, finances, health than people who give in to their desires.

Delayed gratification will improve your self-control, increasing your chances of fulfilling long-term goals because you will be more patient and have less burnout.

When you expand your focus from beyond the moment, you create more opportunities for your future self. As you know, the Now will always affect the Later; use that knowledge to plan your life and set your priorities rather than letting your desires blind you.

It is normal to crave ease and immediacy because technology allows the two to co-exist without hurting the other. And because of this, it will be hard to shift your focus to the long-term, but what you gain from it will be more beneficial than what you lose from resisting the temptation of instant pleasure.

You may even find better things when you delay gratification, and just like the marshmallow test, it is better to get two marshmallows than only getting one.

9
$ 3.54
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Theres always time for everything I believe but sometimes, I'm to impatient hehezz who's willing to wait for that long hahha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am guilty at times for not having enough patience :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our generation is just so impatient with everything. We hate waiting for anything. I have a friend who waits till a series is over before watching. He says he can't endure anticipating a new season.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

lol, I can sympathize with him on that one, sometimes the suspense may kill you, so it is better to binge watch it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who loves waiting in this world? Aggh, I think he is dumb who loves waiting. I lose my patience especially in trading and that's why I am always at loss.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It isn't easy waiting for a trade, sometimes you may even go crazy when things don't go your way lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly patience is a virtue but I have that these days waiting isn’t necessarily always the right answers sometimes we just have to go for it delay might be dangerous

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you, dear! Thank you for dropping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, it's okay for me to wait. Than, I am the one who are waited by them. Hahaha..Maybe, I have this patience and I know how to wait. But, it really matters on the situation.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Seriously, I hate waiting and my coolness will be put at test here. I mean, arghh that's annoying especially waiting in the line 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, I can relate with what you are saying, wish I had the power to skip lines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a limit to my patience really. It all depends on what's at stake and my state of mind. On a very bad day, I would rather have nothing at all that wait. It can get very depressing but if one can persist, the reward is usually satisfying

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, the reward at the end will be worth it; even if it gets depressing, you should persevere.💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago