Suggested Reading 2

6 523
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

In this series, I assume the role of a reader instead of a writer, discussing articles by other writers... things I recommend.

In this “Suggested Reading”, I will start with @Alexandra001, a relatively new member, who first turned up here with texts in Russian. It was good articles about Russian culture, but I was one of very few readers, if not the only one. After a comment about the language, the articles suddenly turned up in English. @Alexandra001 is still not getting much attention, but if you are interested in Russian culture, take a look at her profile, or at:

Russian mythological creatures.

Russian mythological creatures. Part 2.

Or these about an author Mikhail Afanasyevich Bulgakov :

A brilliant Russian writer.

"The Master and Margarita" Bulgakov M. A.

Another relatively new author is @Goroda - since about a month he posts about his travelling in Central Asia. It is nothing deep, but entertaining if you have never been in this part of the world. What I miss here is a more profound description of the history of places such as Samarkand, Bukhara and Khiva – because this area has a very rich history. Yet I think @Goroda is worth the minutes it takes to read his articles.

A third author I recently discovered, although he has obviously been on read.cash for quite long, is @ceky321. His articles are sometimes a little short, but he writes in an interesting way about history, often, but far from always, with emphasis on the south eastern corner of Europe. Among his articles, you can find posts like these (for a complete list, see his profile):

Medieval chariots - the forerunner of tanks

The biggest pirate robbery in history (1695)

Knight's tournament in medieval Buda in 1412

Pirates on the Danube in the 18th century.

@Pantera recently posted September 11th, 2001 - Controversies and Censorship. This can serve as an eye-opener for those of you who still think internet offers freedom of expression, and for those who trust official news media. It is a long article, but it is worth the while to read it.

@dave_gutteridge is a new acquaintance for me, but obviously he has been around for quite a long time. What caught my attention was his recent post, If Not a Conspiracy, Why Is Blockstream Crippling Bitcoin? A good read.

A several months old article, now and then turning up boosted, is The rarely discussed danger of KYC and what you can do about it. I, myself carefully guarding my privacy, avoid every form of KYC, and it always surprises me how little most people seem to care about it. I would certainly never send copies of ID documents to anyone over internet. Apart from the general matter of privacy, identity theft is always a risk. The article by @anarkio is a must-read. Strangely, it is the only article this user have posted here.

When does life begin? How long is abortion an option without being murder? There are various answers to this, all being based more on belief than facts. @Gemstone discusses this from the perspective of science: Life Begins At Fertilization (Scientific Evidence).

Speaking about @Gemstone, read also: Beets - Boost Your Testosterone, Detox Your Liver & Dissolve Gallstones. I regularly eat (raw) red beets myself and I can attest to the benefits; this is one of the real superfoods.

An old article by @aniruddhasen: The relation between sound, idol worship and Indian temple architecture. I have always been fascinated and interested in the role of sound in creation myths and religious and spiritual practices. This article is one of @aniruddhasen's best.

In my recent Retrospection 7, I expressed my interest in eyes, and I have also studied the belief in “the evil eye” historically. Interestingly, that is a very old tradition, which can be traced back to old Babylonia. But why not look at this from a contemporary everyday perspective? Read Do you believe in Evil Eyes?? by @Theblackdoll.

Another article related to eyes is Health Condition So Rare Experts Debate If It Exists: Four Eyes? [Research] by @CryptoMax.

A time ago I wrote about how I discovered science fiction through Frank Herbert's Dune series. @Librarian recently published an article about Dune as well, Blue Eyes and Sand Dragons. He is analysing this series in a completely different way, quite profoundly. Definitely an interesting read.

How about a language learning guide by @Shounenbat ?

Language Learning Part 1

Language Learning Guide Part 2 – Immersive Content

Finally, @Bloghound brings up an important but in certain circles controversial subject in Playing With Fire.

Related articles: Retrospection 6 and Suggested Reading 1.

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Telomeres, Rate of Living, Hormesis & Ageing

Ageing & Death, Inevitable or Not?

Retrospection 7 (Purple, Eyes, Vision, Light and Blindness.)

Vitamin D – Underrated Vitamin?

Vitamin A - Function & Need

16
$ 19.47
$ 18.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you @Mictorrani, very kind to mention my article. The Suggested Reading and Retrospectives allow me to discover more from this wonderful platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no denying what good this platform has brought for the whole of us in terms of making us good authors, readers and earners as well. The cases of panthers and co who later turned their posts from Russia, Asia to English, are all a clear indication that they have really learnt a lot from this platform. I hope you also get to talk about me later in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will see what the future may bring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your post is like an encyclopedia to readers, I'm gonna check posts you mentioned here, what a great job and thank you for mentioning my post :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago