Suggested Reading 1

11 563
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

In this series, I assume the role of a reader instead of a writer, discussing articles by other writers... things I recommend.

In my article, Retrospection 6, I brought up some, in my opinion, good authors on this platform. It was received very well; obviously there was a need for some means to help people find good material to read in the wild-grown jungle we have got here now. Since the topic doesn't really belong in my Retrospections, I decided to create a new separate series, “Suggested Reading”, in which I will now and then publish a list of recommended articles, sometimes with short comments. It will mainly cover recent posts, but also bring up some older material, and I hope it will be of help for members seeking good reading.

It is unavoidable that my selection is subjective, based on my taste and on what I happened to find here, so never forget that there surely is other good material as well.

Let's start with Why the use of custodial wallets contradicts the idea of Bitcoin, by @Telesfor . This is important reading for those who have forgotten (or do not care) that one of the pillars of Bitcoin from the very beginning has been “trustlessness”, that the user should never have to trust any third party: not a bank, not a transfer provider, not a government, not anything or anyone. This is what makes your bitcoin yours, what puts you in control. As soon as you rely on a third party, the control is theirs, not yours.

In Hybrid artificial intelligence on the Blockchain?, @Jnavedan speculates about the future. Some food for thought.

Another thought-provoking post is You Are Living in the Golden Age of Stupidity, where @Nicay05 discusses the mystery of stupidity. I think this topic could have been developed more and perhaps I would have chosen other examples, but in essence I agree to the message it conveys.

@aniruddhasen said: Why I don't like the concept of country. I don't like it either, although my objections may be different, but the article is important because it questions something that needs to be questioned - while most people just take it for granted, thinking it is unavoidable.

@Kraine wrote What exactly is it about perfectionism that makes it so flawed?. I found this being of psychological interest. Perfection is indeed flawed, and I have somewhere claimed that personality is imperfection”, by which I mean that, for instance, a perfect work of art lacks in personality and is not at all as interesting as the imperfect one. The same with people, when we love someone, we love them for their personality, for their imperfections. The perfect one (or what appears to be the perfect one) can be admired, but never loved. @Kraine's approach to the subject is different than mine, but well worth reading.

The most recent article by @justanny is Literature and Poetry: How they Collide in Harmony. This author writes a lot about writing. It is good and useful reading for those of you who aspire to become authors but still lack in experience and knowledge of the technique of writing and building up a good text.

Smartphones Have No Mind, a recent article, where @janatyler sows some seeds of reflection about our use of cellphones, a use that surely is an abuse in many cases.

How about a fairy tale where the moral of the story is "Being different is not a bad thing"? @gertu13 published Being different is bad? just a couple of hours before I write this. It's fiction, but fiction with a message.

@Akagaminoneloy00 is a new member who might become interesting. I did read "To Write is to Crystallize Thoughts", and decided to subscribe to see what he/she would deliver more. @Akagaminoneloy00 is right, to write can be a way to organise and clarify one's own thoughts.

Low acid coffee for me, is a personal and informative article, where @Hanzell explains about coffee and acid reflux. Myself a coffee lover - and I, too, have published articles about coffee - I usually read articles I find about coffee, which are not so few. This is definitely one of the better ones. @Hanzell has the knowledge of chemistry and related sciences required to really explain something more than that she likes it this way or that.

A recent article by @hamedbkh is Secrets on canvas (Part I). He elaborates on female baroque artist Artemisia Gentileschi, and how she used her art for he purpose of revenge. As usual with @hamedbkh, the article is well written and well researched.

Let's finish his survey with creatures from myths and legends, namely dragons. I have touched that topic myself, but I think Dragons and Monsters by @onlymythoughts is worth the while to read as well.

If you are into legendary monsters, I suggest you also read The Legend of The Loch Ness Monster by the same author.

Related article: Retrospection 6

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Amber, Organic Gem with a Long History & Many Properties, Part II

Amber, Organic Gem with a Long History & Many Properties, Part I

Genuine Ultramarine, Once One of the Most Costly Pigments in the World

The Human Predisposition to Schism - and What it Means to Bitcoin

Retrospection 6

14
$ 19.09
$ 18.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 7
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

Fantastic! I've yet to write mine as I haven't found enough to reach 10 best articles. Hehe. Maybe I will check on some of those too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have much more; it will not be difficult to compile a second list. And it will come one in due time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this interesting topic from other users article. I want to read this first "SMARTPHONES HAVE NO MIND BY @janatyler.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention and I agree with you in what you say that we all write but not all of us have well defined the right way to do it. And I think that in the course of our time here a lot will be learned in this regard.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now this is a very interesting list of articles to read. I've already read a few of them, so I know I can only expect good materials. Thanks for including my article in the list as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice list - your recommendations are very instructive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No doubt in this plateform author are great that's why they write amazing article. I also write same article like @janatyler write " cell phone have no mind"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will look at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't wait having you address your article the ways you have spelt out here cos I'm one kind of a person that like reading interesting things especially that of an article. I'm really waiting when you'll do as you've said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice retrospections..

$ 0.00
2 years ago