Sponsorships and Giveaways: Stop a Moment and Look at What You are Doing!

89 135
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

Let me first say that I am sorry that I have to write this post. But with Read.Cash himself banned and a situation that is rapidly leading this site astray, I cannot see any other way than to raise my voice in a post.

Read.cash nowadays is clogged with posts about giveaways and offered or requested sponsorships. It has gone so far that it is hard to find anything to read. The notifications are clogged with this as well. This is no longer a place for reading and writing, it has become a kindergarten where overgrown children play games to try to snatch extra points without effort.

But what is it really about?

In my opinion, this is just a trick to get more subscribers and upvotes without producing quality material and for a negligible cost. If someone subscribes to my posts, I want it to be because they like to read my articles, not because I have paid them for doing so by becoming their sponsor for one, two or three cent per month - or because I arrange a giveaway and they must subscribe or upvote to get a chance to catch 50 cents or whatever it can be. The number of subscriptions is no longer a measure of quality or popularity; since it is a matter of doubt if more than a small fraction of illicitly won subscribers ever read the author's posts, it is not a measure of anything. The same for upvotes.

Since it is a commonly held view that the number of subscribers and upvotes affect the number of points the member receives, this is nothing else than corruption of the system. If we assume it is right, it is quite meaningless too. Since the total payout in $ (or BCH) per day is fixed, it serves no purpose if all members get more points, the value of the points will be less then - or, if the number of points per day is limited, it becomes less points for everyone but not more or less BCH. If all members took part in all giveaways and the same number of sponsorships, everyone would still get the same number of BCH or $ in the end of the day.

But, and that is an important but, everyone doesn't take part - a few are busy with creating original content, and they will find themselves the losers by this, they are the ones getting less per day because the tricksters take more. So, eventually the serious members will leave and then the vision of Read.cash dies. It can remain as a kindergarten for the amusement of adult children, but not as a library of read-worthy articles getting hits at the search engines and attracting reading visitors from outside.

As it is now, Read.cash is not much better than when it was clogged with spam. I have started to unsubscribe those who repeatedly posts about giveaways. These posts fill my notifications and drown genuine notifications, which are easily missed in the sheer amount of posts about giveaways.

Is this really the Read.Cash you want?

Copyright © 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

23
$ 0.74
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.05 from @Leo_kitti
+ 4
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

Comments

At least it gives you something to write about. Something I already did at least two weeks ago https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/cps-c4129b6a and so did read.cash and others at that time. It was long before read.cash banned itself what doesn't mean there can not be commented here or changes can be made on this platform.

If those changes are not made it means nothing will change and this platform will continue without these good writers left. We already know always the same people scam, cheat, no matter if it is with the upvote circles, communities, buying followers, giveaways, memes, or whatever. Those who are really good can no longer be rewarded with an upvote because that's a circle. Clear it's a circle because good writers and real readers are rare on this platform.

Who knows you have more influence on people and they listen but I don't think so. This platform is not about writing and that's the main problem.

It's not only the giveaways but short notes as well which it less attractive unless you like Facebook.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Give me something to write about! Does it look like I needed something to write about? Look at what I have published here, do I suffer a lack of topics? I have hundreds of things I can write about, I am not choosing read.cash as a subject because I would have nothing else. Enough said about that.

Yes, it can easily become an upvoting circle by accident. Trying to stop upvoting circles automatically is predestined to strike at innocent members as well.

Well, some people listened. Look at these posts published the day after my article: https://read.cash/@Macronald/mictoranni-on-sponsorships-and-giveaways-my-reaction-eb630815 https://read.cash/@Ashma/important-updates-regarding-contest-participants-must-read-5b4711f2 This is far from enough, and I doubt anything will really change unless Read.Cash changes his attitude to these things, but it is an attempt.

But you are right, this platform is not about writing. Sad but true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article I Love Thet..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well stated sir, every now and then whenever I log in to read.cash, 90% of the posts I encounter are either giveaways or sponsorship with someone asking others to indirectly promote them to earn a few cents and turns the members don't mind it at all as long as they earn something.

Initially I thought it was a good gesture until I discovered, it was a strategy to earn more by spending a little. I find it hard they stay more than an hour on read.cash anymore seems the air is no longer as interesting as it used to be. I can barely tell if back then when we had spammer on the platform is better than now. Well, I just hope everything turns out well in the end and we achieve our goal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I surely hope it will become better, otherwise there is no idea to stay here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed. So these giveaways and sponsorships really have become the new wave of spam that started out from small microtasks. I prefer how things were a month ago when such things weren't all the rage. One small microtask that lead to another and now it's all that you'll see. Although there's no harm in contests as long as it entails quality content and such but then it really does get tiring to see the same formatted giveaway or sponsorship post over and over again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is the new spam.

I agree, honest contests that entail quality content are okay, but not if they require subscription, upvote or endless posting of some meaningless short post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. It's sad that the short post didn't meet the creator's hopes and that it's being used so casually like this. I believe it was supposed to be used to raise discussions and to allow the authors to give short updates about themselves, similar to twitter. But not for such posts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, the short posts are a failure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really a failure but it was given to the wrong group of people

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok, one can express it so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I am the only one who think a limit should set on how much one can post in a single day😑😑. specially a limit on short posts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, you are not the only one, I suggested a limit of 2 posts per member and day already 3 months ago. I still think such a limit is needed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But what can we do about this. This thing seems very unfair to me nowadays. Even there are some users posting 10+ posts but they are not upto the mark. people now belief Quantity over quality and run after points by posting more and more. This is not fair at all😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not sure they get so much more in the end. Points are valued on an individual basis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also don't know how much they are getting but their belief is ruining the platform also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nah, there should definitely be a limit else when you want to check a person's content, all you'll see is that. And i swear, it's not a pretty sight

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this short post system should be banned, after all it's a blogging site and short posts are not up to the mark

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Short posts can count as blogs too. It's just the usage that really should be checked on because this is not twitter after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sensibly used they would be okay, but they are not sensibly used, unfortunately.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know what?? short posts sucks more than contest. Now the situation has gotten much worse. Even someone is having stomach problem, they are like 'OMG OMG, my stomach hurts, pray for me😑😑😑''

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not all of them, the abuse is just what makes you hate it. I mean, I'm guilty of using short posts and all, mostly to ask for opinions that i know are a bit too excessive if written as an article because i have too many questions I'd like to ask but then i think what you hate is seeing it being used left and right for the pettiest of reasons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that is annoying.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@hanzell I was talking about this a few days ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, we did a reaally really long discussion of this 😂 and now someone has said it out in the open as well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I got some downvotes for protesting cause my points were pretty low after I protested. So i stopped protesting as no one out there to support. I even emailed but they also gave green card to contests and meme as long as there is no personal attack😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The memes are alright, the humor is much needed since we lack the short features to upload only pictures and a caption but i don't know about the rest anymore. I wonder if i ever get downvoted because my points remained within the same range so no complaints here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

my friend showed me about the effect of downvote and we can't see that but others can see. He assured me I got some as he has seen. I also organised a contest. Do you think it was not right also??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's sad. I'd like to see if i also got downvoted

Your contest was basically asking an opinion and that in itself really isn't all that bad to me. You didn't really ask for anything much too and you definitely didn't generate spam posts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the opinion. I don't want to become the one that I hate most nowadays. What a relief😓😓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd been meaning to hold a contest recently too. A continuation prompt but given the audience... i just honestly gave up on the idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a quality post so don't feel sorry about writing it. There are some contest that'll require you to go out of readcash to follow a person on IG before you qualify. (Hey! Why don't I do that! Then another person follows, then another, then another.)

Despite the growing number of distracting giveaways, there are some contest that actually encourages you to write quality articles like @Ashma's and @Cristy's.

Jumping into every giveaway contest you see for quick money is now becoming the norm. It takes me 2-3 days to make a dollar here but (😂😂) I'm doing what I enjoy! Besides it was clearly stated; "read cash can't take over your pay job, don't come here for only the money, what they offer is change to encourage writing!"

This comment is enough to make an article (😂)

Good morning from this side of the globe, I need coffee☕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good morning, enjoy your coffee. I have just had mine.

I agree that contests are okay if they stimulate the creation of high quality material and does not lead to spam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a Quality you spread around 🥂🙌🙏 I just feel the same way but as I am new so I don't know much about all the happenings in past on the platform I thought this is the way to make more friends and money in easiest way ... OH MY Goodness I was wrong hell wrong . Yes for the least cents payments subscriptions is the main reason behind every give away. I am also a part of the system so won't say more things 🤭🙈 Thank you for the elaborations to this seriously attention seeking thing. I will be playing my part to create and promote Quality while sending my contents to the platform I am standing with you on this Cheers 🥂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have had this worry for long, I just come online and all I see are sponsorship post which is so so wrong, the goal of the platform is deviating and no more functional...

Something needs to be done ASAP

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also agree with you. This thing really disappoint me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I emailed the same thing two days ago at hello@read cash. About memes and contests. They gave they green light and i don't know why. A new guy with 5 subscriber arranging a contest where subscribing him is a obligatory and next day he has 100+ subscriber. I too arranged a contest but there was not necessary subscription rule or short post rule and people enjoyed their time there. I hate this things a lot. But read cash only said if there is no peraonal attack, everything is okay. He was like it's a tactics. I am disappointed with such reply. I thought the would take some steps atleast or ban some ids who are corrupting and destorying the purpose of platfrom. I even protested and got blocked and I think I even got some downvotes as I was not getting points for past few days. So what can we do about this??? I am giving my contest link as I organised a contest for fun and I would like you opinion if I should stop it as well. jst check the rule for me please https://read.cash/@Jihan/contest-timegive-the-best-title-and-win-upto-1-8fa16dfb

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's abuse. We must raise our voice against it. I have watched this now for some time, but nobody does anything, so now I feel I must speak up. I don't know how read.cash can say it is okay and at the same time fight other forms of spam and trickery. It's inconsistent. If he wants high quality material here, he must act against this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I strongly said that we the good article writers are not getting points and the contest holders are snatching them overnight. So what should I do?hold contest? He said Points are given by the upvote of power user and if they are getting the upvotes it's okay. If there is a contest post. Over 100 likes and views, but give a informative article, people doesn't care🍌🍌🍌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Admittedly, it is hard to devise a fair system for determining quality, but it is obvious that it is not good as it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything went wrong after read cash is banned. If this is not stopped, after some days there will be no article here in this platform. It wil become a club house. Play and win😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. As I wrote in the article, a kindergarten for adult children.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also don't like the power user upvote system. There are promising writers who write very very pretty and informative articles and doesn't get upvotes and points and they are discouraged to write more. They are looking for contests now. Upvotes are good but not every good article gets. I am sorry to say but when some big celebrity gives a post, gets upvote or even 5$ dollar also. And very good posts doesn't get even one upvote. I don't like this upvote based awarding point system. It creats a discrimination. upvotes are okay but why point ahould depend on that. Just think, you are well known and for this post you will get a lot of upvote may b. But if I gave this post, I would not get much. So for this post you will get points but for the same I wouldn't get as much as you get as you will get more upvotes than me. I mean no offence to you but hope you understand what I am talking about

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is true that there are good articles that don't get any attention. I always try to look for them, but I cannot read everything.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Not only you, most people can't read and the good posts doesn't get upvotes and points. So what should they do. It's very hard to establish by articles. But now after contests. Just pay and buy subscriber🙂🙂

$ 0.01
3 years ago

True

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol that term but true. There really should be a moderator figure around that people will obey because without it, people really think they can post anything now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is why the presence of a moderator really does affect the whole, else it becomes this kind of place

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are absolutely right about that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's all just a spam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you didn't unsubscribe me as I am hosting a giveaway too. But I think my giveaway is giving them encouragement as well as my requirement is a freewriting and a good content.. But you are right, it is becoming out of hand as some are just asking for subscription in return, though, I honestly did joined some. But as I can see the frontpage, it already is consuming the platform. haha Again, I don't know what to think honestly cause I am also hosting a giveaway. I am sad but I feel like I don't have the right to cause, again, I am hosting a giveaway...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think he meant you by this. You are holding a freewriting contest not really a giveaway. Actually I think that contest is a very good idea to encourage the REAL writers to write more and better. He is talking about People "buying" subscribers not people who are putting an effort to make this platform better through writing contests.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

awww thank you so much :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very welcome! By the way, i have a question about your contest: I have a story but it's impossible to type it in just 10 minutes. Is there a solution?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

maybe you can make it shorter? how much time do you need? I mean is it that long?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your contest is fine. Prices in a genuine and seriously organised contest, really aiming at quality material, are okay. You are not buying subscribers or upvotes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much... I also think that it's best of hosts would make it encouraging to write instead. If it's buying subscribers and upvotes wouldn't that supposedly be tagged with the penalty? Just asking..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your contest is okay because it's a free writing-contest, which encourages writers to write not just by posting short posts and subscribe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I think so too... I hope people will start to participate in giveaways that encourages them be a better writer instead hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before when I was a newbie I like to participate giveaways task but now I stopped and my notifications are flooded with sponsorship and giveaways advertisement tsk. I agree with this..hope you will be heard and they will stop.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if I will be heard, but from the support here I can see that I said something many have been thinking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, we were just silently observing it's good to have you who raised this concern, the platform looks like a spam site if this will continue further. It's annoying that my notification from those whom I subscribe are always sponsorship and giveaways advertisement with short post only 🙄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's very annoying. It's a high risk that one misses the one or two real articles that can be hidden there somewhere among all he meaningless notifications.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

100% agree with you, I being a new member also jumped into this bandwagon but seeing the amount of sponsorship is actually demeaning a serious writer. The sponsorship amounts I see here and when I convert it to my currency, it is pathetic. I also had hopes to get a good amount of earning here to support my retired life expenses but it is not possible here so basically I am doing hobby writing. If this platform has to survive then this has to stop and other system should be devised to promote quality articles.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reading this post made me feel so satisfied. This is exactly what i was thinking too! I'm sick of my home page and notifications being full of giveaways and "buying" subscribers. The actual situation is irritating and this must change.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it doesn't change, all quality content providers will surely leave. What remains then? A kindergarten.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's 100% correct. Nobody can argue about that I guess. But i doubt this wave will stop anytime soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The worst is when they tell you to subscribe to them in the comments just because they subscribed to you. most of them when i go to their page it's all giveaways, sponsorship begging, or a language i don't understand. I'm not saying you must post in english but that's the language i understand and i wont use a translator for any post when there are other english posts that are interesting.

I only subcribe to people that i find their posts worth it, i go through all the users post before i subscribe. If i see a lot of sponsorship or giveaway posts i dont subscribe cause i don't want my notifications filled with that and i would barely see the posts of the people i actually want to read.

I don't care about sponsorships, most of them are 0.01, I only want sponsors that really like my content and want to sponsor me for it.

The homepage is a mess with promoted sponsorship and giveaway posts. I'm glad someone finally said something about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good. Everything you say here is right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article . Reading this post made me feel so satisfied. This is exactly what i was thinking too! I'm sick of my home page and notifications being full of giveaways and "buying" subscribers. The actual situation is irritating and this must change.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Obviously this is something many have been thinking, but nobody said anything about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, many users are just posting about giveaways and the like. I am glad that someone talks about it. I admit that I arranged a poem writing contest, BUT, the purpose is, to encourage everyone to write QUALITY POEMS that are worth reading and worth our time. I mainly arranged it to share what I know to help them improve their writings, the prizes are just bonus for their creativity and effort. My point is, do not flood the site with nonsensical things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is nothing wrong with a contest aiming at quality material, with prices in the contest, or with helping people to improve - and that is not what my article is about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I understand. My comment is for those who are making such "giveaways" just to get subscribers and the like. It's really sad, but a lot of them do exist in this platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sadly, yes. Too many.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely right. Thanks for bravely posting your thought. I'm a bit guilty because I participated in some giveaway contests that are just for fun. I appreciate you for sharing this because this will be an eye-opener to everyone though not all of them are just doing it for fun, there are few who made giveaway contest to improve the writing skills of read.cash users.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is nothing to be sorry about writing this post @Mictorrani. It is just the article we need, that said it as it is. It is sad to see the direction this place is going to. I too have unsubscribed to the many I was initially subscribed to because there is too many crap posts. It really isn't easy to find good articles to read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let's say that I am sorry that it has gone so far that I have to write it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago