Mictoranni on Sponsorships and Giveaways - My Reaction

37 60
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

A read cash well wisher @Mictorrani published an article which underlines the negative effects of excessively meaningless giveaway contests and sponsorship offers on our beloved platform - read.cash.

He ended it with a thought provoking question:

Is this really the Read.Cash you want?

Read the article here - Sponsorships and Giveaways: Stop a Moment and Look at What You are Doing!

Read.cash nowadays is clogged with posts about giveaways and offered or requested sponsorships. It has gone so far that it is hard to find anything to read. The notifications are clogged with this as well. This is no longer a place for reading and writing, it has become a kindergarten where overgrown children play games to try to snatch extra points without effort.

Agreed. The homepage and notification is a mess with promoted sponsorship and giveaway posts. I'm glad someone finally said something about it.

Do I have the right to agree?

Honestly, I have hosted and participated in giveaway contests. I am sad, I feel like I don't have the right to agree to his words.

I joined the platform with the wrong mindset - to make money. On realizing that the normal daily activities; posting articles, reading and commenting, barely got me $1 in my first week, I was overwhelmed with disappointment.

On my give up moment, a friend suggested ways to earn more; participating in giveaways, building my subscribers base through giveaway contests which will in turn increase users engagement on my article. I took his advice, I jumped into the giveaway train. I have hosted and participated in a few giveaways. Though my daily earning increased - the change was not significant.

As days went by, I read more articles and met more users, I began to find more fun on the platform. Then I met @Hanzell @OverThinker @wakeupkitty @heartbeat1515 and others whose advice and moral support is helping guide my path and now my perspective is taking a new shape.

Someone also share this with me:

Read cash can't take over your pay job, don't come here for only the money, what they offer is change to encourage writing!

Though read cash can't take over my pay job - as I am unemployed at the moment, it can't replace the need for one. I realized that the earning is more of a bonus; an incentive to encourage publishing of good contents and positive user engagement.

There is need to guide the newbies on the right part.

These posts fill my notifications and drown genuine notifications, which are easily missed in the sheer amount of posts about giveaways.

Despite the growing number of distracting giveaways, there are some contest that actually encourages quality articles. But giveaways are just asking for subscription and participants are asked to make a post about the giveaway, a way of promoting it to reach more users. This type of giveaway contest is consuming the platform and need to be checked.

Imagine 50% of users you are subscribed to participating, each making a post about the giveaway. There will be more notifications of giveaways which drown genuine notifications of quality and read worthy articles.

Is this really the Read.Cash you want?

No. This is not a call to put an end to giveaways and contests. But a call to take a moment and look at what we are doing to this platform.

This is not for people who are putting an effort to make this platform better through writing contests. But for as many as those who are misusing it; seeing it as a way to get subscribers and comments, at the end encouraging spamming and poor quality contents; unintentionally.

My giveaway

Contests, if not misused, can be a good way to encourage writers to write more and better. There's no harm in contests as long as it entails posting quality contents and encourages positive activities and such from users. But then it really does get tiring to see giveaway or sponsorship posts over and over again.

There is need for us to be more responsible and contribute to the positive growth of this platform by discouraging useless posts and spamming, and encouraging good contents & positive user engagement.

We are read.cash, her rise to greatness and fall is in our hands. Let's make her a better place.

Yes we can, and it begins with you and I!

My action: I will end my active giveaway today. Though I will host contests in future, it will be less often and more refined and suited for the positive growth of read cash.

How about you?

15
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @tsakf
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing your reaction and nice decision friend for your upcoming contest:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Grace. I hope you will also do your part to reduce the rate of meaningless giveaway posts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will because these past few days I also observed that almost all notifications I received were just about giveaway posts and those quality articles were overlooked which is very sad because the real essence or reason why read.cash exists is sometimes set aside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed. Let's do our best and hope for a better read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Recently, my notifications are all bombarded with giveaways and sponsorship notifs which made me unsubscribe to some users (I apologize for that but it really isn't helping). I myself had also conducted a giveaway for the celebration of BCH day and I guess nothing's wrong with that since my mechanics isn't for the purpose of promoting myself but for them to realize the importance of readcash & BCH. Hoping that others would understand that offering sponsorship should be done by the purpose of encouraging more authors to write quality contents. I'm also guilty for joining giveaway activities but I already stopped immediately since almost every users are continuously creating such events like a chain reaction. But then, I am not saying to stop all activities but to conduct with a better purpose. Let's not forget the true essence of this platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rightly said. I am also guilty for hosting and joining. Though I will host giveaway contests in the future, it will come with better purpose

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I hope you'd support other aspiring authors as well๐Ÿ’•. You did a great job. Keep it upโ˜€๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. Thank you for your suppprt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stopped making entry to giveaway contest since last week because it became too much,everywhere you turn to is one give away or the other they were not making sense to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Giveaway contests are not that bad. But just that its consuming the platform. Everyone is hosting giveaways.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Extremely consuming

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anytime

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ‘Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everyone is not hosting giveaways! Now you say exactly the opposite of what you write in your article. ๐Ÿค”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely true....since I came on, I've been seeing giveaways everywhere and it's really getting too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes Eric. We need to slow it down

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Have a lovely day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly . There are so meaningless give aways running like 0.01$ for subscription short post and comments. Strange ...!!! This is not the actual platform for earning and learning . I was also part of it but now I try my level best to avoid it for future. There should be some Quality for which we get upvotes and also our points run higher. I agree to sir @Mictorrani's thought and I stand by Him. But don't cancel your giveaway you can avoid in future but people have already submitted enteries for the same .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't just cancel. I rewarded everybody that participated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isn't that why you all are here and hoping for? Whole day clicking, following, accepting that sponsor for 1 cent of because it looks so "great"?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're absolutely right. The giveaway contest should be more productive rather than increasing subscriber.I like the way you thought for new comers.Trust me when I was new I lost interest on readcash as I couldn't able to make my points.Still I'm a learner.Stay connected.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey Trisha. I will continue helping newbies and I will also host some contest, but it will be to encourage good contents especially from newbies

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @Macronald.Good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am currently hosting a giveaway. But I will not end it as that giveaway also encourages writers to write.. I will however not participate to meaningless giveaways now to lessen such giveaways.. Or atleast help lessen it. This isn't the platform we want. We want it to be like it was before.. I hope I won't get bashers through this haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your type of giveaway. I hope to learn from you. I will organize some in future. With a better goal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww thanks so much... I hope to see quality giveaways too hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Giveaway contests are not that bad. But just that its consuming the platform. Everyone is hosting giveaways.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not everyone is hosting giveaways. I am not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have said it all. As you said, I am glad that someone is writing about this. I am tired of writing one like it. Thank you for mentioning me here. I am glad you found your way to enjoy your time here.

I am a bit busy with daily life and some problems to be settled and my writing is not that good in this few weeks but I will come back soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I beg your pardon? I wrote about it long before, more people did. We all tried to ignore the flood of trash. Read.cash wrote about it long before the memes and left because of this! How short the memory of the people here is. The shock was there for not even half a day and everything is worse than before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sorry I did not notice or perhaps I forgot. I agree that nobody care.
I guess I can't read as much as you did and my memory is for sure a trash. I cannot remember most of the things I read. I do remember some but not all of them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your post gives me a kind of dirty taste in my mouth. First, you abuse the system and buy the followers, next you praise @Mictoranni into the sky because of his post?

As you started here you exactly knew what is going on. Read.cash mentioned it, I did, @fexonice1 did and some more but you didn't care. Now you do? Now suddenly good content counts?

I gave up on that homepage a long time ago. It's the bad side of read.cash and to be honest I gave up on this platform being one of the better ones, one for writers as well. It will never happen because the users don't care. You can buy them for 0,12 cents a year, for 1 cent or less. You save more of you stay offline.

Guiding users I tried for longer but they do not care "next time I will", using Grammarly a free app is too much asked and since they are operating in big circles, do bought their followers they get their upvotes.

Only a few turned into better writers, some already we're but they are punished for up voting what is really good and for sure will not stay here forever. Good content, no matter in words written, photography or art is not appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago