Look Who's Turning Red!

12 34

040822

Whew! I've been feeling a little nostalgic for the past few days and boy I can't wait to share or recommend this movie to ya'll. There's a new Disney/Pixar movie in town! The last Disney movie I watch was Encanto and we've been listening to We Don't Talk about Bruno song every morning because Lil B likes it. Now, let me tell you about the new Disney movie we watched last week.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Last week my sisters were here and we made sure that to do a little bonding time for a few days. The weather changed from sunny to rainy last week. We initially planned to go to the park in the afternoon while it was a weekday because there will be more people in the park during weekends.

While the babies were having their afternoon nap, it suddenly rained. AAAAAW! No park day for us but we decided to watch the movie Turning Red instead. Oh boy, I can't wait for you to watch it!

Here's the trailer so you can take a peek.

Plot/Overview

It is about a teenage girl, Mei Lee, who badly wants to be a very obedient daughter but at the same time she and her friends wants to go to their favorite boy band's concert. However, a red panda curse happened that caused complications to her plan and her family.

Cast/Characters

Meilin 'Mei' Lee - voiced by Rosalie Chiang and the main character in the movie. Mei lives up to her mother's expectations and tried to be what her mother would like her to be, keeping her own feelings and emotions to herself to not disappoint her mother.

Ming Lee - Mei's mother and voiced by Sandra Oh. If you're familiar with Grey's Anatomy, you may know Sandra Oh as Dr. Cristina Yang.

Jin Lee - Mei's father and voiced by Orion Lee, he also appeared in the movie 'Zack Snyder’s Justice League' that's why he's a bit familiar to me. Anyway, Jin Lee is a very calm and observant type of father. He also balances her mother's strong emotion

Priya - voiced by Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, she starred in the Netflix Series 'Never Have I Ever' as Deve. Priya is one of Mei's bestfriends and she's the friend in the group who doesn't talk much or the one that has a poker face.

Miriam - voiced by Ava Morse, another Disney kid which I am not familiar with hehehe. Miriam is one of Mei's friends that her mother blamed for being a bad influence.

Abby - voiced by Hyein Park. One of Mei's friends who supported her and wasn't afraid to show her true especially when fangirling their favorite boyband 4*Town.

4*Town - voiced by Finneas, Jordan Fisher , Josh Levi, Grayson Villanueva and Topher Ngo. Finneas is Billie Eilish's brother and by the way they also wrote the song for this movie.

Here's the song, listen to it and I am sure that it will also give you a 90s/2000s boy band vibe.

Thoughts

This movie is about puberty and for sure Asians will surely relate. This type of parenting is common to Asians which also may cause suppressed feelings to teenagers and may result to something. Could be good or bad, who knows.

Anyway, we enjoyed and loved watching the movie because when we were kids, my sisters and I also love boy and girl bands. I can still remember my sister used to fangirl to some boy bands that she likes. She saves money so she can buy a legit CD album. I can still remember her fangirling to Blue, hihihi. Me? I like boy and girl bands, it's just that I wasn't as hooked as the other fans. I love their songs though.

Well, this movie is definitely appealing to kids because of the music and the theme.

My rating

Because I can somehow relate on the Mei's experience and 4*Town got me, I'll give it a 4/5 rating. Now, we always watch this song every morning because Lil B and her cousin likes it. For sure it'll be stuck in your head too. LSS us!

One more thing that I like about this movie is, the setting was basically from late mid/late 90s to early 2000s. Boyband/girlband era.

Oh by the way, the movie is only available in Disney+ which is not available in Philippines. So my sister had to download it online. You can also check Bilibili app or downloas it via torrent so you can watch and appreciate the movie too!

Check out my other related articles here:

Movie Recommendation: Pan de Salawal

Movie Recommendation: In the Heights

3 in 1 - Third is my first

The Guilty

Acions speak louder than words : Mute

Disney movies moves adults too: Encanto

lead image from source

5
$ 0.38
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Trifecta
$ 0.02 from @Lhes
+ 2
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Seems like a really good one ha, I'm gonna add it to my list and watch it when I've got free time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Watch it with your fam din! Baka mapindak dn sila 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napanood ko na nga Yan sis Ang Ganda niyan. Ilang ulit pinsulit ulit Ng anak ko panoorin.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚Ganda Rin Ng song NILA.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nagiging pampatulog na nga ng anak ko eh haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've seen the trailer for this one and I'm dying to watch itπŸ₯² hopefully I'll get some free time but sunday so i can go a head and finally watch it!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go go go! Watch it if you have free time i hope you love it too and welcome to read.cash. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww thankyouuu! I've been here for only just a little over a week and so far I'm really happy i started my journey here!🀍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mukhang maganda to ah ipadownload ko nga to sa anak ko..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako baka matuwa ka dn. Cutie pambata talaga sya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe, ok sis..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually my sisters like this movie a lot. They are playing the theme song and it's quite good. I haven't watch this since I'm not really into kids movie. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At least naappreciate mo pa dn ung song. 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago