The Guilty

7 24

01-27-22

Have you ever felt guilty? Guilty of something you said or about something you did? I am pretty sure that you have one or a few times that you've been guily about some things.

Check out my sponsors!!

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I know that today is Thursday and I am supposed to do a Tagalog Thursday article but I'll let this one pass because I haven't thought of a topic yet.

Since I've been watching movies almost every afternoon, I will try to post a recommedation that some of you might be interested to watch. I was about to post one movie recommendation for those who love musicals however, I haven't finished the movie because my subscription in HBO Go just expired. I will need to download a copy or watch in other apps or sites. Don't worry, I watched a different one yesterday. Yes, the movie is titled 'The Guilty'. Here's the trailer if you want to check it out.

The movie was released last year September 2021 in Netflix. It's a crime, drama genre movie. Let me just tell you a bit about other similar movies. There just a few that I can remember, honestly only one movie that reminds me of this one. The movie The Call (2013) with Halle Berry as the main cast. Basically, it is about a 911 operator/dispatcher, I'll tell a bit more later. I also checked if there are other similar movies about 911 dispatcher/or operators but I can only see one other movie which is Dispatch that was released on 2015. I haven't watched it and I will try to watch it soon.

Plot

Alright! This is about an LAPD detective that was assigned to 911 operator duty, who received a call about a distressed woman and obviously, he plans to save her.

Just as simple as that, what's the catch? Hey, you have to watch. Now let's go to the cast/characters.

Cast/characters

I am only going to name a few that I know or I already have watched some of their movies before.

Jake Gyllenhaal - casted as Joe Baylor the main character in the movie. He is a troubled LAPD detective that was assigned to do 911 dispatch operator duty for some reason that I don't want to tell you because you need to watch it to find out.

Of course, he's one of the highest paid actors in the movie and you might have seen him in other movies like Spiderman: Homecoming, Prince of Persia, Love & other drugs, Into the woods, Everest, The Day After Tomorrow, Stronger, Okja and many more.

Ethan Hawke - casted as Sergeant Bill Miller or Sarge. He is Joe's former boss and was on phone duty the day the incident happened.

Honestly, I haven't watched his new movies and I didn't recognize his voice huhu. You might have seen him in these movies; Trilogy - Before Sunset, Before Sunrise and Before Midnight, Predestination, Sinister, The Purge, The Magnificent 7, Boyhood, Getaway, Daybreakers.

Riley Keough - casted as Emily Lighton, the distressed woman who called 911.

I haven't watched any of her movies yet but she's Elvis' granddaughter.

Paul Dano - casted as Matthew Fontenot, just a whiny 911 'emergency caller' in the movie hahaha!

He was in the movie 12 years a slave, Okja, Looper, Knight and day, Batman, Swiss Army Man, Little Miss Sunshine and in Ruby Sparks.

What made me watch the movie

If you watched The Call, this movie may also catch your attention. The only similarity in the movie The Guilty and The Call is it is one of the few movies about a 911 dispatch operator. I know that there have been a few clips or videos online about a 911 call that's very unsual, funny but cute or emergency. I can't even imagine how a 911 dispatcher keeps their emotions when a heavy situation comes in.

Watching the first few minutes of the movie will get you the The Call feels or setting, however, it wasn't. Watching this movie made me realize that Jake Gyllenhaal is a really great actor. Why? Have you watched the movie Buried with Ryan Reynolds? Yes, that's how they did it. For those who haven't watched it, the movie was filmed in just one setting (place) all through out the movie. They didn't go anywhere. No fight scenes, no guns, no blast or explosions, just a few interactions, just a few people showed up in the film itself. The other characters were just voices, through a phone call. Imagine acting like that, you really need to be a great actor to do such thing, acting or talking just by yourself showing different heavy emotions.

Twist?

Joe Baylor felt guilty for some reason that you need to watch the movie for you t know, hahahahaha!

Trivia

This movie was just a remake of a Danish Film released in 2018, with the same title. The original movie was filmed for 13 days and produced with a low-budget. The remake version was filmed for 11 days but it wasn't necessarily a low-budget version, more like they wanted to rev-up the movie. But yeah considering the setting of the movie which is only around in 2 rooms and of course the pandemic situation that our world is in, they would most likely produced it for a low-cost comparing to other movies.

Rating.

I would give it an 8 or 8.5/10 rating. Why? I love how Jake Gyllenhaal carried the whole scene just by himself. I really appreciate actors like that, whew! Oh I just remembered Taylor Swift for no reason hahahah!

I love how the story goes, I thought that it was gonna be like how Halle Berry saved the victim in the movie The Call. I was waiting for Jake Gyllenhaal to save the woman but... *Bleeep* *Bleeep* *Bleeep* *Bleeep* *Bleeep* *Bleeep*

Dang it, just watch it. :)

Check out my other related articles too!

Acions speak louder than words : Mute

Disney movies moves adults too: Encanto

Lead image from unsplash

6
$ 1.95
$ 1.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Kala ko mahilig la sa netflix and chill lods, haha simula ng mapadpad ako sa noise.cash at read.cash, tanging one piece at boruto nalang pinapanuod ko 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just awakened my curiosity sis and I will surely watch this movie whe I have free time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag nag babasa ko si Jake somewhere ang naaalala ko lang ay si Taylor Swift 🤣 Naaalala ko yung All Too Well niya haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahahaha yun na nga sis! Pero buti na lang di na ko fan ni taylor swift hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I am not into movies Sis, I could barely have time. Thanks for sharing though I might watch this if I got bored

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No problem! Maganda yan panchill, actually yan pinapanuod namin ng Lil B ko kaya sya nakatulog hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahah kapag Mommy na talaga nakakuha lng ng chance to relax kapag tulog si baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago