Movie Recommendation: In the Heights

6 31

030122

Who's up for a movie recommendation? How about we go for a musical? No problem! Here's another movie that I watched when I still have my subscription in HboGO.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I subscribed to HboGo last year. The subscription costs 99 pesos a month but they had a discounted promo of 130 pesos for 3 months. I didn't actually plan to subscribe but one time my mother watched the first movie of Resident Evil and I told her that there are more sequels. I checked Netflix for the sequels but the only have the recent movie and the animated movie. I checked on Google if HboGO has the other Resident Evil movies, says that it is available on HboGo. I went ahead and subscribed for 3 months for the given promo and when I logged in, searched, guess what, it wasn't. So yeah, I ended up having a 3 month subscription. I still took advantage of it, I let my sister log in to my account as well and that's where she watched In The Heights.

She recommended it for me to watch as the songs were written by Lin Manuel Miranda. Did I mention that he also write songs for a few Disney movies like Moana and Encanto. In the Heights is also a musical theatre play first like The Hamilton Musical, and then the director of Crazy Rich Asians adapted it as a movie.

Anyway, here's a trailer if you want to take a look.

Plot

A musical romatic drama movie/play about the residents of a Dominican-American community, Washington Heights just a neighbor city of New York. This movie basically shows how the life of a multi-racial community adapts and shows how they grow together. This movie shows their community is everything and everyone in the community is their family.

Cast & Characters

I took a screenshot of the cast instead.

Lin Manuel Miranda's role wasn't a main character but at least he has an appearance on the movie.

Stephanie Beatriz, the one who voiced Mirabel in Encanto, was also in the movie. I can't believe that she is legally blind.

Dascha Polanco, I've known her when I watched Orange is the New Black.

I can't say much about the other actors but all the cast did great! Pretty much as great as what you expect in a Lin Manuel Miranda play.

I told my sister that he really has a specific songwriting style that you'll notice right away.

Comments

The community is somehow relatable. How? It's a Latin community and this is somehow similar to a Filipino community in a small town or province. That's may be the reason I liked it too.

Well as mentioned earlier, all the actors in the cast did a really great job! I wonder if some of them really performs in theatre. If you love musical plays, I am sure that you will enjoy watching this too. I think RottenTomatoes gave this movie a high rating and for me, I'll give it a 9/10, I strongly suggest this movie. However, if you are not fond of musicals, just try to watch it too, you might appreciate it too.

I haven't watched any movies or TV series lately, but I will try to post something about the other movies and series that I have already watched. Well, some of them are not available on Netflix though.

If you also love watching movies or TV series, what genre do you usually watch? Can you recommend one for me as well? Even if it is not available on Netflix, I can search and download it in torrent. :)

Thanks!

Lead image from unsplash and pictures posted are screenshots from Google.

3
$ 0.59
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nasa netflix ba to madam?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay wit ata sis eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di na ako nakakapanuod ng movie..last movie watched was The Willoughbys

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Animated movie to diba. Yung magkakapatid na ampon ba yern?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the movie recommendation. I'll take a look.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cool! I hope you love it too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago