What type of parent are you?

5 21
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Parenting

Good day to you all.

It’s surely another beautiful day on the earth's surface as another weekend approaches us. Like I always advise us to make sure we spend the best of our time with our families and friends and make sure we create good memories together. Today is all we know, no one knows tomorrow.

Today I would love to talk about parenting.

Yeah, we came from different homes and we surely received different home training which is why you can never compare yourself to others even your best friend. We have our different disciplines giving us that unique experience and character.

I grew up in a beautiful family and received a lot of love from my parents and siblings. I love my mum and so does my father. But I would rather want to be with my mum than to be with my dad because she is way cool and permissive compared to my dad who is well disciplined and never tolerates nonsense.

Both of them are very caring but as children, they have to swing their parenting style to make sure we get the best of home training and discipline. I appreciate them so much for that and I continue to pray to the Almighty to continue keeping them safe in good health, joy, and happiness. Their happiness is our priority.

Taking a good look at the types of parenting I realized that my parents were more of an authoritative type of parent and permissive also.

We have four common types of parenting which are

Authoritative

Permissive

Authoritarian

Neglectful

The Authoritative parents

These types of parents are highly responsive to the needs of their children and also highly demanding. They set clear rules for their children to follow and make sure they communicate with them frequently. Parents in these categories would always try their best to cater to their children's needs and also nurture them with care but they are known to be well disciplined. Children who undergo this type of parenting system would be self-disciplined.

The Permissive parents

These are free-minded parents, they are always highly responsive and communicate with their children granting them the freedom to make decisions on their own instead of giving directions. Permissive parents would go to any extent to make sure they see their kids happy. They hardly set rules for their children to follow, instead, they prefer to play a friendly role rather than parenting. Children under this parenting category would never want to stay far away from their parents because of the intimacy and how simple-minded their parents are.

The Authoritarian parents

These are the strict type of parents, they would always set rules for their children without considering their feelings or emotions. They impose commands and barely listen to feedback from their children. This type of parent is always too disciplined and could be referred to as “tough love”.

The neglectful parents

These are the absent-minded ones. They are always uninvolved with their kids and even careless or provide no care for them. They don’t mind providing any needs for the children and the children lack social and emotional support from their parents. Children under this category always struggle with their issues and also find it difficult to relate with people. They are at times lacking basic needs and have limited engagement with their parents.

These are the four common types of parenting and the type of parent we decide to be to our kids would go a long way in their lifetime. Because parents are the first school of a child and their first love.

Like I said earlier I came from an authoritative parenting home. It did a lot in our lives as it imposed discipline and morals in our lives. But at times parents are bound to change their way of parenting. For example, when a kid is not feeling well, we can be the permissive type of parent and when they require safety, then we can switch to the authoritarian type to keep them safe.

The type of parent we decide to be is not meant to be restricted to just one type but any pattern we see fit for the children then or stage of their life is preferable.

What type of parent brought you up? And which type of parenting would you love to give your children?

To my Sponsors, readers, commenters, tippers, and upvotes maker. I am using this medium to say a big "THANK YOU" to you all. Without you my page is nothing. I appreciate you all. 

©Adeleye

10:35 pm Friday, 21st January 2022.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE 👋 BUT SEE YOU AGAIN

7
$ 4.76
$ 4.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Maryjacy
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 2
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Parenting

Comments

I am not a parent yet, but I think my parents are more of the permissive type. They let us make decisions for ourselves but they also guide us in making those decisions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading the four types I can say my parents belong to Permissive type. They always played a friendly role with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not yet a parent but if I will be in the future, I wanna be the permissive parent and a little bit authorative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have yet to know what kind of parent I'll be but I am scared as a parent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents will always allow you to go on your decision, as far is it's okay , and that's what you want. They don't choose for us , now left for us to make the best choice.

The kind of parents I'll be? Still looking at the future,the only thing permanent in this world is a change...lol But it will be very good to to train our children in the right way became of tomorrow, but the neglectful parents is not encouraging, parents should be there for their children in term of some basic needs and morals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago