My country, My nation

1 19
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Nigeria

Good evening here my Readcash families

Today is another beautiful day on the earth's surface. We wake today again to appreciate our existence and give glory to the source that created life.

Some days back I read a poem by @Olasquare in his article “Move On” which I promised him I would make mine someday. It’s been a long time since I wrote one because I feel it is not just ordinary word combinations but what pours out from one's mind, what one is passionate about, and it’s an art of expressing our thoughts in a few lines and stanzas.

So I was triggered to write a poem after watching a heart-touching poem from a poet and a humanist on YouTube. She had it much more interesting and touching only if poems could speak and touch the heart of people. I was about to shed tears at the end of the video. I would attach the video link at the end of the write-up for those Interested in watching.

My country, My nation

When would the time come again?

A time I would find peace all day…

When would justice reign?

Like the drops of rain…

Would there be peaceful days for us again?

My country, my nation!

We are scared, we are an abomination…

A country of tranquility and equity…

After a few centuries had befallen calamity and anxiety…

Oh, ye!

Who would come to my rescue…

A nation with rules and regulations…

Seeks for your aid!

The cry became louder each year…

But there is no one to hear…

Seems our ears have become deaf…

And our eyes became blind…

To see our nation crying behind…

Gone are the days when our voices aligned…

Days when our minds were kind…

And our hearts were pure…

When are we going to see…

That the tears are turning red…

Our waters are filled with dirt…

And our lands are no longer fertile…

Even our crops are wilting away…

Yet we let our people go astray…

Come sunshine come rain…

Come peace and prosperity…

Our lands are filled with natural resources…

Became like a desert without trees…

Yet we celebrate victory…

Over our past glory…

What we do today…

Would be written down as a story…

And pass on to our generations…

It might just be history…

No one would ever forget…

We all hope for one Nigeria…

A nation where we would wake…

And see love in each other’s eyes…

Where the rich would help the poor…

And there would be no discrimination…

Between the lower and higher classes…

A country that values education…

As it remains the bedrock of our nation…

A country with good governance…

That seeks financial support for the citizens…

A country we would be proud of…

A nation with stable electricity…

A nation strengthened with unity…

With no variation in culture…

Saying no to racism…

And uplifting one another…

No matter the tribe we are…

I hope for the day…

Humanity would find it humane…

And we’d all know that life is a circle…

Which we would all leave someday…

Only if we know our blood is all red…

Then we would just live and love…

Because of love and nothing but love…

Vanity upon vanity, a country with peace became a land of agony and fear, the Nigeria we once knew was a country known to be the giant of Africa. But now it’s kinda no more. It became a country where citizens would prefer to die abroad than their father’s land. Where is the phrase that says “No place like home” ?. We are blessed and endowed with a lot of talented youths but where is the opportunity to explore?. We only see them on social media and give them likes and comments, is that all they need? It’s never too late, the earlier the better, we can surely bring back old times and create a happy country for ourselves.

To my Sponsors, readers, commenters, tippers, and upvotes maker. I am using this medium to say a big "THANK YOU" to you all. Without you my page is nothing. I appreciate you all. 

©Adeleye

11:25 pm Tuesday, 18th January 2022.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE đź‘‹ BUT SEE YOU AGAIN

8
$ 7.25
$ 6.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago
Topics: Nigeria

Comments

This poem truly depict the person's worries and love for his country,how he want to see it as a land of peace. Well done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago