Things I'd Tell My Younger Self

2 27
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Growing up, I have had many regrets in the past. I have a couple of what-ifs and should-haves. I think about my past choices and I try to play scenarios in my mind. 

But part of growing up as well is to let bygones be bygones. Acceptance is key to making strides in life. We cannot continue dwelling in the past. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Yet for the fun of it, suppose I am given a chance to speak with my younger self, what are the things I will discuss with him? A dozen of ideas cross my mind but perhaps I'll focus on the following: 

Save early. 

It doesn't matter how small you start with. Just save. Don't think that your savings have something to do with your salary. It does, but it's all about discipline and tenacity to save. Don't give in when you think you need to buy that phone model. It is not an investment. Focus on your savings instead. Develop the habit. You'll be thankful if you do it very early. 

Invest and buy insurance while you're young. 

I know, sometimes they get too nosy and repetitive, but insurance agents are friends. If you can get insurance while you are young, you'll enjoy the lower premium fees. Think about compounding interest. You have been hearing that in school right? It works wonders, I tell you. So start investing early on. 

Invest in yourself.

Learn about programming, blockchain, cryptocurrency, video editing... because from how I see it, it will be the language of the future. It pays to be ready. Take courses. Learn from the pioneers. Take advantage of your capacity to learn, memorize and process chunks of ideas. When you reach my age, these concepts will be too enormous to digest. You can still study those at my age, but it requires double effort. If you want a greater advantage at my age, start investing in yourself.

Excel on what you love doing. 

This may sound harsh but no, I want you to do the things you're passionate about. We both know it's writing. But you can't be a good writer if you will not discipline yourself in writing. Minimize your mobile and computer games. Quit texting and chasing those girls. Develop your writing platform. Excel on it. Improve your writing voice. So when your writing break comes, you're more than ready to soar. Don't be a jack of all trades and a master of none. I know you also have "smaller passions". You are free to enjoy those but excel on what you really love - writing. I'll wait for you at your book signing!

Do not neglect your spiritual growth. 

Don't forget to nourish your soul and spirit. Master the Word. Be obedient to it. Learn from it. Do not neglect your spiritual growth. You will face a lot of challenges along the way. You will stumble, you will make stupid mistakes. But do not stray too far from the Lord. He is all You've got. And oh, sorry to burst your bubble, but after you finished college, that second course you thought you'd finish? There was a change of plan and direction. But it wasn't your fault. It was a spiritual redirection. You entered Bible school instead. So my advice is this - finish it as early as you can. It will be a great help for your writing and personal ministry. 

Bonus:

Watch out for Bitcoin at its onset. Then wait for Bitcoin Cash. You're up for a ride!

As soon as you hear about Bitcoin and cryptocurrency, don't hesitate to study them and invest in them. It was 2014 when you began your Bitcoin journey but you had your doubts then. You let an opportunity pass. Well, we have saved a few satoshis, in fairness. But I have something better to tell you: wait for the fork - save Bitcoin - and your private keys!, and watch out for Bitcoin Cash. I tell you, you're up for a ride! 

Read my other blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock! 

3
$ 6.75
$ 6.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If I had something to tell my past self, tho I’m not that old yet, I’d tell myself to take it easy and I don’t have to figure out everything all at once. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup! Enjoy her youth, kamo :) 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago