Money Doesn't Grow on Trees: Financial Values I Live By

8 41
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

As a child, I have read in various stories that money doesn't grow on trees. Of course, they don't! Even a child knows about that! Until I grew up, graduated, and learned a bit about financial management and accounting, still, authors and financial gurus are keen on reminding people that money doesn't grow on trees. 

As an employee trying to earn a living and facing the realities of life, I now realize what those words meant. Money is elusive. You need to work hard for it, search for it and grow it. It doesn't magically appear on our pockets just because we wish for it. 

It is even said that money is a good slave but a terrible boss. It can either make you or break you. Relationships are either forged to strength or forced to break because of money. In fact, financial problems remain to be the number one cause of disagreements in marriage. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

As the family's breadwinner, I have learned financial lessons over the years. I would like to share some in this blog.

The Value of Saving

During this pandemic, I am very much thankful for the wisdom and discipline God has given me to save pre-pandemic. I have this habit of putting coins on my piggy bank to challenge myself. I have piggy banks for 1-Peso, 5-Peso, and 10-Peso coins. I get excited every time I try to carry my piggy banks as they accumulate weight. I also have a savings envelope for 50-Peso and 200-Peso bills as a personal challenge. I have learned that in social media. The challenge is to save every 50-Peso and 200-Peso you receive and treat them as non-existent, or as an outright expense. But whatever or however you want to save, the bottom line is to "save for the rainy days". My coins and savings helped us through during our financial emergencies.

The Value of Restraint

This is about making unnecessary purchases. I have learned to think twice or even more times than usual before making major purchases. There was a time before buying a new cellphone, I even list the pros and cons of acquiring it, my budget, and the reviews available in the market for the said product. I do this in order not to make a rushed decision and regret it later. I even follow this rule: if you really want to buy it, try to at least have a week to think it through. If the desire intensifies, and the need is justified, buy it. If you forget your desire and the urge subsides, you really don't need it. Restrain yourself. Don't buy on impulse. But I have a confession to make. When it comes to books, I find it hard not to be impulsive. 

The Value of Return on Investment

I have this principle that everything I spend my money on must return in some way. When it comes to essentials, of course, its return is in the form of sustenance and healthy life. But some purchases have to add value: when I buy a new laptop, it needs to bring in profit. I have to use it for business or side hustles; when I buy a new phone, I need to use it to increase my reach on my website or my social media pages. Its utility value has to be maximized. Even when I go to movies, in addition to enjoying the film, I try to write a blog out of it so my disbursement will be converted to website traffic. It may sound too rigid and not-so-fun, but I find joy doing it. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I still have other things to add to the list such as the value of giving and tithing, budgeting skills, investing in yourself, and making personal financial ledgers but I guess it calls for a separate blog post. For now, what I want to leave you is that it doesn't matter how much we earn, what matters is how we treat the money that comes in and out of our pockets. I'm not rich, and I don't have an outstanding portfolio either. But the things I've mentioned helped me and are continually helping me to enjoy every bit of blessing that goes into my lap. 

And I hope that someday, I will become financially free to be able to bless others as well. Money doesn't grow on trees. It grows on teachable and capable hands. 

Read my other blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

4
$ 2.57
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @lagrapefruit
$ 0.03 from @meitanteikudo
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I was just thinking about writing something similar to this, but then I saw this article I was just "Nah, I can't do anything better than this" so poof, I'll let that topic go. Hehe After all, how could I write something about saving if I can't even save money on my own. LOL

Thank you for this article though. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe writing about it works both as a personal challenge and as a reminder :) Thank you, buddy!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha it really does, doesn't it? I am still trying to find the most efficient and the most suited way of saving for me. I tried the 50's challenge, the coins challenge, the 200s and still, they're all gone. :D I also tried the 52 week challenge, and I failed miserably. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. What I do is:

  • I do not keep my savings ATM with me, so I will not be tempted to withdraw anytime.
  • I leave my coinbanks in the office so it is not always easily accessible. Also, it is embarrassing to "withdraw" from it while I'm in the office
  • I use the envelope system once I get my funds. Allocate them right away! Hehe

But to be honest, it's a constant emotional battle. It's not easy especially because of ahem e-shopping apps ahem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol I already uninstalled those eshopping apps. I've been shopeeholic , luckily I am now able to control the urge.

I also don't bring along that many cash in me, first I don't have any cash haha and it prevents me from impulse buying. Hopefully this year may be the year that I can effectively save.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha love the term - shopeeholic :) hopefully, we'll both be able to save this year. Especially since our economic situation calls for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I even follow this rule: if you really want to buy it, try to at least have a week to think it through. If the desire intensifies, and the need is justified, buy it.

I guess this would be helpful to me as well. Nowadays, I can't help myself from buying things. It's like I'm possessed when I'm on an online shopping app, and that's odd because I'm a very thrifty person. They even call me 'kuripot'. But now, I've become a victim of impulse buying.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hehe. It's better to be called kuripot than waldas :) But it's OK to treat yourself from time to time as a reward for hardwork :)

Haha regarding shopping apps - I hide them in app folders so I don't see them often when I open my phone. Then off notifications haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago