Picking Up Life Lessons from A Kid's Animated Movie

0 24
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Today is Sunday, a time for Sabbath, and I scheduled nothing but to relax and replenish my strength for another week of work, readings, meetings, and sorting things out. After lunch, I took a nap, and when I woke up, I was thinking of something relaxing to do - and so I decided to watch Shrek. I've been wanting to watch this animated movie and now that I have nothing else to do, I gave in. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

The movie is fun to watch. It was loaded with witty banters. It's cool funny the movie made fun of classic kids' tales and stories like the Three Blind Mice, Three Little Pigs, Snow White, and Cinderella, among others. 

But the movie is not just all jokes and non-sense. It offers some positive notes for the kids and adults to learn from. Yes, presenting life lessons taken from Shrek:

A trusted companion will help you get through life

Shrek is an ogre that is feared and hated by the citizens. People want to get rid of him because of his fearsome, ugly features. Because of this, Shrek decided to shut himself from the world. No one would love a scary ogre, right? But his isolation from everyone caused him to be grumpy and distrustful. Until Donkey came. Donkey patiently helped Shrek to be trusting again, to come out of his "box" and be connected with others once more. 

Sure, Shrek can do things on his own, but wouldn't life be miserable all alone? We all need someone like Donkey who will cause us to laugh, to chill out, to make us realize what we really need, and who we really are. We all need a trusted companion to help us get through life. Don't isolate yourself. Open up!

People come in layers so be patient with them

It's a funny exchange between Donkey and Shrek. Shrek said that he is like an onion, to which Donkey replied: "because you stink?", "because you make people cry?". But what Shrek meant was that he has layers. Which I agree. People have layers. We can't easily get through the core of a person, we have to peel them off layer by layer before we get to understand and know them in full.

This is why we need to be patient with them. Donkey has been very patient with Shrek and later turned the latter into a trusting, funny, and conversant guy. We too, if we become patient with people, we can also help them get through their layers and be their true, comfortable self. 

If you want to be accepted, accept yourself first

Princess Fiona was hesitant that Shrek might not love her for who she really is - an ugly, ogre-like princess at night but turns into a beautiful lady during daytime. She thinks that a princess needs to be beautiful, and only a true love's kiss will make her beautiful. When Shrek discovered her secret, he wasn't appalled. They shared a kiss, but she didn't turn into a beautiful princess. She remained an ugly ogre. "I don't understand. I should be beautiful!" Fiona said. "But you are beautiful", replied Shrek.

Princess Fiona was not happy because she can't accept the truth in her personality. It took an ogre to make her understand that true love goes beyond physical appearance. It's about the connection. What Fiona needs is not just to be rescued from the Dragon and captivity, but to be rescued from her inhibitions. 

Wow. It's amazing how a kids' animated movie such as Shrek can give such an emotional punch. How about you, have you watched any animated shows like Shrek, lately? Share your thoughts below in the comments.

Read my other BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you visit me! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

2
$ 6.75
$ 6.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments