Look Back To Where You Started

14 23
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

One time, I was reading comments on Facebook about my favorite childhood game. A certain game developer is planning to reintroduce that game on new platforms and modernize its gameplay. One commenter said that he misses the old interface, the old gameplay, and the "feel". I know he's just expressing his nostalgia because, like him, I loved the game so much. But other commenters became too harsh with him, shutting him down and invalidating his opinion. They're basically telling the guy to live inside the box if he doesn't want to "move forward". It was a sad episode of gatekeeping and disrespectful discourse. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I have my share of stories from the past. But I am also glad that I am an active participant in modern technology and lifestyle. I belong to the sandwich generation - one where no smartphones. social media and wifi, and the other generation that enjoys it full well. Both have good and bad sides. 

On this blog, I'd like to share my musings on why sometimes we have to refer to our past and relive its stories. 

Revisit your life lessons

George Santayana once said, “those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” We have countless lessons learned from various seasons of our life. Our teachers left us an impact. Our first heartbreak, our first job rejection, the first time we were involved in a fistfight - these stories left us with remarkable stories that made us into who we are now. It is beneficial to revisit these lessons for reference. As they say, experience is the best teacher. 

Rekindle old friendships

As we grow old, we often outgrow our friends. Why not check out on them and catch up when possible? I do this whenever I have a chance. We share stories, we discuss our childhood, we talk about the things we used to do and laugh for old times' sake. Even when most of my childhood friends are already married, rekindling friendship is beneficial because it connects you to the people who once became a part of your foundational years. We used to sing in youth group, "make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold!" Don't forget your friends!

Do stuff you once enjoyed doing

From time to time, do the things that you used to enjoy doing. Play your favorite childhood game, if possible. Read comics or novels you once read while you were young, Rewatch your favorite childhood movie. Whatever it takes to connect to your inner child. In doing so, you will feel young and energetic, and it can be a good way to at least detach from your worries once in a while. George Bernard Shaw said, "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." Enjoy life!

Final Thoughts

Sometimes we get too focused on the future that we forget that the past is equally important. Do not despise humble beginnings. You are where you are now because, at one point in your life, you decided to take that first step and pushed through. 

Read my other BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you visit me! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

4
$ 10.97
$ 10.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 2
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Masarap kaya balikan ang mga experiences noon. Sa tuwing nagkikita kami ng mga high school friends ko, palagi naming nababalikan ang mga memories namin.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nga. Madalas na usapan - sino na ba ang may pamilya na? At sino ang asawa nino? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madalas din pinag-uusapan ang mga dating love team sa klase.😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nga. Tapos kapag nagkita-kita, "naging crush ko talaga to dati?" lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bukingan na ng mga crushes eh😅😅😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga feels 'pag sulat ng isang manunulat 🤭🌼🌼🌼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you. Wait mo yung melkti, borger at prays 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed.. same tau, sandwich generation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Batang 90s unite! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahaha apir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I resonate with your post. I do this all the time with my friends. We ask each other "do you remember when..." and it is good to remember those things we did in our childhood.

If you want to do things that might be outdated today why not do it. Nothing wrong with it. I miss my old games too. It does not mean I don't follow the latest technology.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for taking time to read 😊 Playing old games is a form of destressing. I play the old Resident Evil games once in a while. Thank God for emulators :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved Resident Evil the old one on PS1. That was fantastic. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed! The jumpscares and the puzzles and the boss fights!

$ 0.00
2 years ago