Don't Let Your Dreams Die

6 22
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Your dreams don't have to die as you grow old. It can be delayed, but don't let it die a slow, excruciating death. Fight for your dreams, work for it, work on it. Though it may hurt you and make you uncomfortable in the process, as long as your dreams are important to you, seize them as if your life depends on them.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

When I was younger, our family is often regarded as low class and insignificant by our relatives. We were often mocked and even the desire of my parents to give me and my younger brother the best education they can give, while they provide for our needs are often met with ridicule. Why do we have to go to school, they ask. It would be better if we'll go straight to work because we'll never do good anyway. We'll end up having our own families even. I realized that the worst criticisms often come from your relatives whom we thought will be the first people to care. 

These words I used as motivation to keep moving forward. I did not harbor resentment, I forgave them, and gave everything to the Lord. Instead of sulking, I moved on, because I have the following reasons: 

Criticisms don't define you

Should I believed and dwelt on their words about me and my family, my life would have been miserable. I would just anchor my life on a lie, something without basis. They say that we become the lie we believe. So if I think the criticisms people throw at me are not valid, why should I let them consume the best of me? I'd rather glean the truth and valid points they have, and disregard the unhelpful comments. I am not who they think I am. I am more than that. 

My dreams weigh more importance

When I say it carries more weight, I mean that I should focus on building myself rather than let people tear me down. People's harsh comments and destructive criticisms can be compared to bright neon lights on a busy highway. It tries to get your attention, albeit in a negative way, and if you are not careful, might derail or delay you. Our dreams are more important than these distractions. Focus on reaching your goals more than your bashers

Empty cans make the loudest noise

One thing to remember is when words are plenty, they probably have more idle time to spare. Goal-oriented people are so busy working towards their dream to have time for idleness. Just keep on pushing forward, and let the results do the talking for you. There's a proverb in the Bible that says even a fool is seen as wise when he shuts his mouth. Also, the Bible is not so fond of busybodies and idle chatters. So the next time you hear too many destructive comments, think of them as empty cans. 

Final Thoughts

Take charge of your future. Don't let people and their accusations and baseless criticisms invalidate your pursuit of dreams. You are more than what they say against you. Suit up, move forward. Don't let your dreams die. 

Read my other BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you visit me! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

5
$ 18.13
$ 17.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I really like what you've said about our dreams that don't have to die as we grow old. Yes, it may be delayed, as some successful people became what they are around the '30s to '40s. So many factors and hindrances but what's important is that we keep on going and fighting for it. Who knows how the universe works for our dreams and life. Great article, thanks for the insights.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad that this post resonated with you :) Yup, delays don't mean denials. Perhaps these stop overs are preparations in disguise :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

second article I read tonight that has to do something with the criticisms coming from their relatives. haha. but then, you're right, let us be forgiving, pray for them and let the Lord handle it. also, look where you are now! definitely far from what they are talking from before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pero wala pa naman akong nararating, nasa Marikina pa rin ako lol. Yup! Their words don't define me. I am who God says I am :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha asarrr. Pero di na ba sila basher ngayon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman na. Or di na lang pinapansin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago