How About Online Selling?

51 55
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Before the pandemic came, I tried my luck in online selling with high hopes of being successful. My urge to be an online seller rose up because of my friends who are progressing well with the business. I saw them post their proof of earnings and how their products are sold like hotcakes. They are also good in promoting their products which can really make the customer love and buy them. I think the way they edited and presented the items online contributed much to the sales.

I also wrote about my friends who have an online business that's growing. To some who were not able to read it, you can read here. My friends made me realize that doing business can really uplift you financially only if you know how to work smart. Working hard is not enough if we don't also work smart. Having business may it be online or in physical stores is not just a piece of cake. We need to invest financially of course. We need to learn and study the techniques on how to make it grow. Lastly, we need to be smart in handling money and this is the talent that I don't have for I like to spend money on food. Yes! Before, when I was still at work, I seldom bought things for myself because I will always prioritize foods because why not? If we don't eat what we want, we will be demotivated and the cravings will still not go away. So it's better to spoil ourselves with food we crave.

So that's it. I'm not good in handling money so I guess that's the reason why my attempt in online selling was not successful.

My first attempt was selling preloved denim shorts. That time, teenagers in our place are fond of wearing denim shorts especially the ripped ones. I have also seen on Facebook a lot of sellers selling those and they were sold in just a day. Because of that, I searched for a supplier whose items are of good quality with friendly price. Luckily I found one and she did not let me pay for the denim shorts. She allowed me to pick as many shorts as I want and when I will be able to sell them all, that's the time I go back to her and pay. One thing that's nice is that whenever there will be unsold ones, I can return them without paying. It was a nice offer so I accepted it. By the way the price of each short was 70 php or $1.40 and I will sell each for at least 100 - 120 php or $2.00 to 2.40 depending on its quality.

So there I tried posting the denim shorts online and tried to do all the editing but then my phone's camera was not that good unlike those my friends used. As much as I adjust the lighting, still the photos aren't that nice as the actual. I had no choice so I still posted them. There are a lot who commented on the post and inquire for the price and bought them. I was also able to sell some of the items especially the ones with smaller sizes. I think I sold almost half the number of the items online and the rest, I displayed them outside our house. I was able to sell much and if I still can remember it right, there were only 5 pieces left which I returned to the supplier. It was not easy since I need to be online as much as I can so I can respond to the inquiries. I also need to do good sales talk which I think I am not really good at. I don't like my customers to expect much of the products so I will tell them honestly what I think about them.

I had a good profit in selling those denim shorts but then my profit was gone swiftly because I keep on spending with foods and skin care (I want my skin to lighten up 🤣). After that, I haven't tried selling denim shorts again.

The next one was selling AVON and Personal Collection products. I thought the profit for these items are great since the one who oriented us made a good profit for he had his own branch unlike us who are just resellers. The profit also came so slow since the customers are given one month to pay for the items. Still, I tried because I loved seeing the products displayed at home. I posted them online as well but they were not sold as much as the denim shorts because there were a lot of resellers of the same products I was selling. As a result, I was the one who purchased all the products and left them for home use.

Screenshot from my post on Facebook

In my third attempt, I also tried to sell trendy tops which became a hit as well. The tops were nice that's why they were all sold. But just like the denim shorts, my profits were not used properly again so I was not able to roll the business.

Screenshot from my post on Facebook

Conclusion

I realized that what I lack is the proper handling of money. I was young back then and my interest in selling was just influenced by shallow reasons. I also did not value the importance of savings because I thought money is easy to find. Now that I became matured, I am now struggling how to be financially viable so I plan again on investing for business. They said, your children can't inherit your profession. It's good to have own business for they can have it and continue it.

For now, all I need to learn is how to handle money properly.

Have you also tried online selling?


Thank you so much guys for reading! You've been so kind to me since day one.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much again for your time! To my generous sponsors, upvoters and to those who comment, I am sending you my warmest gratitude! Let's talk and get to know each other well.

All photos are from Unsplash.com not unless stated.

Ciao! ❤️

16
$ 6.60
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Nag try ako ng online selling dati pero nag stop din ako later on hahaha. Feeling ko kasi di ko talag forte yung ganun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe marami pala tayo mamsh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a great way of business with many benifits. Becahse there is no need any kind of store for online selling just a page on a social sites and a website if interested. And for home delivery there is needed some deliveryboy. If these can be overcomed then online selling is a best way for business.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that's why we need to learn more about business first before doing such. Thanks for dropping by. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are most welcome to visit my profile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that is really awesome. Thank you dear for you new help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure ☺️💚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you have learned a lot of from that and have improved in your skills especially marketing your products. That is a great experience. You can build on that as you further on your path. I haven't tried online selling. I did a lot of online buying though lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay sanaol maraming pera pang online buying hehe! Pm ko kayo pag may paninda akom charot. Yes, I learned a lot from my experience. Tsaka next time, I will really spend the money I earn in investing another business para naman lumago yung pera. Kasi pag hawak ko lang, natetempt ako hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we're moving in digital world online seeling has huge potential and scope

I'm also trying to learn amazon completely but their courses costs too much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow amazon is such a big market. Hoping for your success there! 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap nmn na kasi mag online selling ngayon kasi halos lahat na nag online selling agawan na nang customer haha minsan wala na talaga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Korek pero nasa marketing parin yan at tsaka sa ganda ng camera 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wah, yan ang ayaw na ayaw ko nahihiya ako mag post huehue. I mean, wala akong alam talaga sa ganyan kaya ams prefer ko talaga sa office lang ee huehue. Anyways, kung dati ay naalam kang humawak ng pera for sure tuloy tuloy pa sana till now ang online selling mo ano. Pero okay lang yan, mahalaga'y may read.cash tayi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako rin. Po ms. Ruffa mas bet ko nasa office lang. Pero nagtry lang ako kung kaya ko hehehe! Need ko pa magpractice kung paano humawak ng pera. Korek, bsta nandito c read malaking tulong na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plan ko din mag online selling Sis, isa sa reason kung bakit tinatago ko yung mga pantalon na di ko na ginagamit. Malaki kasi talaga ang kita basta tyaga lang Then about dun sa PC products, naka try din ako, at ang daming umuutang, halos nahihirapan kaming maningil. hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try mo na sis pag okay na ang lahat. Kaya nga eh, mahirap e rolling kasi matagal makita yung tubo. Maganda lang yan kung may branch kana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis naka try na mag online selling mga damit haha at mga liptint pabangov😊 kaso hindi ko napatuloy hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bakit naman, sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinamad mga supplier ko. Tapos ang tagal pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nako tama kung mismo supplier tinamad ikaw rin mismo na reseller mayayamot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

have not tried selling online... but i have friends who do and they are good at marketing their products !

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakaka engganyo diba po? Makita mga friends mo na successful sa online business

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag try ako mag online selling mahirap siya gawin kahit sa post palang, ta pipicturan mo pa. 🤧 Same sis hindi rin ako marunong humawak ng pera, ginagastos korin sa pagkain saka sa kahitvna ano hahaha. Pero ngayon gusto konarin makaipon. Huhu🤧

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Diba? Sa pagpicture pa lang nahirapan na tayo eh. Hehe! Food is life nga naman. Makakaipon ka rin sis, tayo. Soon hehehe! Wag na muna mag crave2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wa jud koy talent anang pamaligya mem. Dili man ko kamao mu-salestalk uy.haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao lge hasta bja ko heheh! Maong wako mipadajon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooahhh, napaka business minded mo po ateee, I'm starting to think of a starting business din po. Maybe online selling too. Kaso po sobrang dami ng seller. Iisip po muna ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di nga ako marunong humawak ng pera eh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Started an online selling group in 2010 that assists both sellers/buyers and also started selling online prior to that 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! How nice naman po. How did it go?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayos naman, sis. i actually had a post about it. most of those who my husbad and i's mentored were doing great now in lazada and shopee :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman. Good job! Di ko pa nabasa eh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was just planning to start my pre loved business, anyways it's good atleast you tried, I tried also selling online my home baked banana bread last year when the pandemic started, but I stopped cause it's not going well and I think I'm also lacking on handling money and also time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow I love banana bread 🥺 haha same pala tayo eh, practice muna tayo pano humawak ng pera

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truee madamm hirap mag manage eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wapa Jud mem Kay kahibaw Jud Kong mapuhok Kay dli ko business minded. Pero karun mem gusto Kay ko my invest of business dli Lang ko kahibaw unsaon pag start ug UNsay maayu na business

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Mapuhok jod mem samot nag foods ibaligja. Gajod mem ako pod ganahan na mag invest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unsa kahay maayu invest no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud mem. Ngita pod bitaw ko uy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried on selling too! Last year when the pandemic started. I agree that it is not easy. Lalo na last year, maraming ka kompetensya, hindi madali makabenta. Pag makabenta ka man dapat magaling ka rin humawak ng pera. Kasi kung hindi, di ka rin uunlad e.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Korek. Hehe! So may plano ka rin magtry ulit? Nice to meet you pala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon wala muna, feeling ko kasi mas mahirap maka hanap ng customers ngayon lahat na nagbebenta hahaha salamat pala ah! Nakita ko yun 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa bagay. Walang anuman 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Online selling is only successful for those people who are clever in dealing with businesses. Still, you did well enough.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely, and I must be clever enough before I enter business again. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ukay ukay na lageeee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao lge tag 500 ta para makapalit tag 1 bale na ukay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lets goooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pangita supplier mamsh bi

$ 0.00
2 years ago