I Made A Decision That I Will Never Forget.

5 103
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

A great decision leads to a great path.

In life, we just need to seek for right paths for us to succeed in life. Thus, we couldn't predict what will happen in the future.

Lately, I had attended a meet-and-greet meeting with my classmates. The meeting was not-so-formal so we somehow experienced unorganized talks and whisperings around the meeting. However, I had fun meeting them all, and hearing their response towards me. I have become soft as I heard their impressions about me. Some of my classmates already know me when we were in Junior High School, and I was shocked by this.

The purpose of the meeting was to nominate for the class position. Thus, we just pointing at each other for the positions and the election was unsuccessful so we just postponed it. A few moments ago, they had decided to change the type of elections. They changed it to online voting using google form and it successfully moves around the class. As the election moves around the class, I feel so nervous and the reason for this was so illustrated through my face.

I feel so nervous because my classmates want me to be our president and lead the class. Leading is not new to me, to be honest. I lead some contests and art activities and we won at it. I lead roleplays, musical play, and group activities before and they became successful. This is not to boast. I mean, I know what I can do and I know my limits. But being a president of the class is not a joke to me. Being a president is such a serious spot. Being a president is such a big responsibility to consider, and I think a more deserving person than me must get that spot.

After that day, Tuesday, just the other day, the results came. I was so nervous on that day and I can't help but think about that election. I fell asleep that morning, and as I woke up around 2 pm, many congratulations have been springing up as I check my Facebook messenger application. They congratulate me because I won the nomination. The results state that I am the president of our block. Unfortunately, I refuse the position of being the president of our class.

I need to refuse it for a good reason. I refuse it for the future of the class. I didn't know what challenges await me if I become the president. I didn't know what problem awaits me if I would take the position. I am not sure the world I am taking if I would enter that position. Before that, I am thinking about the elections and it is already causing me some stress, what more if I take the presidential seat.

Another thing is my mental health. I'm still mentally unstable and I must prioritize myself first before I prioritize others'. I must lead myself first before I lead a class. I made a decision that I will never forget and regret. I refuse the position for good.

And just like what ate @immaryandmerry said in her article Saying no isn't a waste of opportunity,

"As what it means, opportunities should be a chance for greater success. I have looked for its other meaning and it says that opportunity is a favorable situation for a positive outcome. So we should only grab opportunities that are favorable for us and give us a positive outcome."

I stand by her statement. I open this topic to her. I ask some tips about my current situation. She said that if it's not favorable to me, I should not accept it. After I heard those words in my mind, I felt some relief. A relief of mind that even my heart lessens its worries. I have decided to open this topic to her because she is the president in her block and I know that she already knows how to lead a group since she has the experience of being a president since her lower years.

I learned a lot from this experience. It leads me the way to plan even more. Ate @immaryandmerry already knows what I wanted to say even though I am not stating it all to her because she understands me. And I would like to thank her for that.

Until now, I still don't know the challenges and things I might encounter soon but I can already say that I'm excited about college. Challenge yourself is not bad but if you haven't felt it for yourself, then refuse it because it couldn't give us a positive outcome. I still don't know the journey I am taking right now but being an artist-teacher is now my top priority. I will focus on that first and I don't want to stress myself on things I see as a stressor. I'm looking forward to more good things happening.

Padayon, Future Teachers.

You can read my previous articles here:

Words Are Meant To Be Heard.

Reminiscing The Month Of July, And Welcoming August.

May Pinagsisisihan Ka Ba?; Ang Dalawang Uri ng Pagsisisi.

When I was a kid, I had a dream.

Me, as a Fan of Wonderful Things.

10
$ 8.63
$ 8.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.06 from @Mr_Trenzs
+ 1
Sponsors of Maestro02
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maestro02
2 years ago

Comments

We're on the same boat. mentally unstable. Hahaha. I became the class president of our senior high school tho it is nothing compared to college. Btw, you made the best decision! Put yourself as your priority. You can't help other people if you can't even help yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like what I said to you before, unahin mo muna sarili mo. Kapag feel mo na, then go. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

late ko na nabasa pero wala 'yon! also, you don't need to say much for me to understand what's running into your mind. been there. LOL

glad that you're still part of the class officer. that way, you can still lead without taking all the pressure. it was brave of you to say no and I'm proud of you for saying no and prioritizing yourself. you did well! hoping for the best to all of us this semester. padayon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama naman si Marygoround, buti din nga sya at nahindian nya ung sa kanya ee. Buti naka tanggi ka bata, maiba din yang ppilitin mo lang ang sariki mo dahil un ang gusto ng marami. Buti ginamit mo voice mo to say no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate na-irefuse ko po yung position kasi hindi ko po talaga kaya. Though kumuha pa din ako ng position pero hindi kagaya ng president na pinakamataas, may responsibility pa din po ako pero ang goal ko lang is for leadership at hindi yung pinakamataas na title kasi alam ko pong mahihirapan lang ako dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago