Saying no isn't a waste of opportunity

33 78

Merriam Webster defines opportunity as a chance for greater success. And yes, I do agree with that. Opportunities are present for us to do more and to achieve more. That was probably the reason why most of us have the mindset to grab every opportunity that will come to our life.

But there will come a time that we will be torn between grabbing and not grabbing an opportunity. Of course, when another opportunity opens, the first reaction should is that it's a blessing and we shouldn't think twice about getting it.

However, I also do believe that the mindset to grab every opportunity is not applicable every time. We will always reach some certain point wherein we have to say no and to decline to an opportunity, and it's completely okay.

Today, I just want us to focus on this thing, "Saying no isn't a waste of opportunity."

To make this more realistic, I have this very application to share to all of you.

Actually, most of my friends already know this and I have already shared it to my noise.cash account but here's how it goes.

Few weeks ago, a senior of mine messaged me and asked me to run as the Vice Governor for the student council. I asked her why and she said that she's seeing potential in me. Of course that's flattering, I almost said yes instantly but at that time, I am really busy with the student organization that I am part of. Also, I'm already a block president so I already have some responsibility and I'm also not sure if I can still handle another responsibility.

But since the offer is nice and it's really a nice training ground for me, I didn't decline right away. I'm 50-50 on my decision. I asked around about what to do and I am thankful about the support from the people around me.

I did weight the pros and cons if ever that I will agree and I decided that if ever that I'll win, I'll just give up my position as the block president to lessen the responsibility. Sounds like a nice plan but still, I am undecided at that time.

2 days after, I am being asked about my decision and I end up saying no. That was such a relief for me. That is also the first time that I said no and I'm not regretting my decision.

It was a nice offer but I just think that if I push through with it, the responsibilities will be too heavy for me for I also have some responsibilities at home.

Here's another real life example I can give to you.

Few nights ago, I received a message from @Maestro02. He's an incoming freshman student at my university. I asked him why and he told me that his block mates voted for him to be the block president.

He's also having trouble between saying yes or no and he asked about my opinion about some responsibilities of a block president since I am one myself.

We had a nice conversation and in the end, I advised him that it's okay to say no if he think he can't handle it. That was also the time when I realized that saying no isn't a wasted opportunity. No, by declining an offer we are not wasting opportunity.


Based on the examples I have said, I have this one realization that yes, opportunities are nice but we should also know when to grab them and when to decline them.

First, as to what it means, opportunities should be a chance for greater success. I have looked for its other meaning and it says that opportunity is a favorable situation for a positive outcome. So we should only grab opportunities that is favorable for us and would give us positive outcome.

Second, we should not grab opportunity if we think it's outcome won't be positive for us. Opportunities aren't to be grab if it won't make us greater.

Now, for the assessment, I was thinking, if I have accepted the offer to run for the student council and if ever that I'll win. I'll have more responsibilities and for that, I have to sacrifice the time for myself. I'll have lesser time for my other tasks and that can result for my poor performance academically. Yes, it was a nice offer but I already have too much on my plate and I'm glad I realized that I'll be the one to suffer if I get too much on what I can chew.

So yeah, I started writing this having a clear point but I just reached the point where I forgot what I have to say. LOL. I don't know if I'm still making any sense but to wrap it up, let me repeat this phrase that "no, it's not a wasted opportunity."

Let's be smart between choosing between things. Think through every decision and accept the fact that not every opportunity is should be grab since not every opportunity is good for us.

Be careful on your every decisions and always weight out the pros and cons before actually deciding on a certain matter. And if ever that you'll come up with a decision of saying no, for the nth time, it's okay.

You can say no, you can decline an offer. You might feel like you're wasting an opportunity but no, you're not. Just walk a little but further and there awaits another door of opportunity that is waiting for you. And maybe that time, it's the right one, the exact opportunity that we should grab.


Hey there folks! Thanks for reading this far and I hope I made some sense to you and I also hope that I also reach the right audience that is in need of some words in this article.

I appreciate you being here. Take care! :)

No. 117, Published: 12, August 2021

20
$ 15.65
$ 13.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @VoluntaryJapan
$ 0.20 from @Meyzee
+ 14
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Madalang lang din talaga akong magsabi ng no lalo na kapag someone wants to appoint me as a leader or someone na magli-lead sa isang pact. I do always say yes kasi for me, mas nakaka-pressure na maging member lang. Siguro one factor na din na nasanay ako way back in HS? But, kung ia-appoint ako as mas higher pa sa group leader? I will weigh it, so much. Kasi iba na responsibilities 'dun eh. Mas mabigat na. And, I can sense it sa paparating na election for the representatives sa org na sinalihan ko. Lalo na at iba din tingin sa akin 'nung mga blockmates ko na kesyo magaling daw, matalino. Pero syempre, weigh ko muna. And, kung 'di talaga kayang pagsabayin sa mga responsibilities as a daughter, Ate, and student? NO muna siguro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako kasi, as a daughter, as a sibling, as an aunt, as the pres, as the council member, as the org member, as a cell leader, as a servant of Christ, at madami pang iba... pero nevermind hahaha. True, we should weight first the pros and cons before we make a decision. Pag hindi makaksama sa atin ode go, pero pag hindi na maganda, pass muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are times that we need to say no, if we can't perform better, a lot of times that I experienced the same situation and I've realized in the end I was not wrong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mostly people want to say no but due to lack of confidence they can’t say no. And in mostly cases just because for the respect of a person people can’t say no.

But yeah we need to learn this phenomenon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama di lahat ng bagay YES na agad. Wise is better than being smart. Yun nga eh di lahat ng graduate sa kolehiyo nagiging successful nasa pagka wise talaga ng Tao yan kahit di cya graduate Kung wise siya for sure good opportunity will come to his/her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

also, we can create opportunities for ourselves. as long as continue to work hard, opportunities will come too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Tita! Medyo napaisip pa ulit ako nitong araw hanggang sa dumating na yung results. Nasa latest article ko po yung pinakanaging sagot. Well, hindi po ako nagregret na ginawa ko yung decision na iyon. 🥺

Salamat po ulit!🤍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

proud ako sayo! haha. eto na pasukan na, we got this! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ate kapag ayaw ko, no agad. However, may times na nagiging biggest regrets ko yon and gladly, di pa ako naboboto na elector sa school. Ginagawa pa nga akong lead role sa room eh kahit wala akong potential to act on crowd. Kaya minsan yung saying no is okay but at the same time, not nice hehe. Active lang ako magcomment every gabj kasi don lang siya gumagana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha. depende din talaga sa atin. I admire you guys by knowing your limits about when to say no. naging matic nalang kasi sakin yung pag oo sa lahat, diko namamalayan nakalimutan ko na kung paano tumanggi. kaya eto, magtututo na nga ako mag no. ang sarap din naman pala sa feeling ng pagtanggi hahahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's learn the act of saying no. If we don't feel like it then, disagree. let us choose our peace and have it in mind that great opportunities are coming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed! for now, I have to normalize saying no. I have been too used by just saying yes with everything because why not? but then, I also realize that there's nothing wrong with saying no so yeah, I gotta practice this one. I gotta learn how to say no. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, choose yourself over anything else. We have to prioritize our own peace

$ 0.05
2 years ago

no need to say yes all he time xd. basta ako no agad pagf ayaw xd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala sana all kaya yun ahahahaha. paseminar nga po kung paano tumanggi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sa tips mare hahah pansin ko kase sa sarili ko mahilig akong mag yes eh. Haha kaya minsan pinoproblema ko pa yung mga bagay na di naman dapat problemahin haha kaka yes kase .😅❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mare same! odiba, nakarelate ka. ako din kasi ganyan, hindi marunong tumanggi. feeling may superpowers na kinakaya lahat kahit pwede nga naman pala na hindi naman natin kayanin. we're not required to do everything. let's give ourselves a break! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"So we should only grab opportunities that is favorable for us and would give us positive outcome". Yes, you're right. It is okay and in fact, prudent to say "no" to what seemingly looks like an opportunity though we know that we are capable but yet may not be able to handle it successfully due to whatever constraints at that moment in time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It actually feels odd. I'm really not used to saying no. I can't remember a time where I said no, this is the first time if I remember it correctly. LOL. I was so used with just going with the flow, game with everything. And I also do well in managing it just fine, but that's just what I thought. I'm an abuser of my body lol. doing more that what I am supposed to do. so yeah, if feels nice to say no this time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the same way. Learning to say no is liberating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy Yung sinabe Ng prof ko last time na hindi Lahat Ng opportunity ay dapat i-grab, dapat maging wise rin tayo Kase Malay mo sa pag "NO" mo, may mas maganda pang dumating para sayo. Hindi rin Naman talaga masama mag "NO" especially kung alam mo na maaari itong makaapekto sayo physically and mentally. Mahirap rin Kase maging officer kase mas maraming responsibilities and task na kailangan gawin. I adore you for saying " NO " this time especially nung tinimbang mo yung mga pros and cons na pwedeng mangyari😊

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ang hirap din kasi e. I have to cover the chores at home, I have my nephew to babysit, I have the class to manage, I have a commitment to an org and I am also a student. I'm also working and helping with the business. Feeling ko ako na si curacha hahaha. I was honestly torn between saying yes or no, and I was just inches away for saying yes. nasa isip ko, kaya ko pa naman. kasi nasanay ako puro tanggap. that was the first time I said no and it's so nice in the feeling. no regrets! madaming pros actually, ang gandag opportunity and advantage pero mas importante sakin ngayon magpahinga.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Love this 🤗. Sometimes, we have to learn to say no. It doesn't mean that we are rejecting the opportunity in front of us, it just that it's not for us. Of course, kahit sabihin pang gaano ka kagaling mag manage ng time mo, accepting another responsibility will affect the other things na ginagawa mo. May it be sa quality ng bawat task. And also, we have our limitations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

in my case, I grew up like this kasi. G lang lagi. legit, since gr.1 class president ako hahaha. and I have the mindset na if I can, why not? saying yes becomes the default answer for me and I know I am doing well, I am doing my responsibilities. but what I failed to notice is that I am compromising my own time, my time for myself, my time to rest. I am genuinely enjoying that I didn't notice that i'm getting tired. pero ayon, narealize ko din talaga na there's a limit to all of this. yes, I can, but I won't grab it this time. and i'm glad I made that choice, kaya wala akong iniisip ngayon aside from my existing responsibilities na talaga. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right be. Atleast ngayon mas makakapag focus ka na sa existing resposibilities mo and may time ka pa din sa sarili mo 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No is part of our vocabulary . So that means, it can be used sometimes lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha tama nga naman. sakin kasi di nauso dati. kaladkarin ata ako, panay g lang lagi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayy, di naman talaga kasi kelangang laging mag yes if may nag ask ee. May karapatan kang tumanggi at tama talaga yang ginawa mo Marygoround. Buti sana if oras lang ang maaapektuhan sayo. Baka pati mental health mo maapektuhan sa dami ng gagawin na di na alam kung anong uunahin na mauuwi sa stress. Kaya, yeah saying no is isn't a waste of opportunity. May mga bagay lang na mas need e prioritize din ganern.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kala ko itutuloy mo na english ate e haahahaha. pero ayon nga, nasanay kasi ako na go with the flow lang. may it be favor or stuffs like this, hindi ako marunong tumanggi. feeling strong kasi ako, feeling ko kaya ko lahat. ang hilig ko ba sumalo sa responsibility. pero ayon, ang feeling ko ngayon e mas chill. nung nag no ako wala talagang panghihinayang, nakakatuwa nga kasi perstaym ko talaga tatanggi huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

BWAHAHAHAGA, dugong dugo na ilong ko suskopo pati ba naman sa comment mag eenggols, Ono ahahaha. Yan wag mong gawing habit yang ganyan na ikaw ang tagasalo ng lahat. Nay gagawin ka din naman na iba, tapos makakain lng ng ibamg bagay ang oras mo. Dun ka sa mas Importants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

andami mo palang affiliations sis.. it is better to say no pag ganito kaysa wla ka nang time sa sarili mo at sa grades which is the most important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kinakaya pa naman ng powers. hindi naman ako super grade conscious, actually tamad ako mag aral hahaha. pero mas sanay ako na active sa mga activities. kaya ayon, abalang student award yearly. basta lagi may ganap pero di nagrereview pag may exam haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehehe you might be good with interpersonal relationships

$ 0.00
2 years ago