Getting A Swab Test Appointment For Travel, Part 2

Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Yep I'm back to doing this again. πŸ˜… This is the new normal indeed. Gone are the days when you can just book a flight or go to the bus station and travel to whichever country or province you choose. No thanks to the pandemic, health and safety protocols have been added.

One must have an RT-PCR negative swab test result and travel QR Codes to present when crossing provincial borders and going into some government offices/branches. At least in most provinces people aren't required to be quarantined for 14 days anymore.

The Quest for the Free Swab Test Appointment

Tried several ways to get an appointment again. πŸ˜„ This time I might just get one and not two like last time. Ah but who knows?

Of course first thing I have to do is get a free swab test and result certificate before I can go in another province here in our country. Same as what I did in April, I checked where to get FREE swab tests because hey we're not rich yet to pay for such a service.

Thank God for free government swab tests. Well I believe it is free because of the taxes we paid/pay for but I dunno. Free things are not always free, someone always pays for it.

1. East Avenue Medical Center (EAMC), Quezon City

First, I biked all the way to and from EAMC last week because that's the one nearest to where I live. Unfortunately I found out they have temporarily closed the service. Someone tested positive that's why they closed it. No one knows yet when it will resume.

Also this isn't free anymore if it's for travel purposes. Since it's less than P1,000 ($20) I'm kinda OK given its proximity.

2. Antipolo Mega Swab Testing Facility, Rizal Province

I tried to book a schedule online but when the appointment website opened slots last week it was only up until Friday. Awwww. I need to get an appointment for next week so I have to wait for the next batch of available time slots.

Let's see if I will be able to get a slot or if I will just go to my third option. I do not feel like going back to the Rizal Provincial Capitol complex because of the high solo tricycle fare. πŸ˜…

3. Quirino Grandstand, City of Manila

Next I tried calling the Quirino Grandstand swab test center in Manila City to get an appointment last week. Was told to call this week since the date being filled up then was August 25. Called earlier today and was told to call back in the afternoon as the date they were filling out is for August 30.

Updated swab test hotline numbers via MPIO Facebook Page

Why don't they accept appointments on different available dates? The person I talked to via one of the hotline numbers said the list usually get lost in the past. That's why these days they fill up dates consecutively. You will have to call on certain days to know when you can get an appointment on your preferred and available date.

I need to have a swab test done by August 31 at least so I can use it for my travel on September 2. Have to go to La Union province on that day for some needed government document renewal.

You might be thinking, why not have the documentation done here in Metro Manila (NCR) where I am currently living? Well there was no available schedule when I tried to book an appointment. That's why I have to choose a different province/region just to book one. Haha. Oh what a life! πŸ˜† At least I got a valid reason to travel far again.

I just hope I can visit tourist spots when I get to La Union otherwise I might just do the round trip thing. A quick one day in and out travel seems like a sad thing to do so I will see how I can stay a bit longer. Haha.

Anyway when I called back an hour ago they were still filling up August 30. Told the guy I needed an August 31 swab schedule. Since the test result would come out in 2-3 days, he advised me to get the Aug. 30 instead. Oh boy. Looks like I'm gonna get two swab tests again.

My appointment to the La Union government office would be in the afternoon of Sept. 2. By that time my Manila swab result would be expired before I can get into the building. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Am not sure if they are strict but to be safe I have to get a 2nd swab test in Antipolo. At least there I can get an appointment in the afternoon.

Ugh what a dilemma. Let's see first if I can get an online slot so I can think of cancelling this one in Manila.

According to the telephone guy I spoke to, since it is a drive thru facility they won't accept individuals without a car or vehicle. They do accept people who needs to get swabbed for various reasons, including travel. I don't have a car so I will be commuting to go there next week. It's too far to use my bike so I will just ride a jeepney. And then I should ride a pedicab to get inside.

So far, I feel like I'm the only one in my family and friends who's been going to different provinces. πŸ˜… Except for my other sibling of course who finally left the country last month for work. I hope I can do the same this year!

What about you or anyone you know? Have you done any recent long distance traveling so far?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

(Lead/header image from Pixabay)

Contact me to own this property!

Previous articles:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog on noise.cash too!

12
$ 8.84
$ 8.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I don't really have long travels, only here in our province. Isa itong swab na ayoko kong maranasan, kaya no travels muna. But then, when situation requires, like now, naswab talaga kami. Ingat sa byahe, hope all things works well according to plan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, kung d lng tlga kelangan eh... Yes sana tlga my plans push through. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh oh.. this brings back memories nung nasa cebu kami. i don't want to go through the same hassle again of swabbing and then getting a positive result...hayz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awtssss. Sana di maging positive...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana sis... ingat ka!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat! Wag sana mag-positive kasi may 1st dose na ako... Whew

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kelan daw lalabas ang results

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2-3 days daw pag nakapa-swab na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tagal din noh? ok lang kasi free naman... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero actually may nabasa ako sa iba sabi more than 24 hrs lang usually. Sana totoo... Btw, nagsobrahan ako ng tip sa'yo kanina. Haha, pabalik n lng ung iba pls. XD

$ 1.00
2 years ago

ibalik ko sis...eto isa

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha salamat. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi kami makapag travel kasi naiinis kami at ang daming process at maraming gastos pa. Kaya ayon tiis tiis nalang talaga na nasa bahay lang or sa malalapit lang nagpupunta na hindi need ng swab.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kakainis daming hassle ko ngayon haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Simula po noong nagkapandemic hindi pa kami lumalabas kase po ang dami na pong req. At magastos pa hopefully po maging maluwag-luwag na yung restrictions para makalabas labas naman..nakakamis na din po yung mamasyal minsan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, di bale hopefully soon lumuwag-luwag n nga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is kinda hurting sometimes when Swab is pinched our nose for sampling. I prefer here saliva testing that is best to avoid this irritation. Best wishes for your safe Journey. Yeah! Every country now changed the protocol for flight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww, so far I have not experienced any pain, only feels like a tickle. Thank God. I hope I never do. We also have saliva testing here but most prefer the nose swab. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my sissy, ma invade na naman privacy NG ilong mo nyan. Pero atleast you have ways na for free swab. Sana maka gala ka kahit kunting oras, picture picture then share mo samin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahaha oo nga ang kati pa naman pag ano. Haha. Sana tlga makapag-beach man lang, or masubukan kahit konting surfing. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sana nga may magawa ka na ganun sis. Sana magka oras ka

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so eager of you to look for free swab test. Well, who would not right? Napakamahal pa naman nyan. At tsaka sa amin , npag usap usapan na pag walang vaccination card di na makakapasok sa mga establishments. Jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala dapat bawal yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Pero di pa naman sure. Chismis2 lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ikaw na talaga ang magaling pagdating sa paghahanap ng may free swab test. hehe. kamahal naman kasi. ginawang parang negosyo naman buti na lang talaga at meron pa ding free at di ganun kalayo sa yo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, pag kailangan maghahanap tlga. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap sana talaga oh..bibisita ng Elyu.. gowra!!! Share your trip pag natuloy ka na!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sana makagala tlga... More BCH come to mama hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my place, we even need to have a vaccination card in order to go to malls and other cities, let alone travel on planes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whaaat? Vaccination card required to get inside malls? Discrimination! Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. I planned to travel but knowing na kailangan magpa vaccine, naku! Nagdadalawang isip na ako eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun, iba pa yung vaccine. Kahit vaccinated need pa rin swab result. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek! Hirap ng buhay ngayon puro gastos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang hassle na talaga kapag byaheΒ², pero luckily dito sa'min no need na magpa swab test. Pero di ako sure, kasi yung kuya ko na nasa city, nakakapag byahe kasi anytime from City to province na walang swab test Β².

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Buti pa doon kung ganun. Dito sa NCR di pwede if lalabas papuntang ibang province n walang swab result haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's great. So sad I haven't been on a flight

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well you will need a swab test result first. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang hassle na talaga bumyahe ngayon. Bukod sa doble ang pamasahe, kailangan pa negative sa swab test. Kaya di rin kami makatawid sa amin sa Mindoro kasi ang gastos.. Gastos sa pamasahe, gasstos sa swab.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True yan, wala rin bus pa-probinsya so pag van ang mahal. Libu-libo ang gastos para lang makabyahe. Ansakit na sa bulsa haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tawid dagat ang probinsya namin sis. Oriental Mindoro. Sasakyan palang 5k na sa barko or baka mas mahal na ngayong pandemic. Huling uwi namin sa Minndoro ay December 2019. Nkarating kana po ba doon? Try mo din po isama sa bucket list mo.. Maganda ang probinsya namin sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww parang malayo yun. Hehe. Di pa ako nakapunta sis. Ang mahal nga. Mas mahal pa kesa papuntang Iloilo bakit ganun? Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag may dalang sasakyan po ganun talaga. Kinikilo nila yung sasakyan mismo. Driver lang ang libre ang pamasahe sa barko. Kaya kapag umuuwi kami sa bahay namin sa Probinsya, kailangan namin magprepare ng 20k.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh kaya pala mahal. Whew...

$ 0.00
2 years ago