Attention: Butter is Not Margarine

52 98
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Are you aware butter is different from margarine? For sure those are different words but when you see the product displayed on a shelf would you know the difference? How would you feel if you asked a store owner for butter but they give you margarine instead? πŸ˜…

The other day I made a mistake of buying butter for the second time in a different sari-sari (neighborhood sundry) store in our area. I needed it to make some pancakes. The first time I bought one was for cooking as well. On both occasions I mentioned I was buying butter. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ Two different sellers gave me margarine instead. Makes one have trust issues eh? πŸ˜‚

Since this was the second time it happened, it made me wonder why the sellers thought it was butter. I mean seriously, the label says it's margarine!

It's not really a big deal but imagine the disappointment of getting something else from what you needed. No I couldn't return both because for the first incident I only found out it was margarine when I cut it. Butter would usually melt easily and the texture when sliced is definitely different. When I noticed it, that's the only time I thought of checking the label. Ugh.

Hello margarines, what will I do with you? 😣

♦ The Situation Was the Same the Second Time Around

On Saturday I went to another store and asked for some butter. She said she has Dari Creme. Since I know that's not butter, I asked for another one. Well she said there's another brand but it was a bigger bar. I told her I just needed a smaller size. Out of the goodness of her heart (perhaps) she volunteered to cut it in half for me. The owner/saleslady said it was okay if she cut it so I just let her.

Her husband gave me the half then I paid for everything I bought then went home. I would have put it inside the refrigerator immediately but something bugged me. When I opened the bag and checked it, behold, it says margarine on the label. Oh my gosh, really? πŸ˜£πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

And then I thought, what, is this like a Colgate/toothpaste or Pampers/diaper thing? This is a common thing in our country where when people buy from sari-sari stores some people say Colgate even if buying a Close Up toothpaste. For example: "Pabili po ng colgate, yung Close Up," (I'd like to buy some colgate, the Close Up one) or they would say Pampers even if buying a different diaper brand. Egads.

Out of the disappointment I decided to post this situation in one of the social media cooking group I joined. Actually I just joined it to specifically share what happened for everyone to be aware. I also posted it in a "complainer" group (πŸ˜‚) just to see how people would react to it and if it is a common complaint/experience.

♦ What I Learned About Butter and Margarine

Image from Star Margarine official Facebook Page

When I was a kid, we used to eat margarine mixed with only two kinds of food. It is used in sinangag (stir-fried leftover rice) and as a sweet spread (palaman) for bread when mixed with some sugar.

Obviously I don't cook much, nor am I a frequent butter or margarine buyer. Since I was young the only margarine I knew was Star Margarine. Apparently there are already more than one brand of this spread.

The reason I don't prefer it is because there was some talk years ago about it being bad for the health. My sibling even said it is actually closer to eating plastic. Oh I wouldn't want to consume any of that. Since then I have not eaten any margarine at all, ever.

Those were the days when the internet was still in it's infancy. I have not checked on that fact until the other day. Apparently if you do a quick search online you will find out that both butter and margarine are not healthy for us. Especially when both are consumed frequently, it can cause heart problems.

These days margarine are supposedly much improved as compared to back then. Well if that's the case then maybe it's fine. However I still prefer butter over that one. I rarely cook anything with both but when I do it somehow butter always makes food taste and smell better.

♦ How to Know If It's Butter or Margarine

If you're like me and not really into cooking or buying both then here's some helpful information for you. Let me just share the most useful details out of the 117 comments my social media post got. It is in a private group so I won't share the link hehe.

Here's the best way to know if you're buying butter or margarine:

  • Butter is mostly packed in foil, margarine in paper.

  • If it costs less than P100 ($2), it is margarine.

  • Butter brands are Queensland, Anchor, Magnolia and Lurpak.

  • Margarine brands are Dari Creme, Buttercup, Golden Crown, Baker's Best.

Aside from the details above, be aware that sari-sari stores rarely sell butter because it is considered expensive. I didn't know that but most people commented such to me. Well it's really good if people are into cooking huh? Sad life for us who aren't regular butter or margarine buyers. Tsk tsk. Why did I even post it in a cooking group eh? πŸ˜‚

Other things to know or what you should check on the label:

  • Butter is made from milk, (modern) margarine is made from vegetable oil.

  • Margarine can be used as a substitute to butter but the outcome of the baked goods, etc., will not be the same.

  • Butter compound is a mix of butter and margarine so it is another thing altogether. Example is Oleo Butter Blend.

There you have it! I hope you also learned something new from me today.

Please remember butter is not margarine and vice versa. Always read the label and even the ingredients to be sure. If you like the latter than the former that's okay. Nothing wrong with that. We all have our own preferences. Hehe.

I'm just sharing my thoughts and other facts about it here for all who care to know the difference. πŸ˜‰ Do you know people who think both are the same when it's not? Feel free to share this to others. Hehe.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image via Unsplash.

Another food article of mine:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

20
$ 9.99
$ 9.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 9
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

It really depends what you need it for. When I use butter for cooking (saute especially), I am okay with margarine instead. But there are just dishes that need the taste of butter to enhance flavor. And like you discovered, sari-sari stores do not carry butter because it is quite expensive, and honestly, Pinoys don't care. If you want to buy cheaper butter go to baking specialty stores, they have them at half price usually. That's for cooking. But if you want butter as spread, you will need the high-end brands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh interesting to know there are cheaper butter from baking product stores. I haven't tried to even get into one. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you can find such stores nearby, and the brand I've used before is Caeli.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok noted. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have known the difference for many years, I have always consumed more butter than margarine. Butter has always been more expensive than margarine, but nowadays we have almost no butter on the shelves and everything that comes on the market is called butter, even though it has letters in capital letters that say margarine. Well explained, butter is basically obtained by churning milk, while margarine is a process where vegetable oil is used, previously animal fat was used, that is the real difference and it also has its energetic contribution. It is said that it is almost the same as plastic, because it lacks a molecule to be plastic, but it is not plastic nor will it be. Plastic is obtained from hydrocarbons and its composition is totally different from margarine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah haha that's right. I think margarines have better composition now. That's unfortunate if there aren't much real butter in your area these days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! nalaman ko lang din toh sa sister ko na nag-aral ng culinary. Nakisuyo sya na bumili ng butter, syempre bumili ako ng buttercup, kc nasa pangalan eh hahha! Iba pala talaga sya... pero misleading nmn ang name kc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha lagot. Hahaha. Kaya nga eh, misleading brand name pahamak din minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned about this from my brother who loves to cooks and binge watch MasterChef since we were teens! I didn't know that butter and margarine are completely different from each other. But they pretty much have the same use, at least here in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably the same reason why people at the sari-sari store gave me margarine. It's not the same but most make it the same. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ka! All this time akala ko butter ang dari-creme 🀧 my life is a lie. Hahahaha sa totoo lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di ba? It's a liiie!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit nga ba ganyan? Nakasanayan na namin kasi na butter tawag jan eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha d ko rin alam...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also happen to learn that butter is different from margarine from Erwan Heusaff. Before I used to think Dari Creme is butter when in fact, it is not. I switched to Anchor for my butter needs. Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's good to know! hehe. He does a lot of cooking so he definitely knows the difference. I will check soon which brand I will buy when I go out for grocery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha....same thing happened with me a long time ago but it was another thing.Thank you for the tips to differentiate between the two.It will help alot...lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe alright then. Glad to help. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, ako na walang alam. Di kami gumagamit ng butter hahaha. Tapos noon naman may bakery si Mommy nakikita ko lang na ginagamit nya ee ung margarine na puti at dilaw yong nasa lata baga hahaha. Yon lang wala na akonh ibamg alam. Thanks to this nalaman ko na magkaiba pala un. Wahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung butter na puti ay shortening siguro. Parang ganun din ang use nyan pero usually for big batch baking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May butter na puti pala? πŸ˜…πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, wala nga lang lasa. hahaha. fat lang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, yon gamit nina mudra sa pag luluto dati. Diko talaga alam ang use nya haha. Bat kasi magkaiba pa πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! May iba-iba kasi silang properties na kailangan minsan sa specific na tinapay o kung ano mang baked product. And ang shortening, halos walang lasa, di tulad ng butter o margarine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wahaha di ka nag-iisa. Tsaka yung iba diyan nalaman ko lang din nung Sabado. Haha. Kakaloka tlga pag di tayo madalas magluto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah, ako ngayon lang talaga ahahaha. Thanks to this may naalaman akonh bago ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Orayt! Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes! For baking, margarine is better. Well, for food, of course, creamyπŸ₯ž

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay. I haven't tried margarine for anything other than palaman. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What are you telling me? Margarine, unlike butter, does not contain cholesterol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sorry, forgot to check if you're not Pinoy. Palaman means spread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is a pinoy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We always use margarine as substitute. For butter whenever we run out of butter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup it is also used as a substitute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah..whenever my husband cooks garlic butter shrimp, he uses margarine most of the time actually becuase it's always available in the kitchen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can easily differentiate which one is the butter and margarine just by looking at their color and texture. hhehe. Pero LT yung nangyari sa kapatid ko, as in HAHAH. Kasi inutusan ko siya bumili ng butter kasi mag bbake ako non, tas pagbalik niya Eden na cheese yung dalaaa HUHUH yun daw binigay ng tindera

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha malala naman yung cheese na pala ang butter. XD

Exactly, nung na-slice ko saka ko napansin na margarine binigay. Saklap tlga. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very informative na article itooo. Nalilito din kasi ako sa dalawa eh. Well atleast now my basis na ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey! Haha happy to hear that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pabili nga ng Palmolive... Yung Sunsilk. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Heheh. Lesson--- alam mo na yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga eh... πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Butter is generally healthier compared to margarine. I always buy the brand Butterlicous. It is the cheapest one on the market I think. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. I think (Magnolia) Butterlicious is butter compound? Not sure haha basta based sa ingredients lang ako and sa criteria na sabi nila. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Margarine pala ang dairy creme! 😲

May advertising pa noon ang star margarine na pangpatangkad daw siya. Kaya lagi namin hinahalo sa kanin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes margarine nga wahaha. Actually hanggang ngayon ganyan ang peg ng Star Margarine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heheeh nung maliliit kasi tayo ang kilalang margarine, STAR lang anda the rest is "butter" lols..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha oo yun lang alam tlga natin na margarine noon. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tinatry ko din recall eh. . sa pandesal dati .. it is always dairy creme iba din kasi lasa ni star hahaha.. both margarine naman isa pang kanin ahhaha isa pang pandesal ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo hahaha. Nako makakain n nga muna nagutom ako sa usapan natin. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhaha go.. ako mag kakape.. la pa gana utak mag gawa ng kahit ano sa trabahu. . . .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always known they are different, but I wonder if I ever had Butter ever in my life. The only Butter I know is BTS' song. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I know right? I don't know why there are people who are unaware of the difference. Didn't think there was a Butter song. Maybe I'll check on that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago