Losing friends as you grow up is a sign of Growing up

73 99
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago
Date: 20th March, 2022
Sunday

Hello family. Another morning and another day started to shading slowly. Life is moving fast & we are following it’s path. Accepting news forms, pushing away wastes while negotiating new options and rejecting old things. This is the modern era which teaches us to be less emotionally attach with everything. Everything & everyone. The more you feel for your gadgets, properties, assets & people, the more you will feel the pain. Day by day we grow up and we see our beloved people decreasing. Not because of death but because of our less need. For example, our friends. How many of you have now comparing your childhood? This single question can answer the entire article.

Losing friends as you grow up, is a sign of growing up. People say that which I believe now. I had many friends in my childhood whom I played with. Well, when I say childhood that means I am not talking about my 2/3yrs old age experience, I'm talking about the age of 5/6yrs. At least from when we start remembering everything. We have limited version or remembering incidents. Ok, where was I? Yes, with my friends. Before going school I have local friends. From neighbours obviously. Some of them joined me in my school days. So that was a huge plus point. Because after school and before school, we remained the same and shared everything. I got new friends there. The numbers increased every year untill I bade goodbye to my primary school days. Then in high school, college, university. It never stopped increasing. Beside this, the local friends increased too. So the numbers looked well when I count.

source: unsplash.com

We all had this one. Our list got new names every year. New people and new experiences. But every thing in this world has a perfect time to shed. The calculated numbers start to less from the equation. The numbers never lie and so our life situation. We start keeping pace with the changing world and suddenly find out less times for the friends and even for the family. We cannot blame ourselves because our other friends are doing the same things. They are running too. They are also eager to keep upgrading with modern era.

The change looks simple but the fact is we are grown up now. We don’t feel sad for not meeting friends for a long time. We don’t feel angry for what they have done to us by not responding our phone calls because we had done same thing. We are mature enough to show excuses and surprisingly no one blames another person for it! Simply we all have grown up too. We understand how it works, we know how to deal with it, we managed our life that way & now, we are just following it. Like a rule & following the era.

We understand the loss when we find ourselves alone in the end. We feel the passion when we a bunch of children doing the same thing what we had done before. Maybe while getting stuck in a traffic jam, we can see two friends going school together while putting hands around each other's shoulder. That hit hard. Still we have friends but less in number. We have lost many and never felt it that way. The growing up nature has ended our that emotional attachment. Remember the line at the beginning when I mentioned attachment of everything getting less. See? We even getting less feelings for our lost friends! That's the point of growing up. You rise up and find less people around you whom you call friends.

source: unsplash.com

Life has given us many things and fulfilled our dreams. But everything has it’s own cost. Growing up cost us friends. We have them still but less in numbers. They have the same. Our life, our busy schedule, our getting more opportunities has shed us many things. Just look at your life and count how many people you lost whom you called brother/sister from another mother. Have a list. You will find out memories and couple of drops of tears in the end. This is life my beloved friends.

  • All the pictures including the lead are used from unsplash.com

Thanks for being with me.

©Lucifer01

44
$ 7.02
$ 4.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.84 from @TheArcAngel
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
+ 31
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago

Comments

I miss many friends, I would like to see them again someday, I shared beautiful moments with them, but of all my life and of all my real friends there is one in particular with whom I would like to have more contact, I would like to rescue her, but it seems that she does not have time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope your dreams come true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Genuine people, one you have that, you better keep it with the trust and respect. You are stating facts, so this is growing up😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed dear. We all are losing friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friends from school, college, university, and work might ignore each other during a specific period or many years. After aging, many of them may want to connect again. Once, three of our friends, one from London and two from Kolkata, united in the College Street Coffee House after many years (maybe after 23 years). We found about thirty-plus older people trying to get many smaller tables to sit together. Some of them are seeing each other after 40 years! Memories and nostalgia bring acquaintances together.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. I hope every friend remain safe. Well said dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article reminds me about the book "the courage to be disliked". As for me I'd go with less friends and if I make friends with everyone, I do not want to expect that they got my back. Just a friend but not a long companion.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So you have different opinion. I respect that. Hey, good to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! It will be fewer than before. This part you will know who will stand on you for the last time. Thanks for my real friends left.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are gems. May more come to your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so relatable. I have also lost some friends as I grew up but I'm also gaining more

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hope they will remain with you forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I very much agree with you Luci. As you grow older, your list of friends continue to change. Most often, it gets smaller

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hardest truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true. I had a lot of friends, now I only have a few real friends. All the other friends are still present but they are no longer close and they were not there when it was hardest for me so I don’t feel connected to them anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Am I on that list?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are on the list of awesome virtual friends that I appreciate very much. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thing when they said that if you're loved by all then you aren't doing it right.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigh, I remember my best friend during our elementary years. Sadly we treated each other as strangers when we were in college. She's still friends with my friends but not me anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's ok dear. See, I'm here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes very true indeed friend. I think each time new gadgets are developed , our friends decrease. A true fact that can never be declined

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true dear. Part of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I still have a friends, but Virtual friend I got loads of that. But in real life I mean here to where I am, I don't have any one. I only have myself. And I'm cool with that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are with you. Well I'm always there to pinch you 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We lose some and then win some too :) My mind automatically went counting whom I "lost" and there were quite a few.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't count me in the lost list. Still I'm here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, you crack me up Luci!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will meet new people from beginning to end of life, lose some old people and get new people back, this is the rule of our life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear. We are just following it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keeping my circle small also losing is part of growing, losing is gaining, also if your friend is true they will never be loose but instead they would understand that we have our own priorities and destination but the friendship must still remain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I agree that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with this Luci but there are friends that is new also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Let's hope they all remain with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friend is need and friends indeed having less in quantity make it more enjoyable and memorable but having a lot friend no one cares about you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing up you will meet a lot of people and became friends with them. But as you grow up too, you know who's real and not. Choosing your own peers and friends when you are in a certain age like mid 20s and 30s are the surely the friends that will accompany you until lifetime.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Choosing a perfect one in life is impossible but we all have that one who cares.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To teenagers and young adults it seems that they will live forever. With age, this "picture" changes. People realize that life is finite and should be spent on something pleasant. The number of friends begins to decrease...the only ones left are those who provide emotional intimacy and warmth. The rest are ruthlessly banished from the circle of communication. Yes, this is one of the signs of our growing up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is the law of nature. We cannot but accept it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we have grown up, and entered in our practical life, so many responsibilities and experiences has changed us alot. So our priorities and preferences are also changed. We are now matured.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. That limited our desire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But everyone can not control emotion. I know how I feel after losing my best one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Luci, losing friends is part of growing but the one who will stay is rare to find.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are absolute gem dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we grow in age we are faced with much more duties than we had when we were younger, this would give us less time to keep friends, which will cause us to loss them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We come to a point that we realize we don't need that many friends. We only need those who matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Matter of fact that we need limited people now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you’re very very correct on this I can’t even remember most of my friends back in those days in junior school while me and some barely chart. Well there’s an adage in my Yoruba that says 20 kids can’t be friends for 20 years.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Day by day the numbers are decreasing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we grow up ...our true friends who's there at all times will be the last standing together with us and support us till the end.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The true ones. I believe them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We lost one's but we gain one. What matters are the people that will stick to us at our worst. They are the true ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are the gem of our life. Need to take care of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing up at this stage of mine, losing friends becomes normal to me. I knew from the start that I will lose them but as much as possible, I keep those who are precious to me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can not over write the law of nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not know this feeling because I never had good amount of friends to start with hahahaaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now you have one. Tea please?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have any left right now. And I don't want to remember anything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Someone is upset about life! You can tell me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I am happy. Thanks Lucifer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are the lucky one. Hope nobody will lose his/her best friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am facing many bad situation in my life after loosing my best friend. You know it well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Even I got shattered after it. I know about your feelings. Still you miss him, still you feel him. I understand it brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that's quite natural. Even the forgotten friends would understand that we are growing up 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. For sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually they were not totally losing because they have been part of our lives. Maybe because we grew matured and we have new transition from childhood to adulthood. We have separated by time and destination.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And laws of nature. They also did the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes this is the truth and I think having less friend sometimes means having less problem hahah!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agree. But we need them. They are part of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes that's true. But nobody knows when and where and how friendship will start on? I miss my buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know the feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago