Road to New Literacy

34 77
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

New literary is a big help not only for students but even to adults, not only for studies but also in work and/or everyday living. This helps us to gain more resources that we can use for an easy and faster work. But although there's a lot of advantages this new literacy give, there are still a lot of disadvantages.

Now, I would like to share my experiences before I reached the point of being part in New Literacy.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

If you gonna ask me on what subject I hate the most when I was in Highschool, then I would say ICT or Information Communication Technology. Sounds funny for those who are media literate, but yes I am so weak in media information that time. I remember my classmates, they are so excited when it's our ICT subject, as we always conduct it at Computer Laboratory.

Unsplash - by sunrise University

There is a time that we need to make our own gmail and I don't even know what tab to click, fortunately some of my friends are computer inclined so it's them who made my gmail. Since I'm so slow in this subject, even memorizing my own email and password is hard for me; imagine I can memorize all the terms and meaning in our science subject but I cannot in my gmail. At last, Before our school year end I made five different emails.

Another one during my Primary, I was like 8 or 9 years old that time; I don't have any knowledge about gadgets, although I know how a computer looks like. I was chosen to be one of the representative in a school level orientation about ICT Program.

It's already the day of orientation, we go to the event place and fascinated how beautiful their building is. Me and my bestfriend keeps on looking around until both of us are the last student who enter the computer lab. When we enter the room, all units are already occupied, so the speaker told us to go in the next room. You know who's in there? All their staffs and workers, they was like "oh hi, no more vacant computer? You can use the unit of Ma'am... " I'm so shy that time, until the speaker start to discuss, and he also said "After this orientation, we are going to test the ability of these students to use the computer" something like this. So what I did, while he is bus discussing, I keep my eyes on the keyboard and memorized all the letters.

Unsplash - by Florian Krumm

After his discussion, they conduct a game for every student; one game is to finish typing the paragraph before the time's out. Because of my adrenaline rush, being nervous, using my both my index finger, I am one of the student who finish it first. (yeah, sometimes being nervous can help you too)


Scott GrahamUnsplash - by

For students, New Literacy give more knowledge about sites and applications that can help to improve and make every work easier On the other hand for higher levels, new literacy helps to build their skills and knowledge. A way to enhance their ability to know or locate information that is pertinent to every topic that their teachers are discussing. This give competence when it comes to critically examining material found on the internet, just like identifying reliable resources for assignments or research. This means new literacy improves student's way of learning; by this the more skillful and knowledgable students are, the more good future it will become.

As I observe in this pandemic, not everyone can access the internet, not everyone are able to buy gadgets that they can use for learnings, which leads an effect for those students to struggle, that instead of enjoying their studies, they end up knowing nothing. While for those who can access easily, they/we are vulnerable to online scam or any unreliable resources which persuade us to believe.

Overall it's in our hand how to apply the benefits of new literacy, just we need to bear in our mind to "think before you click"


Thank you so much to @Niazi420 for renewing your sponsorship. Hope you had a great day. GOD Bless! Btw, about your question, you look good. Thumbs up:)

________________________

Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

February 23, 2022

-Ling

25
$ 4.86
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 19
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I couldn't help but laughed out loud at the test you did where you memorised the whole keys and used only your index finger to keep typing 😂. I just made a mental image of you doing that right now. That's what nervousness could do to us.. Glad that you are now very proficient with the internet.. I can't even count the number of emails I have righ now. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagaw kaau mi ug computer sauna sis pero 3rd yr highskol nami gepagunit so need jud e memorized ang letters. Mingaw ko sa speed test nmo sa 2nd yr pko ky typewriter ang labanan hahaha. Bunalan ang kamot pg mulihok ang panyo ky nka blindfold mn amo mta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you were able to finish the paragraph first because you were nervous.. Lol! I've always used a computer since I was 6 years old. We always had a computer at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not learn that in school, I learn to use computer when I Join in Facebook

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never had the opportunity you had in high school where you were given computers to work on, but i still had to learn how to use one with my uncle's computer whenever i am on vacation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered my high school that is the first time I open a computer hehe, then I cant get off myself when the teacher tells me that wrong press of its keyboard it will explode lol. Well honestly I don't enjoy my computer subject in High school even in college we don't focus on that, I am also self-thought when it comes to PC, I knew some classmate of mine really cant even fully understand the computer lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great opportunity though, omg I remember taking my ICT subject and just sleep there or sometimes watching youtube that I thought my teacher doesn't know it then I was shocked when he calls my name hahah I'm so stupid haha he sees what we did on every computers haha I'm so stupid to listen to blackpink song that time haha and I'm the only one who wears earphone during his subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basic ICT literacy is must in this Internet-friendly world. Everyday cybersecurity is a must for all computer and Internet users.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always liked the subject of ICT. Especially the options that can be given to users with visual and cognitive disabilities. Interesting reading. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have the same feeling for studying this subject 🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are improvement in New literacy unlike before now that there is improvement in technology

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my major bff, pero CSS lang siya na term.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what would happen to me as I have zero interest in this subject. Though you were not interested in this subject, you were able to pass your examination with flying colours which proves your intelligence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This make me laugh hhaha I'm actually trying my best to put those informations in my mind, atleast I can pass the cut-off grade.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, it is clear that you were an intelligent girl, even if you weren't interested in computer skills. Today, the world of technology, the Internet and computers can be as harmful as they can be useful, and it is up to us how to use them. I just hope that those who don't have access to the Internet will be provided with these facilities soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Highly agree Sis, even me that can access well and have my own gadgets still struggling, how much more for those who can't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I love ICT subject sis. I always excited if it is an ICT already. I love exploring about computers sis. It's my favorite. It's makes me happy. The subject I hate sis is Science. Oh my it makes me worried that's why I prefer Mathematics than Science. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mabuti ka pa Sis, siguro sa interest talaga yan no. Yung madali sayo yung isang subject if interested ka talaga sa ganong topic or skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis depende talaga sa tao sis. Ako ayaw ko talaga ng Science sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

New literacy is really so important. There are some places this information needs to be spread to because the world now is turning to computer world. Nice one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed "turning to a computer world", almost everything can be found through internet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good job my kind fellow..fell good to read it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy to know it Mahi:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next chapter mam. Oh, I'm a new student in your ICT class. 😜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay Devil, I can sense that you have the knowledge about our topic, can you share it to the class? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As world getting revolution in information & technology field , new inventions easing life and getting place into , it becomes more compulsory to have knowledge and skill to compitite the world. ICT looks so interesting and informic subject to me more the mathematics.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Actually it became hard for us if we don't learn about New Literacy, not just a trend but for higher competency.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too never liked this subject ICT and I enjoyed while reading your story:D

Btw whenever I used to go computer lab I used to play the game in it hahaha but later I even stopped going into computer period

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Games are not allowed in our ComLab even using Facebook hahha, subject teacher is strict:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How are you ling? How is everything going?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with my case, in the first semester I was having a hard time with this subject and that seemed to me very difficult but I somehow managed to pass this subject. Haha, thank you so much for your compliment, mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I already adjust when I reached college haha online classes be like. You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So that's mean you was weak in computer knowledge befor. I think you have much idea now about this ict sector my dear bestfriend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ha, really weak like okay let me memorize these terms just don't told me to apply it because I will lag:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago