Old Beliefs : Another part of our Childhood

Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

It's another throwback everyone! The things I'm about to say are based on my childhood beliefs, and I'm sure some of you may relate. I'm hoping you'll share your own personal experience with these too.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Flying Lice

Crdts : Asia Grocery Co,.

Okay, first and foremost, I have had lice myself. I'm also the type of kid who enjoys playing outside in the sun and socializing with other kids, so I always came home with this. I even recall one of my bestfriends putting lice in my hair that she had taken from her own. Then she said "Bestfriend you have lice!" She don't know that caught her doing it.

So every weekend, my mother does this "suyod" thing to pull lice and their eggs out of my hair. Because it irritates and hurts me when my mother pulls strands of my hair, she always get angry and told me, "Okay fine! Keep those lice in your hair, they'll fly and it bring you to the top of a tree." I was terrified of what she said, so I endured the pain just to avoid flying. Lol!

Tooth Fairy

Crdts : Aquafresh

It's common for a child to lose teeth right? To have a new one and remove the one using thread, or what so ever you use. So when we finally got it wether we put under the bed or the one that I'm curious is my mom prefer to put it in the holes in our house. I asked her what's the reason of it, but she always doesn't answer until she scold me of asking a lot. But based on my own interpretation (charr!), teeth is the strongest bone-in our body, by it's enamel it became the hardest part of our body; so maybe my mom put it in the holes to give a strong foundation in our house.

For those who do the same and know the meaning behind this, please let me know.

Seeds that may grown inside your stomach

Crdts : maximiwax

This is common everytime we eat Watermelon, imagine how many seeds it have. Thisis not from my parents but my friends, they told me that we should not eat seeds because it will grow inside our body.

There's a time when we're eating guava and I guess I inadvertently eat the seed. This makes me very nervous, and because I don't want to tell my parents about it, I keep drinking a lot of water and praying that it doesn't develop.

White on your nails can give you money

Crdts : FirstCry Parenting

I remember I've once have this while patches in my nails, and I'm so excited that time because according to my friends when it reach the end of my nail or the Distal Edge, I will trim my nails and bury in the ground, this will turns to a money the next day. Ofcourse I did, when it finally reach the end, I cut it and buried beside our house, the next day I'm so excited to go back and see when there's already a money, but there's none.

Sweeping floor at night is a bad luck

Crdts : Florida Center of Institutional Technology

We still actually do the 50% of this belief. Why 50%? Because we currently sweep the floor but never throw the dust, dirt, and other debris outside the house. We simply place it next to our door and throw it in the morning.

This idea implies that a blessing is bestowed upon you every night. Those blessings will also cover your floor, so sweeping it and throwing it outdoors will result in losing your luck.


That's it everyone, I hope you learn something or to remember those days when we have crazy beliefs. I know there's still a lot, but I just point these common things that we do.

________________________

Lead image was taken from maximiwax.

***

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

Mine was very busy but at least zi can say it's productive. Btw, don't forget to thank God that we finally going to end the first week of the year, achievement unlocked. Also how was your new year's resolution? Lol!

To Sis @Halmarkey , I'm sorry it's already late but I would like to thank for your unending support since before. Love lots as always! Stay safe

GOD Bless. Hugs!

A nation's culture resides in the hearts and soul of its people

  • Mahatma Gandhi

January 9, 2022

-Ling

20
$ 4.52
$ 4.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 17
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Hehe funny 'cause I still believe in them, sis 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dang.. so nostalgic sis.. and white on nails was believed as "we are going to get new clothes" in our beliefs lol.. how stupid, later I realized that it was iron deficiency.. I used to laugh at that.. Also, yes we also were not allowed to sweep or cut nails or hair at nights.. told us they are forbidden after sunset

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, the sweetness of childhood is the innocence and how we accept funny things which were never true but take them seriously. On seeing your post Ling01, it just got me smiling back to my childhood days. Sweet memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako lahat sis. Legend kaayu lice ba hahaha. Nalimot ko sa shampoo nga gegamit sko nanay dati ba. Mga laagan mn sge pabulad mao kutuhon hahaha. Pero ang sa kuko butbot rna sis. Ang mag nailcutter ug gabii wa mn nimo apila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha kataw.anan meaning "kutuhon" uy, mao gyud ni permi gina ingon sa mga ginikanan ba. Gani Sis daghan kog wala na apil, nagka amnesia pinakalit haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos mga bta niagi ug kakutuhon ambot lng kaha ron nga generation ky puro mn nag gadgets na. Dghn tinuohan sa buktot sauna sis ui. Labi na ako nanay dghn dli ipabuhat bsta gabii na pero na adapt bya nko na sko eldest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were the days and life is a cycle.. those experiences we enjoyed and learned were useful when we become parent. We can guide them the way it should be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed Sis! Another technique in parenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

White spots on the nails talk about a lack of calcium. About the tooth and the tooth fairy...A caring gray mouse carefully takes a tooth from under the pillow of a sleeping child and hands it to the mice, who know the way to the magical chambers. There they are met by the blond Tooth Fairy with her dazzling smile.But why does the Fairy need millions of children's teeth from all over the world? Legend has it that she builds from them a wonderful snow-white palace with tracery walls, vaulted ceilings and carved windows. Under the rays of the sun, the tiny teeth shine like pearls, creating a fantastic shimmering light inside the palace.In this magnificent palace, colorful joyful dreams arise. With a gentle breeze they leave the palace and fly to the beds of those children who have washed and brushed their teeth before going to bed. During a good night's sleep, the children grow up quickly and gain strength. In general, we want us to grow strong and healthy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yey! Thank you for sharing this. Another new learnings from you:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have beautiful childhood memories. You see that tooth fairy thing, oh I did that a lot. Each time we lose a tooth we make sure no lizard sees it because they said if a lizard sees it, the tooth would never grow again😀😀😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's fun of being in a childhood times. I haven't heard about this but I get irritated in lizards, keeps on looking while you're taking a bath haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I quite remember the tree growing superstition. I was also careful not to swallow seeds of plants like guava, watermelon and orange. I think it is a way to teach kids to be careful and conscious when eating seedy fruits.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. Our parents used to scare us just to teach lesson:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂you know about that white nail thing, my grandma used to tell us that our nails get white spots because someone among the family is gossiping about us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow, haha that's funny yet interesting. Grandparents there have different beliefs:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that true the sweeping in the night is bad luck . Childhood beliefs hehehe I am just hearing about your white nails that gives money 😖😖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If it's true then I can be the living proof haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same dito sa bahay, nagwawalis pero iniipon lang sa isang side at kinabukasan na itatapon. Yan ang natutunan natin sa mga lola natin at wala namang masama na sumunod.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama Sis, at least diba marunong tayo sumunod, as long as di naman nakakasama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I lose my teeth, I do throw it on the roof of the house. I don't know the reason behind that but I saw my friends doing it and i don't know why

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is new for me, I've never heard anyone doing this in our place:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahah🤣🤣🤣. This got me laughing again. Even in my region here when we were small, we believe that guava seed actually germinate from the belly when swallowed without chewing. 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So everyone of us was prank during our childhood haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat to pinaniwalaan ko hahaha pero Di ko gets yung sa may kuko na part hahaha naguguluhan ako dun. Anyways kala ko talaga nalipad ang kuto ahahsha tas yung sa walis sinabi ko kay mama andumi ng sahig baket bawal magwalis hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung sa kuko Sis diba may white na guhit dun, madalas sa mga bata lang yun e, once umabot nayun sa dulo. Dapat mo dw yun putulin tapos ibaon sa lupa, the next day magiging pera na sya. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanang naay puti sa kuko bff, nakadungog ko ana pero ambut ug tinuod bana.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dili bff uy, wala koy nakuha nga kwarta haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate some of it sis. Seeds that may grow inside your stomach, when I was a kid my uncle always told me that things. We were busy eating that time santol and some of my cousin he eat also the seed then my uncle remind him always that the seed may grown inside the stomach.

Hehe yes that's true. My father believe it also, sweeping floor at night is not good. My father always remind us. He will be angry if he saw you that you sweeping at the floor during night time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung mga elders rin kasi natin Sis kung ano minana nila yun na din tinuturo sa atin, kaya ayon dapat maingat tayo sa lahat ng ginagawa natin hahha mga maling paniniwala lang pala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis tama ka. Hanggang ngayon sinusunod ko parin parang nakasanayan ko na siguro. Dami talagang mga beliefs sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You forced me to recall those golden days of childhood 😅 When I was kid i experienced all the things you have mentioned. When I was a kid I loved to eat chewing gum very much so my mom used to say that if you continue to eat these weird things then one day it will stuck and bind all your intestines and you will no longer be able to eat anything. Still some people believes on some superstitious such as, you can't sew at night, you can't cut your nails at night, we should put on our shoes on right leg first etc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right Sis hahah, I suppose to add the gum here but I don't have enough explanation, but this is one too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm feeling relief now coz I thought it was my mother only who always said this types of things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguyy, about sa lice, lahat naman yata tayo nung kabataan natin sis, meron. Hmm.. Sa tooth fairy, sa movie ko lang nakita.Hehe.. Yung puti naman sa nails, sabi nang partner ko nga. Yung sa seeds naman, sabi-sabi nina mama sa'kin dati. Pero pag maliliit na seeds naman, nilulunok ko..Haha.. Yung last, aguyy, anytime ko naman ginagawa..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Did you know nga ga duha-duha ko ishare ang about sa kuto kay basi ingnon saiban damak kaayo ko pagkabata haha. Hays salamat Sis, nigaan akong paminaw:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Sus, di nalang jud na nato ilimod sis uie. Kani laging lagaan ta pagkabata, tas sige ug buwad sa init. Magtinapol pud ug kaligo, maong di jud imposible nga dapuan ug kuto..Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still a beliefs of many 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha... Tooth tale... this one is still believed by many. How cute our thoughts of that age!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, some exist until now. It's also funny.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa akin naman sis yung akala ko buto ng atis , kasi malimit nalulunok yun pero nung makita ko kapag nag poop sumasama lang pala kaya ayun kampante na ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Malaki na ako nung nalaman ko na sumasama naman pala sa dumi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes I remember when in my childhood I eat blackberry and suddenly the seed swollen and my friends said to me that a seed grow in your stomach. You become a tree soon. Haha Unforgettable memories :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This makes me laugh, imagine you're going to be a tree. Sometimes our friends acts like enemy haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are all superstitions that started centuries ago and continue to the present day. I think the most innocent of them was to put it under my pillow before I went to sleep when I had a tooth when I was a kid, I used to believe in the tooth fairy and when I did that I would wake up with some money under my pillow. Until I found out that it was my mother who put the money in!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so cute, I also found out that it's just my parents. Their purpose is for me to get those decayed teeth:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako lahat diyan ha natatandaan ko pa Yong but ng santol haha na lunok sisibol ang laki noon hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung ibang friends ko din Sis nilulunok ang buto ng santol haha sobrang laki.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga ang laki noon haha nakakatakot din minsan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was ridiculous, seeds will grow inside of stomach, that's hyperbole ...but I admit you believe it in a serious manner. You have no choice but to follow old people to avoid getting hurt from the tree inside of your belly

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Jopix, I really need to follow them, but I'm still thankful that they teach those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sound so weird but those are meaning to cherished...

$ 0.00
2 years ago