What You Need to Know About Overthinking

19 64
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Date: April 20, 2022 (Wednesday)

Photo Credits: Unsplash

Have you ever tried making scenarios in your head that are almost impossible to happen, but you still love to indulge to them? Or even thinking too much on something repeatedly? Have you ever tried being drowned by your own thoughts?

In that case, then you're most likely overthinking. Now, what is overthinking and how to overcome it?

Overthinking means thinking so much about something over and over again. Overthinking may cause problems not just in yourself, but could also be a factor of affecting the people around you. With overthinking, you will feel stress, sad, and worried. The positivity that surrounds you will surely fade away when overthinking comes in the frame.

How to Cope Up With Overthinking?

I was once an overthinker. I used to think of things to much and it ended up making me feel anxious or worried on things. I even made a lot of scenarios in my head that hurts my feelings. With that, I'd love to give helpful ways on how to cope up with overthinking in someway.

Acknowledge That You Are Overthinking

Try to monitor your thoughts and when you notice that you are overthinking, acknowledge it. Just so you know when you acknowledge that you are overthinking, your thoughts will get distracted.

Pray

Take some time to pray and communicate with God. Share to Him all your worries in life. Talk to Him and you will find light.

Inhale and Exhale

When you realize that you're already overthinking, take some time to inhale and exhale. It's like inhaling positivity and exhaling negativity. Doing such will help.

Make Yourself Busy

If you're a homebody person, try to make yourself busy like cleaning the house or making some DIY stuff. It will help to shift your mind to the things you're doing. You can also hangout with your friends: laugh with them, make some memories together and many more. Have fun! Don't stick yourself on that overthinking habit.

Photo Credits: Unsplash

Sleep Early

It is really important to sleep early because aside from it is good to your health, it can also help you to prevent from overthinking. You know, usually negative thoughts occur during midnight So, sleeping early could help. If you can't sleep early, force yourself to sleep early. Set aside your phone/laptop/tablet, drink one glass of milk, turn off the lights and sleep comfortably. And remember, when you're about to sleep, stop making scenarios and sleep tight.

Focus On The Present

It is essential to focus on the present. What we do in the present will affect out future. Stop ovethinking about anything in your life such as things that might happen in the future. Stop indulging on negativity as the one who will get affected by it is still you.

Accept That You Can't Change Something in the Past

Sometimes, we overthink of things because of what happened in the past. In someway, we wanted to change them especially that they have affected your life these days. Howbeit, always remember that everything that happens in the past must stay in the past. You can't time travel and make things right. Accept your mistakes and regret. In the end, those mistakes will become your lessons in life. Accept those mistakes and try to lessen the what if thoughts.

You see, if you want to cope up with your overthinking habit, take an action now before it's too late. Try to live a positive life. Don't make yourself being stressed by your own thoughts. Focus on the present and believe that positive things will happen. Trust God and have faith in Him.


Photo Credits: Unsplash
Recent Posts:

Lead Image Source (GIF): Credits Unsplash

20
$ 5.07
$ 2.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 13
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to this too. Sometimes, my mind is clouded with things that's beyond my control but I learned to cope with it. Let us not let negativities corrupt our system. Just let go. Pray and cast all your trouble to the one who is in control. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always do overthinking also, especially when my husband went out late at night due to some emergency purposes, I really can't sleep because my head was overthinking that leads me to worry to much for him.. I am become relax when I saw him inside our home..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually wrote a similar topic on Hive and if you really dwell or worry about the same thought over and over, you're slowly putting yourself in hell. Trust me, I know. I am a depression survivor. Overthinking is different from thinking deeply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely pray. Trust me, that helps actually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though it's normal to think but too much of it can cause another sickness into the body. Following these tips will help those thinking too much so it doesn't affect their blood pressure. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also an overthinker and I overthink everything literally everything. I tried many ways not to overthink but all in vain. Only when I am busy with work, I don't overthink too much. Praying is also a better option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an overthinker too. I just try to take my mind off things by engaging myself with other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all life's problems can be overcome by praying to God because every trial of God's life is God's protection and help I agree with this because actually our lives depend on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very difficult to sleep early, maybe it's my habit to sleep late. until now i still have insomnia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I am an overthinker . This usually happens before the onset of my period. I don't know if it is part of my pre menstrual syndrome. As a result, minsan umiiyak ako sa walang kabuluhan kong iniisip hayys.. but sometimes i will tell myself why i am thinking like that..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overthinking is a huge problem. It is linked to deprssion, indecission, negativity and it wastes our time. It must be avoided at all cost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overthinking is like an illness that could lead to your own destruction. I used to be like that but I somehow manage to diminish it, slowly but surely. Altjough there are times that I over think, i keep myslef busy with other things

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If only overthinking was never present, I wonder how peaceful our minds may seem. But we should really make ourselves busy so that we can't soak our minds to negative thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I distract myself when I find myself overthinking. I don't want to go into that. Good thing we have lots of thing to take our mind away from such.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed my friend. Distracting our minds to those kinds of thoughts is truly helpful for us to cope up with overthinking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right now lots of things are going through my mind but I have read to keep me busy :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, Sometimes I can't really stop myself from overthinking and the best solution for me is to make myself busy. It's hard sometimes coz in overthinking we are really not just overthinking but also hurting ourselves more and that's really, arghhh. I'm avoiding thst now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here my friend Ruffa. I could still remember back then, whenever I overthink, I usually make myself so busy. With that, I avoid indulging on those thoughts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we want to be out on that situation we really have to think of a way that fan help ourself no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago