Cryptography: What is Polybius Square?

25 62
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
3 years ago

I am inloved in books of mystery novels specifically in Wattpad stories and one of the things that I've learned is deciphering a code. Cryptocurrency? Uhh let's forget it for the meantime and let's talk about cryptography! 

What is cryptography?

Cryptography is from the Greek word kryptos which means "hidden secret" in English language and graphein which means "to write" or "study". It is one of the way to communicate secretly and giving a hidden secret or meaning through writing. There's a lot of types of cryptography such as ROT cipher, atbash and many more! But today, I'm going to teach you the one of the easiest cipher which is Polybius Square. 

What is Polybius Square?

Polybius square is also known as the Polybius Checkerboard is one of the cryptography invented by Polybious, an Ancient Greek historian and scholar. 

How to use Polybius square?

We can use polybius square by simply creating a 5x5 grid that has a set of numbers and letters. 

You can use different grid such as 6x6, 7x7 and more but the commonly used by people are 5x5 grid. Now, how can we use it? It is very simple! First, you need to look on the number columns and number rows. Let me give an example.

As you can see the color blue is on the number 2 column and the red ones is on the number 4 row. The violet color is the equivalent letter of their number so if we will use it in a cipher, the code is 24 and when we decipher it, the result will be letter R. Meaning, the position where the given row and column overlapped, it is their equivalent letter. Let's have an another example so you will get it. Look at the table above for the reference. 

Let's try to decode this: 32-51-13-13-43

In this example, we have a lot of numbers since we have a word to decipher. If you look on the square [photo], the number 32 is equal to letter H, 51 is E, 13 is L and 43 is O. With the use of substitution;

32-H

51-E

13-L

13-L

43-O

The answer is HELLO. Great! Shall I call you a cyrptographist now? Just kidding, I don't know if the word cryptographist exist. Take your time to read. You will decipher a code at the end of this article. 

Do you think I am doing this for nothing? Of course not! I am here to share how this cryptography helpful and can be use in real life situation. Personally, I am using cryptography in real life, how? I am using it as my password. Commonly, people are memorizing their passwords so they can always write it in the input box but personally, I am not memorizing my password, why? because I am using cryptography as my password. Well, I don't want to say anything because password is a serious topic. 

Weakness

Despite of having a lot of numbers and quite complex, Polybius square has also a weakness. Its weakness is it is easy to crack or decipher especially when you know how to do it. By just substituting their value, you can crack the code immediately.

APPLY WHAT YOU HAVE LEARNED!

Can you do it by yourself now? If yes, then let's have a game! This game is entitled "I AM JUMBLED" in this game, all you need to do is to decipher the code and get the hidden word! I will give some clues in a form of conundrum so it is not that obvious. The first person who can get the correct answer will receive $0.500 from me so your effort will not be in vain. 


                    I AM JUMBLED

    51-42-51-41-11-31-24-11-11-23-24

CLUE: You need me, everyone needs me. I am one of the foundation of people.

Note: Clues are everywhere.


This game will not end unless someone already cracked the code. I will monitor my notifications so I will know the winner immediately. I will announce the winner in my noisecash account, keep updated on my account. Goodluck!

Source:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cryptography

Visit me on:

Readcash | Publish0x | Noisecash | Twitter | Telegram | Den | Torum
Some articles that worth to read:
Club1BCH-The Genesis
How I spread BCH awareness in our community
Earn free BAT by clicking ads
Don't read this
New goal, new challenge, new wallet
#Club1BCH
We💚BCH

11
$ 5.58
$ 5.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
+ 2
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
3 years ago

Comments

I was also obsessed on deciphering codes especially when I've read Project Loki, Detective Files and other mystery/detective stories. Oh, the word js Camaraderie. But, I'm late HAHAHAHAHA.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow great content! I have an idea on what technique I can do to cipher my passwords and other important details.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I'm also using different cipher for my password.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galing naman Laulau 🤩. Need mo paba ng patter para dito? Anyway, here's my answer, Camaraderie. I read this word to some of your article before ee, for many times na nga.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Pattern po? No need na po, depende po sa inyo kung hihirapan mo yung code😆 tama po camaraderie hehehe sabi na madali lang yun eh😆 may nakasagot na po eh kaya bigyan ko na lang kayo ng maliit na upvote😆 yes po hehehe camaraderie is friendship, it is what we need.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mean sayo, saulo mo naba ung pattern I mean? Salamat 😚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ng polybius po? Opo naman madali lang naman tingin lang sa column and row

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ung wala ng tinginan? Ginamit kong hint yan sa shareble link kanina ahahaha abay may nakahuli din ee haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay mahirap po kapag wala nung table hahaha wow inapply mo na po pala hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo ahahaha, abay nahulaan ang kagagaling haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha sayang di ko po nakita ppst mo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Laurenceuuu hacker! 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha I'm not😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm late, I didn't check when I saw your post on noise cash🤣😂🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️sayang prize gipit pa naman ako🤣😂😂🙃💚💚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha gipit din ako, para lang hindi boring yung article😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe this one is easy to decipher. Haha xD But educational! Let's learn statistic next! Haha xD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha I learned it from Wattpad. Statistics is my weakness😆 let's try calculus even it is harder than statistics😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha calculus my gash! Haha xD😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha it is difficult😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeees! Indeed. Specially the maxima minima rates xD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I already forgot that haha, we studied maxima and minima in Grade 10 if I'm not mistaken.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ow you will be reminded once u take up engineering

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe I will😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

51-42-51-41-11-31-24-11-11-23-24 E i e d a c r a a m r

Is it - camaraderie -?

$ 0.50
3 years ago

Great! You got it. Thanks for participating💚

$ 0.00
3 years ago