Having problem thinking of a topic to write? You can try these 3 ways

44 87
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I decided to write about this after seeing @Yinye_xo article a few days ago talking about writer's block (check it out: am I still here?) and I commented on it, giving her some advice and things she can do to overcome that problem.

Image credit: Cartoon vector created by jcomp - www.freepik.com

I got carried away while typing the comment and it became really long, it could have been longer than that and end up becoming an article inside another article if I didn't take the initiative to cut out sone parts.

I still had a lot to say and I figured a lot of persons especially newbies might be experiencing this problem as well, so I opted to write an article on it. I even told yinye_xo that I have gotten an idea for an article while making that comment πŸ˜ƒ

I might not be the person to be advising about this, seeing as I'm still quite new on readcash (going to 2 months now) and I won't say I know it more than those that have been here for long, but I have never experienced writer's block (at least while on this platform).

I have never experienced writer's block while here, does that mean I don't know what it is or how it feels? Of course not, readcash isn't the first platform I have written for, I have done so for several forums and websites, but I will say this is the first place I'm actually enjoying writing.

While writing for other platforms in the past, I experienced writer's block most of the time and I ended up plagiarising articles. I could have done the same on this platform, but while I was still been being introduced to this community, I already got something I want to write about.

After my first post, I still had some tricks up my sleeve and there were still a couple of ideas in my head. I researched on content writing and how to get ideas for a topic, and one answer I got was using online forums like Quora and Reddit (I will come to this later).

Yinye_xo mentioned that most people write about their daily experiences (including me) but how will she do something like that as well when she's always home every day?

Image credit: School vector created by upklyak - www.freepik.com

I kind of get where she is coming from, I mean if it wasn't for school, I also will always be home every day and I can't possibly know what to write about my day because it will always be boring.

But before dissecting yinye_xo's article further, let me first talk about some of the ways I get topics to write on.


1. Everyday experiences

Image source

I didn't do this the first time I joined because I asked myself; "who will want to read about how my day was?". I change my mind after seeing some of @Princessbusayoarticles where she usually writes about her day, especially as a student.

I found out I actually enjoyed reading her articles and can actually relate to some of the things she talked about, so I started doing that as well. So sometimes, if anything interesting happens in school, I just write about it when I get back home.

Princessbusayo isn't the only person that writes about her day, most persons I follow also do the same and it's fun reading other people's experiences and learning about their lives.

I now know a couple of things about Jane, FarmGirl, tired_momma, George_Dee, JonicaBradley, HappyBoy, Kristofferquincy, king_gozie, and a lot of other persons just after a month of reading their articles.

Sharing your everyday experiences is one way to create a connection with other persons here, as you're opening up to them by letting everyone know a few things about you.


2. Online forums and social media

Image credit: Tree vector created by stories - www.freepik.com

This is the second way I get some of the topics to write on. If you're a frequent reader of my articles, you will notice I always make mention of nairaland forum. It's a Nigerian forum that I will consider the biggest in Africa, having more than 2 million members from different countries.

Different topics are discussed every day which are mostly news articles, but sometimes someone can just bring up an interesting topic which will lead to a huge argument. If the topic is something I'm interested in, I also pick it up and build an article around it. An example is this article I did a few days ago; What careers turn you off?

You can also do the same by using your favorite online forum or website. You can get ideas from Quora, Reddit, and even social media like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. I even get topics from telegram and WhatsApp, an example is this article from 3 days ago; Nobody has ever traveled to space; they lied to us!


3. From other readcash users

This is another way I get ideas for an article; I get inspired by other persons. I spend more time every day reading articles than I actually use to write mine and anybody active here will always pick a thing or two from reading articles.

For example, the last article I did (Would you rather this or that?) was inspired by @Khing14 after I read a similar article she did. I have also gotten something like that from other persons and I even have some I have bookmarked and haven't done yet.

Even when I don't feel like writing a random article, I can just check out JonicaBradley's weekly prompts and pick a topic from there. I have written about 2 or 3 prompt articles and the last one was A distracting article.

So even when you can't write about your day and you haven't seen any interesting topics online (forums or social media), you can always opt-in for one of JonicaBradley's prompts and write about it.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

check out my wonderful sponsors and feel free to read their articles. Trust me, they are fun


Apart from all these I have mentioned, there are other ways you can get topics for an article, sometimes an idea might just hit me while taking my bath.

Yinye_xo mentioned something about how most people manage to write very long articles without losing context, but that's very possible if you have passion for what you're writing and you're very knowledgeable about it.

Sometimes I get carried away and end up writing an article that's 2000+ words, then I just have to split it into two. Most of my articles are 6 minutes read, with a few of them within the range of 4 to 5 minutes read and some are even up to 8 and 9 minutes, that's because I love writing.

I spoke in-depth about the difficulties most people have with writing in one of my articles titled Is writing really that difficult? You can check it out to read more about this.


A little detour

Yinye_xo also mentioned not getting visited by rusty despite all her hard work and I know quite well that it can really be frustrating.

I checked out all her articles and truly rusty haven't visited any. I actually felt bad for her because she got good engagements on her articles but rusty never visited.

Well, it turns out her latest article finally got rusty's attention and he tipped her really well! That was actually her 10th article and it finally got visited by rusty (@FarmGirl it looks familiar, right? πŸ˜‰)

She hasn't been online since the day she published her last article, she's in for a big surprise when she gets back (I hope she hasn't given up).


Closing thoughts

Using all these methods I mentioned, I have never run out of ideas for a topic to write about and I'm sometimes overwhelmed by the number of articles I have pending.

Right now I have some topics I have noted down and will write on them when I finally get the chance, and I keep coming up with more topics every day. So you can also use the same methods I'm using or you can even discover something else that works for you.

Good luck on your writing journey and don't ever give up

Thanks for reading πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

September 23, 2021

14
$ 4.29
$ 3.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I always do the middle one.... I watch a lot of online and spend so much time on social media and always have something or the other to read and write about :))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can get so much to write about from social media and the internet 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true words sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a bro 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops I'm so sorry bro lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem dear πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can get information and content idea from everywhere. Because everything has a story to tell we just need to focus on it for time being. We need to widen our eyes to look for a lot of stories .. we also need to find our motivation and ignite our passion in wri5 because that is more important

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're absolutely right, we can get inspired by anything and all we just have to do is to focus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's aware of it, she couldn't contain her joy πŸ˜‚. I visit nairaland almost everyday because it's like a "google" made specially for Nigerians. I don't think there's anything you can search there that you won't see. So far it's related to the country. The ways you stated are all right and are Smart ways of getting out of the Writer's block.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good, her efforts has finally paid off and rusty has noticed her. She should keep writing articles o, I know it's not easy but she should just try her best.

Nairaland is like Google and twitter combined, and that's where I usually get most of my news. It has the reliability of Google and also the craziness of twitter πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are all good ideas to get inspiration to write. And about the robot visits. I can tell you my own experience. I wasn't visited by him until my article 25 and after almost two months of being active. So my advice to anyone regarding this is don't give up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! That's just frustrating. You have lots of patience to be able to stay that long without quiting. I know I would have given up with the first 2 weeks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But it was worth the patience because now I'm doing very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a newbie. I'm inspired

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this useful ideas. Surely it will be a big help to us starters here. Been a two-week user already and really sometimes I am lost in what topic to write.

Upon seeing your comment on Kelzy's article about newbie tips, I immediately went here to read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just take it easy and with time you will always have topics to write about. You seem to be on the right path as it's obvious that you're interacting with other people here, you will certainly get an idea or two from their articles. Goodluck on your writing journey here πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thank you!!! I also tried Joining prompts whenever I am lost of the topic to write. Reading some articles from others is really of great help. I learn so many things from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep it up πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your tips are very well on point and I believe that we can overcome writers block if we open our minds to the things happening around us.

Another thing I observe is that people who engage with others content can't run out of topics because the will find things to share as lessons and idea.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, I noticed ever since I became very active on this platform, I never ran out of ideas. Most times I pick an idea from other people's experiences while reading their article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just a fact many do not know, keep exploring buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very helpful to us who have a hard time on what topic to write everyday. Thank you for this.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you find it helpful, you're welcome πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always so hard to write about your day when you are never doing anything, I sometimes take the social media approach and check out topics to write about. Hehe, One day this article will be read by people looking for solution to writers block I know it✌, it is a really good article!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks very much for the positive feedback bro πŸ™ I noticed this is a problem faced by many people and I hope my article will be able to offer some assistance to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yieee! Sometimes I also stock what to write that's why I don't push it because it will cause me headache. Hehe. But The prompt about "distraction" is really on the line, it's just there's a lot above pending titles that comes to my mind first. Haha this is really relatable to I published earlier hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also get headaches if I think too much on what to write. You can try that prompt about distraction anytime you're free, I would love to read your version if it 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe the ideas you mentioned above will help a lot to avoid writer's block. Specially sharing about your daily routine is the best way to let others know about us and to reach our target of writing one article everyday. Thank you for the tips.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome Farah πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is cool Kush! Thank you for putting it up for all to get ideas on what to write about. You're awesome!

And yes, that experience of Yinye_xo sounds familiar indeed! Hope she has not given up :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much for the good words ma'am πŸ€— I also hope she hasn't given up now that she has finally gotten rusty's attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think she will log on again and she will be really surprised :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice friend. Surely more than one will thank you, including me. So far I have not experienced writer's block, we will see what happens as the days go by.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As long as you're very active here, you will hardly come across writer's block coz you will always pick one or two ideas from other people's article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very right with all these tips you have mentioned. Whenever I Experience writer's block, I just switched to writing about my day and many times, I have got inspired by other articles here and that has made me come up with something. I even read stories and novels too, it's an inspiration though. I have couple of articles in my draft right now and I pick them up and form my article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, stories and novels is another way to get an inspiration for a topic, I haven't actually thought of that. It's been long I read a novel, but I think I will look into that during school holidays. Thanks for the helpful comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this methods Kushyzee. It helps us a lot. I love joining challenges too, it makes me challenge while answering those random questions. Hehe I relate while taking a bath a new topic comes up in my mind.☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes Ramona, those challenges are really helpful and helps me most times when I'm too lazy to write my own ideas πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Kushyzee and thank you for this...☺️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Using all these methods you mentioned I'm sure I would never run out of ideas for a topic to write about. Thanks for this helpful article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the same style.. I do that often when I am out of topic to write.. I just scroll here to get some ideas from other writers..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That method helps me a lot whenever I'm stuck in writer's block. It's nice that we all inspire each other 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... It's called team work

$ 0.00
2 years ago