Fun childhood activities you might relate to

50 50
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

Today is children's day celebration in Nigeria but I didn't actually feel the impact. I didn't even know today is children's day until my younger sister mentioned it. I saw her at home in the morning and asked if she was not going to school and she replied; "why will schools be open when today is children's day?" 😆.

Anyways, I felt it's only proper if we are to talk about the things we did during our childhood. I will also share some pictures you might recognize if you were born in the 90s 😉 but first, let's start with those memories some of us had from our childhood.

1. Playing in the rain

Image by Alice Santana

It's funny how I no longer love to play in the rain these days because I find it too cold but I did it a lot as a kid. Once it starts raining, my siblings and I quickly rush down into the rain and start running around, but we only do that when my mom isn't at home.

We play in the rain for a long time and then we quickly take off our clothes and change into a new ones so that our mom won't find out what we did. Sometimes we end up getting caught and what follows is several minutes of serious ass whooping while we keep screaming promises of never entering the rain again. But what happens the next time it rains? We enter again 😂

2. Roleplaying

Image source

This can be anything from doctor and patient down to a trader and customer. I and my siblings used our sitting room as an entire city back then for our role playing 😂 one section is our home (which includes kitchen and bathroom), and another section is our office then we still have the market section.

My sister and I pretend to go to work in the "morning" while my last sister stays home because she's our child 😆. Cooking is usually done using old tin cans and pieces of paper rolled into tiny balls serve as the food. Lest I forget, we even had cars 😂 we use our couch as a makeshift car, we use our mouths to mimic the sound of a moving car.

3. Indoor and outdoor games

Now, this part takes a major chunk of my childhood! We had lots of games back then from simple ones like "who is in the garden" to advanced ones like police vs thief. Some games will turn you into physicists as you will keep calculating the angle and speed required to defeat your opponent like the biro game below. 😆

Each player try to push the other pen off the desk with just one tap of their finger

Image source

You know another complicated game? Skipping rope! And I don't mean the regular ones where you will just be jumping over the ropes, we did it why doing different tricks with how hands and legs, then we started counting to see who gets the highest number of jumps

4. "Let me keep it for you"

Anytime you hear your mom say that sentence, just know you're never going to get that thing again 😂 the thing I am talking about is money. Whenever we have a visitor and they give me some money, my mom will always say "let me help you to hold it" and that's the last time I will see it. Whenever I ask about it, she will tell me she has used it to buy clothes for me. I already have lots of clothes mom! 😆

5. Saturday morning cartoons

Image source

Saturdays were the best day for a lot of us back then and it was not just because there was no school but also because we get to watch cartoons all morning. Cartoons start showing as early as 6am and keep airing until noon. The classics back then were superman, Voltron, Tom and Jerry, animaniacs, kids next door and many others I have forgotten.

6. Unexpected vacations?

To be continued...


I discovered I can't fit everything into one article or else it will be too long, so at this point, I will just cut it short and continue tomorrow 😉 which of these memories can you relate to? Let me know in the comment section

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Friday May 27, 2022

16
$ 4.37
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 18
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

Comments

During police and thief, my pretend gun was always a machine gun and I'd make the krrrrrr sound to show I was shooting many bullets lol.

The amount of money my mum helped me keep eh... The day I asked for it, she said they used it to pay for my school fees. I cried eh, like who even told them I liked school in the first place 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

School fees? 😂 That one is extreme and a bit cruel. It's the fact that most of us don't even like school back then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha the number 4 image is hilarious 😂, my father used to do that, "Lemme keep it for you". Skipping rope and "chinese garter" are Philippines fun game too! The bath in the rain we still do today esp when at the beach.

The biro game, I'm thinking about the pen cause it's tint will be gone once it drops the floor haha. Biro in Philippines means "joke".

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, I guess I can just call it "pen game" 😁. We usually close the tip of the pen so the tint won't be gone when it drops to the floor

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha hope it won't but usually it lost ink.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now you have brought me back to my childhood days lol!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am glad I did 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That play with biro on desk pinned us down while in secondary school. We named it "Pendesk" and it's a maddd game. See eh, there were times we left teacher and his teachings to go and play this game...to be able to meet a Target before the end of the day🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That game was legendary back in the days, it's funny how we took it very serious back then, na full blown war 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me keep it for you 😂😂😂 African parents are the best honestly

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am telling you bro 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are fun games indeed. And "Let me keep it for you" was something that Mom never played with me, lol!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess your mom is different 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All of these are became part of my childhood golden memories, especially bathing in the rain, until now I often done this haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was just smiling because I could relate to every activities here. It was really fun then from role playing to suwe game, after round one, original panadol extra....you still remember this? 🤣🤣🤣

That part where mom would promise to keep money for you, just forget it or you borrowed her your money, don't ever ask her again because she will ask "don't you eat in the house?" 🤣🤣🤣 Full of tricks then

$ 0.02
1 year ago

After round one is not for the weak, some people end up crying because of that game 😂 I also played suwe a lot back then, it's just sad that I no longer see kids playing those games these days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha running and playing under the rain naked while having fun with siblings was one of the best memories of childhood. Now, same as you I find it too cold. Just few droplets of rain on my head? Means catching cold😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂 I guess it was more fun during our childhood because we did it with others

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh it is, I can say I most of my childhood was really spent on physical activities game.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, there wasn't much technology lying around like phones and computers, but these days we have a lot of that and I guess that's why children no longer play outside

$ 0.00
1 year ago

right and won't be surprised if these generation gonna have a poor eyesight early!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I definitely see that coming

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😅🤣 The way I played that biro game eh? If e dey give money I for be billionaire now. I also enjoy playing in the rain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to everything 😂, especially that lemme keep for you🤷‍♀️😩

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mothers all around the world did that trick, they are the original Yahoo boys 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂😂 I play that biro for school ehn. Rain own too dey sweet 😋😋

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That biro game is for legends 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How I wish I could go back into my childhood days and enjoy these things. In fairness even though we are from different country, we almost have the same activities.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Those are the things I missed about my childhood. Although we didn't have much, we still found a way to be happy 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too, specially playing in the rain it was my favorite, now that we are into rainy season, my kids are enjoying taking a bath and playing in the rain. Reminds me of my younger self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some mothers won't allow their children go into the rain, your kids are lucky that you're allowing them to experience that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They needed to experience it so that they can share it with their future children as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's very smart, they will have fun memories to share when they are older just like us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May 27 is just for Nigerians, I think the world children's days is in November. Childhood was fun, those games were really hilarious.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for the correction, I didn't even know each country have their own children's day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Roleplaying and playing in the rain, I tried those. How I miss those times, now my kids are the ones doing it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hardly see kids do it these days, many of them no longer play outside and already have phones at a young age

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Here in our place, i only saw few children having outdoor games because mostly stayed in the computer shop in the neighborhood

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The pen own, I can't forget secondary school days, we all had different skills to pull your pen down from the table

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The amount of concentration we put in that game is something else 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, if we were to calculate all the money we gave our mothers to keep, it would have been enough to sponsor Read.cash for another 5years 😅😂 Biro thought us a lot of maths sha,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My mom scam me tire but I later started using sense for her and anytime they give me money when she's not around, I will hide it 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The #6 though... Mothers are scammers too 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂 they are the same all over the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate with playing in the rain and roleplaying. I have such good memories on those two! Haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess everyone did roleplays during their childhood 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know I've actually never played in the rain. I was always shut inside the house anytime it rained while I was still a kid. But I think I relate with the rest... Watched cartoons on Saturday mornings, played biro - like we normally call it... e.t.c,. :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess your mom or someone older was always around that made sure you never go outside during the rain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was always my Dad. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago