"What is the meanest or worst thing anyone's ever labelled you?"

26 81
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

I know you all got some cool nicknames, well I'm not really driving towards that direction though but because you fall into a different kind of people.

Something I've been thinking for so long Labels: most jokes have some sort of racial sentiments and that is something we say we have to get used to but unfortunately when the jokes starts being about the individual's originality, the line is crossed and that is between insecurities and outright curse. It becomes inappropriate and unacceptable to come into acceptance.

It gets to a point where you can sort of predict any conversation or any joke inserting cursive words and you pretend to be naive about it.

Social Labels

Source

It is a method of distinction, calling someone just by color isn't going to cause a breakdown but with the very existence of labels that still encourages these segregation, created as a source to most judgement.

In relationships, in religions, in countries and in varying genders are prominent ways where there are stigma's of being different. Labelling comes in play for instance, when you see your friend doing something unique we label them, when you see a lady at the top it comes with this aggressive look and name calling, or even in the area of varying countries.

Even if we all pass through these really childish phase there will always be this form of separation and I ask myself "why a person will be labelled in a society based on background and in context of any slight emotions? Without this so many tragedies could have been avoided, so many suicide cases will reduce all around the world.

Internet Labels

One of the worst problems is the internet, there is this constant circle of being who you are not supposed to be and calling it normal. And I know we live in a society where the struggle for equality is lesser by the day but then again it keeps going round in circles till when labelling cease to exist which feels impossible still.

Sponsors of King_Gozie
empty
empty
empty

Check out my wonderful sponsors

The main hitch up is the community will tell you yes! Be your self, do not let anyone drive you off from being you are still the ones that will say "Be yourselves but in this way". You must always oblige to a certain way in the process of also being you, it doesn't make total sense....for you to be noticed in the place you find yourself or basically interacted with you must be among a set of clique look like them, talk like them, dress like them or you'd be called names.

Country side Labels

Over here whatsover you sell is like a trade mark, if you sell maybe soap you will be called 'Iya soap' which implies mother of soap or Madam soap...you get tagged with what you sell, what you eat the most, by your street number, by your cloth color, by the school you attend, by your addictions mostly if you sleep around. It's so funny because even the next person being called will answer like nothing had happened. We have grown to love what sometimes reduces our self esteem, and our love for ourselves.

Labels can go as far back as to when a baby is about to be born, if the child is going to be a boy or a girl that is when the typical Nigerian igbo man will cherish his male child more than his girls which shows that our relative reactions towards being labelled varies.

What are the essence of who we really are, of the people buried underneath those carvings or labels. Take a moment and imagine the moments of what labels really mean to you. Many of these labels can make you happy, stronger, sad, depressed and angry.

Comment down below on what sweet nicknames you've been called for as long as you could remember.

Thank you for your time.

Cycled prayers

"Dear me"

Can we please talk now?

Bye for now

|04 August 2021|

This is myย  article for @JonicaBradley writing promptย Labels

The rules are simple:

1. Write anything on Labels
2. Write 100% original content
3. Write at least 600 words
4. Tag @JonicaBradley
5. Join theย community here and submit your story or article there.
6. HAVE FUN!

16
$ 8.30
$ 7.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

Comments

I was named Bestre by friends back in high school and then kaps short for "kapatid" or sibling. I can't remember what other nick names I have earned but nothing sticks. Now I'm being called "kuboy" or cowboy by Coquicoin :D

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Love the names though, sometimes could just be how much of a fun or how interesting you could be to them....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Starting this topic I never realised it will affect people so much in the way it did, it is to show that this is a very common topic and really need to be addressed. We as Individuals should not rightly accept these label because quite franky they can hurt most especially when they are negative.

We should not be labelled by our physical looks, by the kind of jobs we do, by the kind of friends we keep, we shouldn't be labelled because we fail to succumb to peeer pressure. Most of the advice we get is to always ignore and people tend to do that a lot, but enough of the excuse whether we do it consciously or unconsciously these act of labeling most stop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so common here in Nigeria. Especially when they call you with what you sell "Iya Eleja" (Fish mother๐Ÿ˜€) also though some tags aren't good with constant repetition people tend to accept it.

I will push the pet prompt forward and write on label today

$ 0.10
2 years ago

So true ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… most people have even refused to change the notion again just like you've stated... Look forward to reading yours Happyboy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello sir Gozie..

Labels has a good and bad impacts to every individual. They label as on what they seen from you. It's okay if it is good but if it is bad, no! It can hurt people feelings. You can add more worries to the life of people.

We should learn on how to labels to others. Don't shows it openly. It makes them sad. Remember we're all the same. We're not all perfect. One of us has our own labels. The most important we should learn the dos' and don'ts..

More blessings to you sir Gozie..๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.15
2 years ago

I was called a 'bully' by my own homeroom teacher in grade school. There was this kid who often pulled pranks on me. He teased me and drew mean things on my desk with permanent marker. I just brushed it off as I didn't want to make things escalate. One time he joked about my family, my mind go black due to anger and punched him straight at the face.

$ 0.11
2 years ago

This really hits me, they call me crazy evil jerk, yes I get it sometimes I act like a jerk by ignoring people that I don't like, yet they are so mean to label me as that, it's humiliating. Anyways thanks for this, it really affects me.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You know this is so true. My mum as a pastor's wife being called, Mummy Church or Mummy Pastor. Its so funny at times I just laugh ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿคฃ. Labels can be so sad to answer at times though. Like calling someone by their physical looks hurtfully.

$ 0.16
2 years ago

Aigoo!.. I just remember the time when someone did call me a slut. Maybe I was a high school student at that time. I have this one classmate of mine, actually, I considered her as my friend. Well, it so happened that she had a crush on one of our boy classmates and unfortunately the boy likes I than her. So, she got mad at me for that reason. I was insulted, because I know in myself that I didn't do anything wrong and the fact that I don't even like the guy she had a crush on. Eventually, I forgave her for calling me like that, but I can't forget it.

Hmm.. I just considered what others labelled to me, as long as it can't insult me or something like that, then we're good. "We are not everyone's apple of the eye," remember? But I don't go for those label that hurts, especially my ego.

Some called me "Dang", I don't know where it came from thou..hihi, and others called me "Ren or Renren or Lyn"..

Just my sharing thing bro.๐Ÿ˜…

God bless you!๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ™

$ 0.30
2 years ago

This label things can be means somwtimes and hurting one's feelings at the end..and it's sad... nice to meet you ..sir. just a newbie passing by ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Welcome to Read,cash....already followed ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š...

It's so sad to be tagged a mean name or how people know you based on how you live your life...thaks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I made mine and will be posted later.
Rhe manifest label I got is when people call me "cold and unfriendly" because of my introverted personality..

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Look forward to reading yours, a lot of times people misread introverts because according to them they see introverts as being lonely, as what you where called.

But never mind them, you're just being you that's the best thing that can happen...๐Ÿ’•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The meanest label I get every time is โ€œhoeโ€ most people think I am a hoe which is not even so but I really donโ€™t care

Nice one chief

$ 0.40
2 years ago

You're not a hoe bro, sometimes we are been judged by our outward appearances....i love that you've move past that and you don't care which is very important thing to do... Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My neighbor labelled me as a flirt girl. They called me that because my circle of friends were mostly boys.

$ 0.15
2 years ago

They called me fuckboy when I didn't havemy first Girlfriends that time hahahqqhah. I'm laughing on that time I only wish that's true. Kidding

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I dont mind them if they label me or not, if its a postive labelling then thank you but if not well its up to them, you cant please everyone

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You're right you can't please everyone just be you. Thanks for this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The meanest label I got was, a burden. But right now, I am labeled as a mentor.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Well as for me, I don't mind them. I am too busy with myself and my life nowadays haha

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I like reading this. It's true that labels can make people sad as well as make them happy too.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

The meanest label I got was that I was a slut ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.10
2 years ago

They did call you that out of a place of hate, the best thing I will call you is a very strong, dedicated, caring and one of the smartest person I've ever known...

You saw who you really where even from the inside and it never drived you to your end. You special

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the nice words, anyway it was before but now I don't have much exposure with other people anymore and I like it.

$ 0.07
2 years ago