Labelling

27 51

I just read that this week's writing prompt by @JonicaBradley is about labels. I had fun reading her article and her husband is really funny who kept insisting about the square because he labelled all shapes as sqaures. But when I was reading it, the label that instantly run through my mind was about relationships. I am not sure if there will be some people who can relate with it but it has something to do about "defining the relationship".

If you have been an avid reader of mine, you would know about my past relationships. How important are labels in a relationship? In my past experiences, even if I have not experienced that labels, I know that it is important because you get to call someone officially as your partner. I used to introduce my past flirtationship as my friend because I have no right to call him as my boyfriend. Sometimes I do not even want people asking about who he was or who am I in his life. It is a question that the two of us find it difficult to answer. We were friends but we treated each other differently. I would be present when he would have basketball games and I would cheer him on the bleachers. I would be there whenever he calls. I was like a girlfriend but I was just a friend.

Because our relationship does not have any labels, we were not entitled to get jealous, expect nor demand a lot of things to each other but that was not the case. Of course I did get jealous when I saw a woman messaged him on Viber in the middle of the night when he asked me to wear his smart watch while he was playing basketball. Maybe you are wondering why a basketball game in the middle of the night. Since both of us were working in the food industry and most basketball games against different restaurants or branches would compete after closing time and that would be around 1-2AM.

Going back, that time I wanted to throw his watch and walk out but all of his things were with me and I had no one to ask to guard his things for me. I did not read what the message was but I saw the name of the woman and I know that she was in Canada. Maybe his girlfriend or fling when he was there and probably still his girlfriend even if he was already here. I do not know and I did not bother to confront him since we did not have any labels.

My mood changed from happy to extremely mad. I did not talk to him after the game and the good thing was I had an excuse why the sudden change in my mood. I told him that I was already sleepy because I drank a lot before the game started. He allowed me to drink with his workmates while waiting for the game. It was my excuse and he believed me. The following day, I did not text him that I was already at work nor did I text him that it was my break time. He noticed that I was being cold and he got the nerve to pick a fight with me. Friends do not do those kind of things right? It was really as if we were in a relationship but then again with no labels. Of course I did not want him to get mad at me so I wooed him. I wanted to confront him about the person who messaged him that night but I stopped myself because I know where I stand. I have no right. I was not his girlfriend. We did not have any labels. We were just friends.

Yes we have defined our relationship before and we were really just friends. Even if we did not had any labels, I can say that I know where I stand because from the start he made it clear that we cannot be officially girlfriend-boyfriend. Though I did not know why he had to make me feel like he was my boyfriend and that was really confusing. Yes it was I who asked him to update me about his whereabouts but it was after he came back from Canada. I do not knoe why I started to demand something from him. We just somehow upgraded our flirtationship with that but we were still friends. But there were times that he would be jealous of the people that I was with especially if it was with other guys. There was also a moment when he misinterpreted my action with his workmate. He even said that I was flirting with his workmate. Honestly, I sometimes liked it when he expresses his jealousy. I felt so pretty. LOL. Kidding aside. I felt like we were unofficially official. That even if we did not had any labels, I felt something though I do not know if his feelings were real or he was just a great player and I was his game. I think that even if we did have labels, I know that I would still not be the right person for him.

Have you also experienced being in a relationship with no labels? Without labels mean that there is no commitment, no demands and most especially no expectations. Having labels in a relationship is just as important like it is for the products of a business.

When I decided to start my business, I thought about what name to call my business abd even my logo. But it was only after 2 years when I have decided to label my item by putting some stickers with the help of Firenze. My label before was a small tag and it was just the business name and mobile number that I tied around the jar. But now it is more elegant and pleasing to the eyes. It is easier to distinguish from other competitors especially when displayed on the rack.

Just look at that elegant label.

What is the connection of labelling a relationship and labelling a product? When you label both a relationship and a product, you would know whose property or who owns the person or the product. Have you ever seen a product that has no label? What can you say about it? A brand with no label looks dull. You won't even know what the contents or ingredients are and you won't even know who made it. That is also the same with a relationship with no label. You do not know if the feelings are real or not and you cannot call that person mine because you do not have any labels. Ouch!

This was the time when I still have not yet thought about my brand label. Would you prefer this or the one with the label?

I hope that we would not settle for this kind of relationship where there is no label. I have experienced it and I could say it was fun but it was hard because there were things that I wanted to do but I couldn't and what hurts even more is that I wanted to call him mine and for him to also call me his but we cannot because there was no us. It is better if your relationship has a label. So if you still do not have a label, go on and label your relationship but the choice will still be up to the both of you.

This is my  article for JonicaBradley's writing prompt #11 Labels

The rules are simple:

1. Write anything on Labels
2. Write 100% original content
3. Write at least 600 words (so Rusty will drop by and beer generous)
4. Tag @JonicaBradley
5. Join the Promptly Jonica community and submit your story or article there.
6. HAVE FUN!

Please consider running your article or story through a plagiarism checker.

P.S. lead image was our photo. Cannot remember what month this was but he was wearing his smart watch. I really hate seeing that watch. LOL.

9
$ 6.87
$ 5.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
+ 8
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Importante talaga yung label e. Para di mag aasume. Di masakit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun nga. Parang may say ka talaga kapag may label. Yun nga lang siguro mas doble nga lang sakit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahaha let's say may experience? Pero masakit talaga, doble..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experience? Yang experience ba na yan ang naiisip ko? Hehe. Oo mas sobrang masakit pa yun kung may nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap ang walang label. Parang kayo pero hindi. Pwede kang magselos pero wala kang karapatan. Ewan. Kumplikado. Magulong usapan. Hahaha! Hope you're fine now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, nakamove on na pero namimiss pa din siya paminsan-minsan. Hahaha. Ang hirap talaga. Gustohin ko man magselos kaso walang karapatan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Put label first para iwas sakit talaga eh . Ang sakit nung "I was like a girlfriend but I was just a friend".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Napakasakit talaga kaso wala magagawa. Ganun talaga. Ang mali ko is tinolerate ko pero ang gwapo din naman kasi at ang hot. Hahaha. Hihindi pa ba ako?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayuuunnnnn haha kaya pala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my recent post was about the writing prompt 11 too, where my title say something that labels are nothing but interpretation. It is good to thing have something to be labeled or give a name so that we can distinguish things from each other.

I also experienced that kind of relationship in the past, yong akala mong kayo pero wla nman palang tayo kasi walang declaration ng nararamdaman sa bawat isa. Nag ho-holding hands kyo, inaakbayan ka nya even hug each other like you were both inlove pero hindi nman pala. aarrrgghhhhh! 😭😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

WAHAHAHAHAHA!! Baka naman ikaw ang tinutukoy ko sa article ko Kuya Lars. Char! Pinaalala mo na naman ang nakaraan kong holding hands, hug at kiss pero hindi kayo. Aruy! Pero ako sinasabi kong iloveyou, reply lang niya Ok. or K ooooooouuuch! Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don tayo sa may label madam so we know where we should stand. Hehe. Wala na kayo communication til now?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nung nabasa ko na "dun tayo sa may label" ang unang inakala ko ay ang sa mga bawang. Hahaha. Wala na nga kami communication eh. Pero tumatakbo pa din siya sa utak ko paminsan-minsan. Hahaha. Siguro kasi walang naging kalandian after niya kaya baka siya pa din nasa utak ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate totally. Mahirap may bestfriend in the opposite sex kc kelangan talaga with label, with definition pa, heheh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naalala ko ang movie nila Kim-Gerald at Jolina-Marvin. Mga magbestfriend na nagkainlaban. Pero meron naman iilan na magbestfriend na opposite sex na hindi talaga nagkakainlaban.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat sineryoso mo na ate hehe. Sayang yun, mukhang mayaman pa naman. Taga-Canada po yon, hindi ba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Ako nga panay nagreregalo sa kanya. Wala siya niregalo sa akin. Huhuhu. Nagwork lang siya Canada.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do prefer your label to the blank jar full of stuff. (see what I did there?)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Blank jar? Very minimalist right? It is a jar full of crunchy fried chili and garlic in oil. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magulong Usapan pa kasi ee, ayaw ko ng ganyan. Mas masakit pag ganyan ee. Maigi pang wala nalang. Pero bat ganon, talagang ang tagal mo ding nakaya na ganon ang setup nyo. Bakot di nalang nag move into next level ng relasyon. Bat kailangan pang pahirapan ang mga sarili if may solusyon naman. Ay ambot talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala. Ayaw niya ng commitments. Kaya masakit nung nalaman ko na nakipagcommit siya sa naging workmate niya. Na ibig sabihin lang nun ay minahal niya talaga yun para makipagcommit siya doon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsss, sana nong nakita mo pinatikim mo ng sabunot. Parang pinapaasa ka na kasi nya kasi masyado syang you know. Base sa kwento mo parang may feelings na sya sau kaso pinipigilan talaga. Tsk

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ano parang "friends with benefits" lang talaga ang sa amin. Huhuhu.

Hindi na kami nagkita after niya ako inaway sa text. After nung inaway niya ako, hindi na talaga siya nagparamdam. Nabalitaan ko na lang na sila na nung workmate niya through mutual friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we should ask for label. Don't settle for almost. Don't settle for less. It's now or never. There is no in between.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pumayag na lang din ako kasi ang gwapo tska ang hot. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep I'm up for labels... Some side non-labels are fun every once in a while.. but it stops being fun when you forget that it's a non-label. haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Fun and painful at the same time. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago