ENGLISH is my weakness! Shall I feel ashamed?

53 61
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Date: November 13, 2021 

I will be on block leave next week. It's a 5-day consecutive leaves.

We are required to take block leave because as much as possible, our company wants us to unwind a bit from our 1 year worth of hardwork. It is mandatory and we have to conply accordingly.

In preparation for my block leave, I have conducted a Knowledge Transfer session with my colleagues. The purpose of the session is to familiarize them with the stuffs I usually do during my shift in APAC business hours.

Part of my duty being the APAC shifter is to attend in a ready for business call and report the status of each of our supported applications.

It is important for me to relay the correct steps and techniques to my colleagues because I've already set a bar to our Senior Managers. My manager told me that his boss walked to his desk one day and told him how he was impressed with the way I present our applications' status during that ready for business call.

And that impression I made for our team is what I wanted to maintain eventhough I am not the one to represent our application in the call. I wanted the senior management to see our team being one of the best team in our department.

Every Friday njght, we have a team meeting where each one of us has to present the work that each of us has done all throughout the week. Of course I reported the knowledge transfer session that I have conducted with my colleagues. And while I am talking I told my boss that we did a "mock presentation" so to give my colleagues an idea on how I am presenting our applications in that call.

Everything's okay from my end. I am confident with what I am discussing at that time.

But then suddenly, my Boss repeated the word "MOCK" into which I have pronounced as "MAK". So I elaborated what I meant which is like a practice presentation..and then he corrected my pronounciation and hence I learned that the correct pronounciation should be "MOK". They all laughed at me.

Will you be able to guess what's my reaction?

Do think I felt embarrased?

Did I feel ashamed?

Did I feel so low?

Did it make me upset?

Nah! None of the above!

I actually joined them laughing at myself because since I learned how to read english, I read "MOCK" as "MAK" instead of "MOK".

My colleagues actually teased me and ask me who is my english teacher back then? Is she or he still alive? Is she or he still in the Philippines? And guess what? That quick moment of mispronounciation made them all laugh and I felt like everyones mood has changed. Ahahaha. And you know what? I felt proud of myself because I became my colleagues medium to enlighten their mood during our team meeting earlier. I was the first called out to present and I am happy to share that the happy mood stays with us till the end of our call!


Eversince, during our one on one, I told him that I am not really good in grammar, I have poor twisted tongue, and I am not really good in english in general.

But you know what? my Boss always is always opposing it. He keep on telling me the opposite of it, and he even told me oftenly that I am a star!

That's how my Boss motivates me which help increase my confidence in speaking english.


So to you my fellow readers and writers who are also struggling in speaking english, don't loose your confidence! It doesn't define our skills. It doesn't define how far we can go or how high we can soar.

I know english is our universal language but we should never expect that all of us is fluent in speaking the same, because we do have different mother tongue.

Oh! by the way, this reminded me of my experience here in read.cash during my first few weeks in here.

I tried to submit my article to a community, but then the moderator rejected it.

And you might already guessed what's her or his reason for rejecting it. The moderator said that my article has lots or grammatical error. He or she even suggested me to use grammarly to check and correct those grammatical error in my article which I also followed. I tried to resubmit my article on the same community after I fixed the grammatical errors via grammarly but for some reason, it is not working already.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

19
$ 6.79
$ 6.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.07 from @Lovelyfaith
+ 12
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

I can imagine the situation and if that happened to me, I would have done the same thing. I'll laugh with them. Really, there is nothing to be ashamed of. Besides, you being so good at other things is already more than enough.

Most people make grammatical errors and I see nothing wrong with it as long as it is understandable. Academic materials, formal papers, legal papers and all that are an exception of course.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep I strongly agree with you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bawing bawi ka Naman sa pagcocode mommy hehehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Trtuh sis..dun nalang ako bumabawi..hahaha...sablay sa comms eh..buti nalang hindi requirements sa work ang fluent mag english

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang na oobserve ko dito sa Pinas, pag mali yung yung pronunciation nila, for example, bisaya pinagtatawanan nila. Pero sa US hindi naman. dapat tangalin na ng mga pinoy yung ganun pag uugali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo po yan...parang may pagka bully ang pinoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understandable naman po na hindi magaling ang mga pinoy sa english kasi hindi naman ito ang first langauge natin. Some people lang po talaga are very ignorant. Pero don't mind them nalang po. Ang importante po is yung context.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah..hindi naman po ako apektado.aminado naman ako na hindi ako fluent mag rnglish talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako mas okay talaga ako sa sarili nating wika, English is just a language not the base of intelligence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka sks..hindi basehan ng pagiging matalino ang pagkafluent sa english

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not really good in speaking the English language too sis. Sometimes I pronounce the word incorrectly. But speaking the language with fluency doesn't matter. As long as understandable naman siya, okay na sa'kin yun.hahha We're not native speakers of the language. So, there's nothing to be ashamed of. Let's be thankful na lang kapag may magkokorek sa'tin. At least may natutunan tayo.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth sis..all this time hindi ko talaga alam na mali ang pag pronounce ko nung salita na yun..nakakaloka..hahaha..natawa nga ako din eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi nman natin native language ang English, so you don't need to be ashamed. Meron lng tlga iba pinoy na feeling kano haha. Kht nsa pinas mag eenglish. Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun yung iba kong officemeate sis..hehe..kahit yung normal na conversation lang nila, hindi sila nagtatagalog..kaya halata talaga na rixh kid sila...eh ako di hamak na promdi lang na napadpad sa syudad..hahaha..

Pero ayun nga, nung tinawanan nila yung pronounciation ko, nakitawa nalang ako..sabi ko ganun kasi ang turo nung teacher noon..pag o ang nasa word, ang basa dun a..hahaha..kaya akala ko ang basa sa mock ay mak..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, you can view it as a positive chenes pero pag ako tatakbo na ata ako nyan. I mean, I hate speaking nga in a crowded places tapos may mag kocorrect pa sakin about sa pronunciation ko I mean that's really embarrassing 🥺🙈. Pero ikaw , aguyyy di na ata maaalis to lalo pa bababa confidence ko pag sakin yan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakitawa na nga lang ako wiyh them sis..pero mula natuto ako magbasa mak na talaga ang basa ko sa mock at hindi mok..hehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same sakin mak din ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well knowing here in our country they define people who are good and smart talker as an intelligent one. I don't really understand where this essence coming from. Dha! Their are many intelligent person who are not good in writing and in speech. Speaking and writing using English language is a skill it is not the basis of how good you are. We have nothing to be ashamed talaga. Kiber! LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Korek..hahaha.. aminado naman talaga ako na hindi ako magaking mag english

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaranas din ako ng ganyan ng English teacher ko na pinagsabihan akong mali ang pagbigkas ko ng salita ,for ex. yong word na "gate".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oks lang yun sis..atleast teacher naman yung nagcorrect sa iyo nun so no offense yun for you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo at napahiya ako ng kunti sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou nga..nakaka offend din naman talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di rin din naman ako magaling sa English. Pero sanayin lang talaga ang sarili upang matuto.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo..oks naman sa akin kaya lang may time na sumasablay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sis, hirap sa english eh. Pero sige lang ng sige, matuto din tayo. Gumamit nga ako ng grammarly keyboard para at least papano, maging readable yung article ko at the same time natuto din ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May keyboard din na grammarly sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, yun gamit ko ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too, I don't get ashamed of my English. Given that English is not our native language. We are not perfect so there are times when we got mistake, it's just normal. Anyways, there's still room for improvement :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah agreed! There is always a room for improvement..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nku sis confused ako lagi sa english ko kung tama ba ang proper way sa pgdeliver ng mga words ko pero ok nmm grammar mo ah. May mga community tlga na ang arte arte sa englishan hahaha pero never ko naranasan mareject sa pgpublish. At least naintindihan ng mga readers yun ang importnte😉.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah..ou sis, bongga nga pagkabasa ko ng medsage nung moderator eh..pero sinunod ko naman sinabi nya na icheck yung grammar ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patay hahaha.. Ang daming acheche parang sasali ng contest. Hiyang hiya ang mga pure intelligent sa kanila. Too many to mentions here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung unang basa ko sis syempre ang reaction ko parang ah okay..para lang pala sa perfect mag english yung community nya..hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha tawang twa ako sis.. Yan sabi ko dati sa noise nahihiya ako mgread ksi nagkalat sa noise mga kayabangan nila. Kesyo mga feeling perfect dito sa read... Kaloka..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap din ako mag english sis dko alam kong tama ba lahat ng grammar ko hehe pero napagaaralan naman at hindi nman siya mahirp aralin isa din ang english kasi sa favorite subject ko noon.. hehhee and sabi ng isa kong frend ang ganda ko daw mag basa sa english kaya ngayon sa readcash ay nakakasulat ako ng mahaba habang english pero dati hindi naman hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya naman po magsalita at magsulat ng english pero sumasablay talaga ako sa grammar at pronounciation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok nman sis galing mo nga po mag english hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku nakakatsamba lang po minsan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also find it difficult to speak in public cos of my English too but I am sure I am trying my best. I am used to speaking my native language at home, I only speak English in school 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though English it's a common language now, person like myself still find it hard to Speak proper English

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. You should not be ashamed. As long as your english is understandable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahah it’s all fun and teasing in a work environment well for me English is not my mother’s tongue so why should I feel ashamed if I am not good at it ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I didn't join in any community here maybe they reject my English..

You have a good English sis I read more from your article and all are good ,unlike mine English carabao haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be ashamed po, marami po tayo😂 It is better to talk simple English words kasi marami any nakaka intended kysa malalim nga yung English Hindi naman gets nang kausap mo😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis.. universal language kasi ang english..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sis, pa apply naman sa company niyo. ang bait ng employer niyo cos they gave you that privileges. A big SANA ALL. Nah, don't be ashamed on that uy, this is not our Native language and imagine, of all other countries, we are more adaptable most especially in Languages and Cultures

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou sis..mabait sobra yung manager ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya minsan ayoko mag english sissy kahit basic lang na english hirap n hirap nako hahaha. Kahit tagalog minsan nahihirapan din itama ayiee ,ayan kasi di ako nag aral ng mabuti noon hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako man sis..academically naman eh maganda ang grades ko nhn pero pagdating talaga sa english grammar naku di ako maaasahan..pumapalya talaga din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing galing mo kaya sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth sis, sa iba kc pag magaling mag English matalino na pag hndi bubo na.. naalala ko lng tuloy nung nsa abroad ako, ung English carabao ko, sobrang na appreciate ng kausap kung foreigner,sabi maganda daw ako mag English at fluent,hahaha sa mga nag eenglish kc makapagsalit ka lng ng English gets na nila agad kahit inararo na ng kalabaw sa pagkabali baliko ung English mo para s kanila fluent na..wlang wrong grammar sa kanila..😂🤣 pero sa totoo lng sobrang hina ko dn sa English.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Apir tayo dyan sis..isa sa nagpapahirap din sa akin yung para bang naninigas ang dila ko kapag nagsasalita ng english..hahaha..para syang natutwist..

$ 0.00
2 years ago