Writing Prompt #23: Home Sweet Home

28 427
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Home, Love

Home sweet home. This is an expression I grew up with. It is the title of a song in the opera Clari. It is also a sentiment. The phrase expresses relief at coming home after a long journey.

To market to market to buy a black pig

Home again home again jiggety jig

I remember my mom reciting this nursery rhyme throughout my life. She still says it. As soon as she pulls her car into the garage she says, "Home again jiggety jig." The Mother Goose nursery rhyme is a bit longer.

We traveled a lot when I was a kid. A lot a lot. When I was 3 we traveled to Miami, Florida. When we returned my dad asked if I had gone to Miami. I replied, "No. We went to my mommy's ami." We traveled to Argentina when I was 5 or 6.

My mom and me in Argentina.

We traveled to Hawaii when I was 9.

Me in Hawaii.

We were forever traveling to Kansas. That is where my grandparents lived and where the Dick family farm is. Officially it is called the Sharon Dairy Farm. It is still there, though I haven't been in too many years.

That's me on the far right end. I was 2 or 3.

Me on the far right end again.

Most of you know I lived in Germany for 4 years.

I was 11 in this photo of me, my baby brother, Stefan, and my babiest brother, Alex.

For the past 11 years, I've lived on a small ranch in the Texas panhandle. Our house has gone through many changes. So have I.

This was how it looked when I first came here in 2010. My husband's grandparents owned this place. When his grandpa died, his grandma went to live with her oldest daughter. When she died, we came out here and started fixing the place up.

This was the view from the back. 12 years later and those small trees are huge. The grass isn't as green. We have the orchard blocked off so the goats and sheep don't get in to bother the chickens.

What I realized, facing a move to NY in the coming months, is home is where the heart is. And my heart is my husband. Wherever he goes, I will go. Wherever he lands, I will land. He is my home.

What is home for you? Is it your childhood house? Is it a person? Is it sweet? Home is not necessarily a safe place for everyone. Some people can't wait to get away. My Oldest daughter left home the second she turned 18. She went to University. My youngest did the same. He was gone within the week after he turned 18. I don't think he was fleeing home so much as he wanted out of the tiny city.

I want to hear about your home!

This has been a PromptlyJonica writing prompt. Would you like to join us? It is easy and fun!

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about snow

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

    All images photos by Jonica Bradley

13
$ 6.41
$ 6.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 5
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Home, Love

Comments

The cliches of life, my home is where my heart belongs too. We're not yet married nor engaged but I find peace and love when I'm with him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you stay together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Wishing and working for tying the knot too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

home sweet home :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Home sweet home ,I'm far from my family that's why I miss them so much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you get to spend time with them soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true, home is where the heart is, and yesterday I wrote something about my hometown 💞

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can always submit it to the PromptlyJonica community now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly miss my childhood days and those days while growing up in our humble home. Home sweet home. And by the way, you grew up gorgeously stunning!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also feel the same, home is where my heart is and my heart is my husband. Whenever I am with him, i feel the safest..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think that is the BEST feeling, isn't it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I just wrote mine like a day ago, I just got home recently from school and the title of the article is "I'm back home; home sweet home" .. You can check it out😊😫

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Would you please submit it to the PromptlyJonica community? That way I'll be sure to see it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok... I will do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

YAY! Keep an eye out for more prompts, or go to the link to find out all of the prompts. Feel free to write on any prompt any time as many times as you would like forever. https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-5a576c94

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No place like home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww you have been so beautiful in your childhood I will must insure my entry to the prompt very soon because home is very dear to me it's my own kingdom where I am comfortable to do what I want to

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly! I look forward to reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made me reminisce my childhood..How I miss to be back where I was born...hopefully this year, we will be able to visit in our province, my forever home.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My forever home keep turning out to not be forever. Haha. I'm just glad my husband is with me wherever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Home is whee our heart goes indeed. I find home as my safe place. You seem to gone through different places, but for real there's really a lot of reasons we can have to get back to where we belong, our original home.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you decide to take part in the PromptlyJonica Writing prompt challenge! I'd love to read what you write about your home, including all the reasons to get back to your original home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try Jonica. I will think of the best reasons to get back home. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope to read it soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago