Why My Mum Is Not A Strict Mom

35 49
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Every mother has her own unique approach to parenting and nurturing her children. It is up to them to determine how they will discipline their children. Some people favor the harsh approach, while others prefer the compassionate approach. Mother knows best, but not all the time. What were your parents' methods for disciplining you and your siblings? Was it a strenuous and tough one or a gentle one? When it comes to going out and hanging out with your friends, is your mother strict? If she does, it's fine because she simply cares about your safety.

But sometimes we can't help but think negatively, especially nowadays, when teenagers are easily irritated if their parents won't let them hang out with their friends. They will then become enraged, and questions will arise in their minds as to why their parents are like that, and why they must be so strict. They feel like they're in a cage. As they've said, the more strict the parents are, the more rebellious the kid will become. But still, it all depends on how the parents discipline their kids.

I would say that I am lucky that my mother is not a strict mother. She doesn't stop us from going wherever we want as long as we're with a good group of people. The only time my mother wouldn't let us hang out with our friends was when I was a kid. She wouldn't let me go outside because it was too hot and she wanted me to sleep in the afternoon. LOL, typical Filipina mothers. And as we grew older, she always allowed us to go and hang out with our friends. From our oldest to our youngest, we never heard her say "No" to us, except on my older brother. Which is the black sheep of the family (before).

She's confident in letting us go wherever we want because we're not the type of kids who love to go out and hang out with our friends, which also explains why she's not strict when it comes to that. Yes, we seldom go out of our house, and it is our own will, our choice to just stay in the house. We're not party-goers. That is why every time we asked her permission to hang out with our friends, she would automatically say, "Go ahead, that's good." "Enjoy!" Sometimes she will be the one who forces us to go out and have some fun. She is a super cool mom! 

Our mother once shared with us their teenage days, along with her siblings, who are my aunt and uncles. My mom was the eldest, and she got all the household work. She would even wash two sacks of clothes, and they were a huge family. She had eight siblings. My grandfather was a strict father, and my mother could detect favoritism toward her and her siblings. My mother said that she wasn't totally enjoying her teenage years because she was already focused on household chores. My grandfather would not let my mother leave the house even if her friends invited her to go out, even if it was only a few blocks away or just in the same barangay.

I feel sad for my cousin because my aunt is so strict with her. My aunt won't allow her to go out and hang out with her friends. She can only go out and enjoy herself if she's with us, her cousins. And, she's 23 already, yet her mom won't allow her to go out. Because of how strict her mother is, that is one of the things that she hates the most. Well, I just couldn't blame my aunt for being a strict parent because my cousin was their Única hija and the middle child. And I understand why they are so strict with their daughter. But sometimes, it's too much to the point that my cousin couldn't enjoy her life anymore.

My mom said that my aunt was so free during their teenage years that my grandpa would allow them to go wherever they wanted, except for my mom. That is why she promised to herself that if she gets a family of her own, she will allow her kids to go out and will not be the kind of strict parent to her children because she doesn't want her kids to experience the same way she experienced it way back in her teen years. 

So lucky to have a mom like her.

To someone who has a strict mother or parents, it's okay, they just did it for your own safety. But always remember,

Mother knows best, but not all the time. :)


Jini's Note:

Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate your presence here. I hope you had a great start of the week.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe buttons if you want to.

Arigathankyougozaimuch :>

0601202021

18
$ 7.07
$ 6.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @WanderingMedStudent
+ 9
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakaksakal ate amg strict parents sa totoo lang hehe. Oftentimes, lagi nilang iniisip na sila lagi ang tama kaya naiinis ako though I think that they were just doing the best but not all hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mothers help us in everything, they always guide us on the right path at all times. They are warriors.

My mom was strict when I was little. I still remember it ahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do have a strict mom who before doesn't allow us to go out with friends but I learned how to communicate with her. I tell her the things that I will not do and the people that I am with. Also, one thing that works is I tell her how lucky she is to have me as a son because I am not one of those kids out there who is addicted to drugs and does illegal things. It boils down to the thinking that if you want to be trusted, then, be the person who can be trusted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super trueee mare, nasa sa'tin na rin yun, we're old enough already to figure out what's right or wrong. Pero there are still othe parents out there na super strict talaga, same case na din sa pinsan ko, 23 na siya pero until now ayaw parin payagan. Para bang Wala siyang tiwala sa anak niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She is 23 and still can't go out on own?? oh man!! that'd suck... and you have got such a nice Mom.. she seems to be very caring woman.. good for you sis... in my family, both my Mom and dad were not strict.. but my dad had one very strict condition.. he would say "You can go whereever you want, but you must let me know where I can find you" .. that is quiet reasonable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes she's already 23 and up until now my aunt won't still let her go And enjoy hanging out with her friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true Langga. Parents have their own differences regarding their attitudes, on how they discipline with their children. Sometimes they are very strict which there is a possibility that the children are going to rebel or else their life will be destroy.

As a parent we should know how to balance it. Too much is not good also. It should have meet in the middle. Also it's depend of a situation. Parent should learn also on how to handling the things and realize it very well.

My father is so strict langga when it comes to hang out with friends. My mama only always said yes. I respect my papa too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely ate, everything should be in balance. Kay kung mag higpit kaayo sa bata, naa man gud tendency nga mag rebel ang tungod sa ka sobra ka strict, pero kung sobra ra pud ka but an og hatag nalang ang tanan, naa pud possiblity nga ma spoiled ang bata. That is why mas better gyud na balance ang pag discipline sa anak , not too harsh and not too soft

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga tama. Tinuod gayud na maong balance lang gayud. Always in the middle lang gayud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother was very strict when I was a child, she's a very tough disciplinarian. I was her first child, so she was at the peak of strictness while I was growing up 😆 but she relaxed a bit when my siblings were born. I am actually grateful for the way she raised me up, I would have ended up a spoilt brat if she wasn't strict

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents are strict especially to my brother because he was the one who support my studies so she has also the right to disallowed me.. But I am matured enough to know what's the best for me but i understand them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In terms of caring, my mom is nice and soft to nurture us but she is strict in the aspect of not allowing us be with boys. Though it is a way to protect us especially from premarital sex but we enjoy the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why don't dads and grandfathers figure in our society at all?) I've always said that when you don't want to take advice, your dad is smart and will advise you everything. Dad is used to it, like)))) My child, with pleasure, runs to him for advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a strict parents is okay, but when it comes to " Oww I already know what's wrong and correct" but still never allowed us to go somewhere alone? I don't think that's okay. We can do what we want in our right age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents are strict but moderate because they don't want to tolerate my badass attitude which I totally understood. So lucky we got parents like them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup, lucky us we got parents like them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents trusted me a lot, so I don't remember them ever limiting or saying no. I think that I have never let their trust down, even if I did, they didn't show it to me. I consider myself lucky in terms of family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, our parents trusted us so much, but except when it comes to our older brother hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother knows best but not all the time. I agree with this because as an adult at this age I've already know the good and the bad. Somehow it makes me feel that being a strict parents is not really a good thing for their children especially if they are already at the legal age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's totally okay to act strict sometimes, but should not be too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Among mader dae kay di pud stikta ,one time I heard my younger sister and my cousin chikabels,nangutana among agaw kung nag away naba daw among nanay og akong manghod then metubag akong manghod "wala oy ,alangan akong awayon si nanay nga mosabot raman siya sa ako gusto ,mo suporta man basta maminaw lang ko sa iyang pahinudum" then mitubag akong agaw og "sana ol nalang gyud kaming nanay hangtod ron wapay tingganay".Maka shock gamay ba naa pud diay ing ana nga mag ina mag away,kami kay mag igsuon raman mag away,🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kami kontra kaayo mi sa akong igsuon, magka lalis nalang gud mi ni mama tungod ras away namo sa akong igsuon hahaha pero naay Isa sa ako mga igsuon ang pirti gyud ka maldita, mao ragyud to siya ang kusog kaayo mo tubag ni mama, mangaway man gyud to hahaha pero karon Kay Wala na kay minyo naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Labaw na mi dae ,magbinug-noay pero sauna ra karun dina😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman cguro masama kung higpitan ng konti ang anak lalo kung babae, para din naman yon sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, wala namang masama don, mas mabuti kung pinapaintindi sa anak kung bakit sila mahigpit. Dahil para rin naman din yun sa ika bubuti nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My nanay is cool.hihi Siya paman gani nagtudlo nako nga kung musuroy kuno dapat mag-ilis daan usa mananghid para dili na makabalibad.hahaha Awesome advice diba. Bitaw, akong nanay kay buotan jud kabaliktaran sila ni tatay.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah cool gyud kaayo diay kaayo imo mama te kay support ra . Ako papa kay chill raman, pero dapat dili lang gyud pa suk on Kay kung masuko sobra ka isog hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all ate, kahit lalaki ako pinagbabawalan pa din akung gumagala. Lalo na ngayon may virus, bawal na bawal talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw oo, acceptable man karon Kay naay virus HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky you have such a kind mother and not a strict one,my mom always let's me out of the house most times to play since am still a teenager Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I guess you really had a super fun and memorable childhood days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww buti kapa nga ganyan sin mudrabels ko sakin hanggang College. Di ako makalaog, makapunta sa kahit saan kasi👉magagalit sya. Ngayon naman, kahit pilitin akong lumabas di talaga ako lalabas bahala yan sila hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha baliktad na naman ngayon ate noh. Ako until now si mama parin pumupilit sa'kin lumabas hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky you hahahaha! On my part, we always needed to learn it in a hard way. Now I am afraid that I'll become a strict mom my daughter when she grows up. Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's okay to be a strict a mom sometimes, it all depends on how you discipline your daughter

$ 0.00
2 years ago