I Can Still See Your Shadows In My Room

29 53
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

I'm already okay, so you can freely go now and be happy.


I was at the coffee shop where we first met and the place of our first date. I was alone while sipping my cappuccino at the right side of the window. While sipping my coffee, I recalled the day we first met: the day she walked in with a book in her hand, ordered the same thing as mine, and sat at the table in front of me. She's reading the book The Guardian by my favourite author, Nicholas Sparks. And to my surprise, I had read that earlier before she arrived. I was thinking if this was a coincidence or maybe we were destined for each other. I was smiling at myself, thinking those impossible things. Then I glimpsed at her. Our eyes met for a second and then she giggled. Well, what if she thinks that I am a weirdo?

The next afternoon, I went to the coffee shop again, hoping to see her. That day, I brought my copy of Nicholas Sparks's book, The Last Song. I put it in my usual spot and headed to the restroom for a minute. When I came back, there she was, with her lovely face standing at my table. She was holding my book and I guess she was reading the back of the book. I approached her. At first, I was hesitant to approach her because of her pretty face. Then, when I was about to say "Hi," she turned around at me and said, "Uhm, I'm sorry for touching your stuff. Was this yours?" As I heard her speak, I felt like I was hearing an angel calling my name from above. She had a beautiful, soft angelic voice. Then I answered her "Uhm, yeah. Do you also like reading his books? " Then we started talking about Nicholas Sparks' stories and books.

She told me that she was about to get a copy of that book, but sadly, they ran out of stock, so she wasn't able to get her copy. But I told her that she could borrow my book since I had already finished reading it. While we were in the middle of talking, the barista arrived with my coffee. She served us both cappuccino. She looked at me with awe on her face because we ordered the same coffee. And I believe that we really are meant to be for each other because cappuccino was also her favorite coffee flavor, which is also mine. Oh, destiny really favors me. While staring at her reading my book, I thought to myself that if God gave her to me, I hoped that she would be my end game. 

I was taken aback by reality when my phone just vibrated. I looked at the screen and stared at it for a sec, then I packed up all my stuff and told Ted, my friend, who was a barista, that I will be going. I was walking down the pavement with a big smile on my face. Today is our 30th anniversary and I will also get to see her again. The last time that I saw her was last week, and after that, I patiently waited for this moment so that I could see her again.

I went to Auntie Ellie's flower shop to look for her favourite tulips. Aunt Ellie greeted me with a smile as I entered the flower shop and she then asked, "A red roses for her, right?" "I already prepared her favourite roses here." Then she handed me the bouquet of red roses. "Send my regards to her," she said, and then I bid my goodbye. While on my way to see her, I also bought a yellow balloon and a red tulip too. Yellow was her favourite colour, so I bought a dozen of yellow balloons. I went back to my car and then drove off to where she was.

When I finally arrived, I looked at myself first to see if I was looking good in my suit. I wore a suit because she enjoys seeing me in one and thinks it makes me look even more handsome. I stepped out of the car and took a deep breath, then started walking towards her. As I got closer to her, my tears started falling like a waterfall. When I finally got close to her, I put the balloons and her favourite tulips by her side. Then I handed her the red roses that I bought.

 

It's been 20 years since the day that I lost you. Time flies so fast, it is already your 20th death anniversary and also our 30th anniversary. My love, happy anniversary. Since the day that you left me, I have no longer looked for anyone like you. You will be my Mi Amore for the rest of my life. Wait for me, Elizabeth. Te Amo.


Lead Image Source

Image 1

You can also check out my previous articles:

Still Gorgeous @80
Freewriting: Let The River Flow
wtf ?
81th Birthday Of Our Boss, Amo, Manager
My Name's Blurry Face And I Care What You Think
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
Underground Cult
I Can't Drown My Demons, They Know How To Swim


Author's Note:

Thank you guys for always dropping by and reading this article of mine. I really appreciate it.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe button if you want to

Arrigathankyougozaimuch :>

21
$ 9.13
$ 8.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Aawwwts.. . Thats sad. But still Elizabeth is loved and still remembered. Ah such love!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayss, where can we find a guy like him haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No whyyyyyy😭😭😭, why naman ang sad ng ending hoyyy. Bakit pinatay mo sya 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

matagal naman ng patay BWAHAHAHAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko pa naman din happy ending. 🤧 Di ata masarap ulam mo mare ah nandadamay sa kalungkutan 🤧💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy ending parin naman kasi loyal siya sa kanyang mahal kahit ilang years na itong nawala. He's just waiting for his death so that they can have their reunion in heaven

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An unexpected ending. Sweet start but a sad ending. I would want to be the recipient of his love but I wouldn't want to leave him if he loves like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever wonder what the girl felt seeing her love of her life being in love with her for how many years. I guy who loves like that should really be treasured.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masakit pero ang romantic naman ng scene na yun, i loved books what if book lover din makatagpo ko wahaha sana nga, gawa kami library whahahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NYAHAHA yan din dream ko, na sana ka same vibes ko yung bibliophile din haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit nito huhu, it's heartbreaking to lose someone you love dearly. Ramdam ko yung pain talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ouch, pain, pighati, lumbay, hinanakit, kasakit hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My greatest fear is to lose someone I love. I couldn't bear to see them lying, cold and immovable. I'd rather go first than suffer from the pain I'll feel when they leave me, This really is a very sad story :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I though too, I'd rather die first than seeing them lifeless inside a coffin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s so heart breaking dear. Sometimes we wait for our perfect partner to embrace the happiness. But sometimes it make you wait for your death. I can feel the pain. Nicely written dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for reading my dear lucy :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cried on this one its eternal love of two people. We can't prevent death, it's painful to lose someone you love but it's part of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really admire the loyalty this man shows to his love of his life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko nabasa yung mga naunang part nito sis. Gusto ko sanang mabasa kaso alam ko na yung ending..ahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAH bored lang ako eh, wala maisip na mai topic kaya ito nalang naka tambay sa draft ko, publish agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahaha...yan tayo eh :)...ako nakatengga din yung 3 na nakadraft ko since last week pa...ahahaha..ang hirap tapusin :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very beautiful piece. It captured my attention from start to finish and I was truly immensed. You're good at storytelling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awee thankieess my dear kushyy :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome dear 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

... true, unconditional, amazing Love. Thanks for this, it has filled my heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's heartbreaking 😪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagsisimula na naman kayung manakit huhu. Bat naman ganun :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A sad Ending. So sorry about Elizabeth and I believe she will be happy she met someone like you on earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad.🥺 If someone will be part of your life and suddenly that is the most painful.🥺

In real life, everything is just a temporary. It's really hurt. I know God has a purpose for everything...🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago