A New Book to Read! | The Red Crown

23 41
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Hobby, Philippines

Back when I was in High school in our English subject, we students were given a homework called home reading report. High school was so brutal for me because you have to keep up with your grades. Grades were everything before. You were defined by numbers and grades. Now that I am an adult, I cringed at how school systems ranked students based on grades. Not every kid is fond of Math or Science. How I wish my school back before was focused on how a child can enjoy learning rather than focusing on race.


Our home reading report was a quarterly homework so, in a school year, we had to make four homework. Basically, you have to choose your favorite book, summarize and give a reaction to it. What I remember is I chose The Iliad by Homer. I was influenced by my father's obsession with mythology

I was thinking, how come it was so easy for me to jot down the whole book into a few paragraphs? Ahh~ I was so into academics before perhaps the pressure coming from the "rat race".

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

Now that I am an adult, I think I lost the touch of being poetic in words. Of course, I got captivated by different intersections of life. I am thinking of going back to reading books again hoping to bring back my writing skills.

Luckily I have a good friend to help me pick a good book to hone my brain cells in writing. @DennMarc recommended me the Red Crown by Victoria Aveyard.

source

He then sent me the file in Discord. I downloaded the app Lithium as my virtual library. Now you can read a nice book without you getting scoliosis because of carrying them. Poor spine.  Ipads and Kindle were not a thing back before.

I told him to pick a book that makes me feel floaty and dreamy. I would imagine a Taylor Swift song in the background, haha! I am not a book reader but it would help me to imagine the scenario if there is a piece of background music. Not sure if I will be able to survive reading two pages without me snoozing. Is half-eyed reading, okay? Lol.

Progress

So, I started to read a few pages today. As I read, I encountered words that were not familiar to me. Thank God for dictionaries and Google. Life is easier with them readily available.

I chose the yellow highlighter to stroke these words. I promise to myself to use them in blogs so that I will not forget the definitions. The moment we use words that we are not familiar with frequently, the higher the chance that we will retain the definition of that word. Or is it just me?

I really like the Lithium app because it has a lot of features such as lighting, theme, text size, text alignment, etc. I cannot pin point a thing that I do not like about it.

So far I am enjoying the book. Though I am slow, progress is still progress. I thank @DennMarc for this book! 

I do wish I can finish at least two chapters in a week. But was is truly important is I understand the flow of the story. Fingers crossed!

I will update progress here casually!


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!

📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.

Date Published: Sep 9, 2022

Check my other articles!

🔥 I Am Hosting A Game Event! | Tips In Winninghttps://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-am-hosting-a-game-event-tips-in-winning-aa5f7bfa

😝 Watching A New Anime | Bofuri https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/watching-a-new-anime-bofuri-cef41a60

🎶 Saturday, Time For Gossips! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/saturday-time-for-gossips-116eb3d5

13
$ 2.45
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @reanbooks
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Hobby, Philippines

Comments

Advantage talaga ng nagbabasa-basa yung nakaka-encounter tayo ng unfamiliar words hehe tapos natututo rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap Naman po sis na Hindi mopo na enjoy Ang high school mopo ako namn I enjoy more on my high school days ksi nameet ko na agad c the one ko and I also love reading books sis but don't have much time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it seems like an interesting book. I will try to find a PDF to download

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far so good! Love the plot already. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love reading books way back then. It is so sad that I don't have much time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tim is also my problem. Also my attention span. Huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a book worm i love reading and im adding this to my list now 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, good for you! Not really a bookworm but trying to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nabasa ko na to, ji. Maganda talaga yan. Fantasy yung gusto mong genre? Or any genre will do?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo bet ko rin mga fantasy hehe. Page 3 pa lang ako huhu, ambagal ko actually. Pero progress is progress pa rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang yan. Baka kasi di mo pa feel ang mga kaganapan. Ganyan din kasi ako. Sa book 3 niyan, inabutan ako ng almost 1 year bago natapos ang libro, kasi di ko feel ang mga happenings. Hahaha. Pero maganda yan. Promise!

Try mo rin ang Glass of Throne series. I can provide an ebook, if you want. hehe Pero unahin mo yan, ji.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oki, Kneel. Salamuch! 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love books, especially the classics. About the app - thank you! I'll use it:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure! You are always welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

:'< I am so jealous of you. I also want to read a book but I don't have the time for it. Just like you have said, words that aren't familiar to us are the ones that will be stuck in our brains. it's also what I like about reading books, it broadens our vocabulary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku, wala rin akong oras, med. Ano lang, nagpapakatalino lang ako para sa blog haha! Idol ko kasi si denden, galing sumulat na bata.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun dn ako kpag may new encountered wordsm. Tinitake note ko at iapply sa next writing 😊 .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, ate. Parang nadadagdagan mga braincells ko haha! Minsan ubos ng talino magsulat haha. Buti pa kayo magagaling magsulat hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya tlga such a bookworm tong si denden kasi mahilig magbasa eh. Go jiji ugghhhh kaya mo yan always mo din gamiting ung words kapag nagsasalita effective daw yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, idol ko talaga si Den pagdating sa pagsusulat. One day baka nasa best selling book yung mga gawa niya hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakabilib naman kayo sis. Ang hilig niyo mag basa. Sabi nila pag mahilig magbasa they are genius. Nakakahanga kayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually bagal ko magbasa sis, parang page 3 pa lang ako haha. Pero I will try my best to read talaga hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang yan sis nakakamangha lang kasi ang hilig niyo magbasa. May close friend din ako dati sis grabe halos andun lang siya sa library. Nagbabasa lagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago