Eat to live or live to eat?

31 81
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 27, 2022

Nowadays, lifestyle diseases are one of the reasons that takes life of a person and sometimes it takes life at a very early age.

Lifestyle diseases are the diseases we acquire because of our lifestyle. Diseases that was born because of what and how we eat or drink.

Once I have a short conversation with a friend.

Gang (our friend call each other with this), it seems that you are gaining weight. It seems that you need some diet and you need to take care of your health.

Oh! I don't need to have diet, I won't love to live long. 50 years old is enough for me because I don't want to take my poop as bath in the future.

She never wish a long life but instead she just wish to be until 50 years old, so, she don't need to accept my friendly advise. I was able to live in their house for a few months and I know that his father is diabetic.

I also once said,

Gang, eat and drink (liquor) moderately because it is not good to our health.

We live to eat, so enjoy life to the fullest.

I felt sad to her response but I already did my part to remind her what is good and what is bad. It is her choice after all if she would follow my friendly advise or not.

Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Eat to live

We eat to live means we need to eat healthy foods that will give proper nourishment to our body. Eating healthy foods and off course along with exercise and other secrets to have a healthy life will give us a longer life.

We Filipinos usually eat three times a day excluding those between meals or we called it merienda. Why we are eating? We eat because we don't want to be hungry and in short we don't want to die because of having no food to eat.

Eating is very essential in our life. We cannot live longer without it but we need to choose if possible a food that will give a good benefit to our body and to our health as a whole.

Live to eat

In opposite, sometimes we keep on saying that we live to eat, we are here in this world to eat as much as we want, to eat everything we want without restrictions, without limits.

Living a life that eating is one of the purpose might give us a shorter life unless you choose to eat good and healthy foods.

Some people who said we live to eat will eat everything they wanted without thinking the benefits or the consequences it could give to their health and to their life itself.

Imagine, a 13 year old already died earlier because his lifestyle is to drink soft drinks like water. He doesn't want to drink water at all but instead he drink soft drinks.

Food and drinks were related because we both take them and feed our body of their kinds.

A teens who already have a hypertension at a very young age because his lifestyle is to eat meat as he wanted.

Disclaimer: In writing this topic doesn't mean I am healthy enough or I am a health professional. No, I'm not. I decided to write this just to remind everyone to eat and drink moderately, to choose healthy foods over unhealthy foods, to remind ourselves that we will eat food that will give us a healthy and longer life.

Ending thoughts

Let's love our body by giving healthy food and drinks. Healthy food will lead us to healthy lifestyle and healthy lifestyle will lead us to longer life.

If we want to live healthy and longer, then from now on, let's remind ourselves that we eat to live and not live to eat.

How about you? Do you eat to live or you live to eat?

Thank you for reading. Till next
article.

17
$ 6.80
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 7
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

Why would your friend make such a statement? Even if she doesn't watch her diet, she can still live above fifty but unhealthy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're right, there is a possibility to live longer but suffering different diseases

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your friend doesn't seem to be aware that 50 will come soon and that it would be better to live longer. We have to take care of our diet. I sometimes live to eat because I’m a foodie 😊 but I try to eat healthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good choice sis, yes there are times that we live to eat but temperance is necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we should eat to live not live to eat. We are responsible for our own body, to our own health so we must also be careful about what food we should intake for our body. and if we want to live longer and enjoy life to the fullest, eat to live!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes you have the point sis.. Let's take care of our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fruit is really important to one's body

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes fruit brings a lot of benefits to our body.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have instilled this same thought in my children, we must take care of our health in order to live as peacefully as possible in this world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good to hear it sis. I congratulate you for that. May you be blessed in teaching your child one of the best lessons to learn in life which is to take care of our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people just believe that any meal is a meal and they can mix it at any time, at least you told her, it's up to her to either follow what you told her or not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes at least they can't blame you for not telling it to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depends on the mindset! But me, I can do both. First, think about my health. And second, still give myself a chance to enjoy for a bit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes that's right too.. Enjoying a bit is different by enjoying it everyday that sometimes it's bring no good to our health. Drinking sodas everyday or eating meat everyday without temperance is not good in our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sabi nga nila sis, you are what you eat.. need din talaga natin maging concious na sa mga kinakain

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Korek ka dyan sis we are what we eat kaya eat for a good health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's an hilarious thought by your friend for saying he/she is not dieting and not LIVING above 50years. Hmmm, anyways he/she has the reason.

Me, I like eating alot, maybe because I'm slim and hard to add weight

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes me too I was shocked with her answer but anyway its her opinion. Hmm might be your metabolism is so fast that you are slim, but slim is good too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree we should eat fruits for it is the key for longer life. Also for proper exercise

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do both, but these days I do more of eating to live. Live to eat usually involves eating those things which aren't really healthy but we are craving for it (soda, junk foods). I used to eat unhealthy foods a lot in the past, but I recently saw the need for me to take care of my health before it's too late, so now I eat more healthy foods 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! now I know that you really read it hehehe am I right? I am happy for you and want to congratulate you for choosing right foods for your own health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I honestly do both o 😅😅. There are times I eat to live and times I live to eat too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is okay as long as there is still a temperance. All over or too many is not good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch naman haha, I often eats unhealthy, lol. Well not applicable to everyone but someone said me that I must enjoy food as I am still young for when I grow older; some will really be restricted and unveil hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Actually those restrictions is not just for the oldies but even sa ating mga medyo bata pa. We can say that old ones have a lot of restrictions because bawal na sa mga sakit nila.

Kadalasan tayo parin ang nagbibigay ng sakit sa sarili nating katawan. We really need temperance in all things especially in eating or drinking those unhealthy food and drinks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admit before that I perhaps abuse my health by eating unhealthy foods like junkfoods, but now, I guess I am eating more healthy foods and I already avoid eating junk foods and soda.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good for you Mayiee ipagpatuloy mo lang yan it is for your own good din naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've already abstain from drinking sodas and other beverages, since I've suffered an illness because of that. We should eat healthy in order to live for a long span of time, according to God's gracious will for us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes you're right sis. Sometimes we will learn a lesson after we suffer from a disease. But we are thankful that still God gave us another chance to live a healthy life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis balance lang din ako sa mga pagkain, Lalo na ngayon, need talaga nating ingatan Ang health natin, mahirap pa naman magkasakit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Health is wealth talaga sis lalu na sa panahon ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago