When God Leaves Your Prayers Unanswered

32 46
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Growing up, I have witnessed how crucial religion has become the core influence in the family. Both of my grandparents (mom and dad's sides) have a strong devotion to Catholicism.

And so, I grew up watching my family attending BEC sessions every Saturday and always attending the church every Sunday. It came to me as some sort of tradition and culture that I must practice too. After all, kids learn through imitation or modeling and that's how I followed my parents.

Back then, I didn't really understand who's the guy behind that cross hanging at the center of the church. I was told by my parents that if I do bad things, God will be mad and sad. If I do good things, God will be happy and he will grant my prayers or wishes.

I continued to do good around the people because that's what my parents told me. I didn't realize that my actions when I was younger are just a result of blind faith. Well, at my young age, everything is unclear. I still did not have that kind of understanding that I have now that I have grown up. I was looking for an explanation for everything and now that I have matured, I finally understand how.

My parents taught me to pray for what I need. They told me that when you want something to happen, pray it to God and he'll provide. And so, the innocence of this 7-year-old girl (me) prayed everything that she wanted but she didn't find an answer. I wondered why.

Looking back I have realized that I made bad prayers. I believe there are checklists that God follows before he grants our prayers.

I'll list down the types of prayers that he usually rejects for a reason:

Ignorant prayers.

These are the kinds of prayers where you pray for the sake of praying. I mean, you pray because there is a reason behind it but it's not rational enough for God to grant it.

Usually, ignorant prayers are done by children. This sounds negative but as I have matured, I realized how ignorant my prayers were back when I was younger.

I remember when I was younger, I prayed to become a superhero. I prayed to be one because I just wanted to fly. I wanted to know how it feels to fly. Just how absurd my prayer was, but then again, I was young. Some things are yet to be discovered and understood as you age.

Then again, God works in mysterious ways. Reflect on yourself and think maybe you had prayers in the old days where it was granted in the time being.

Vain prayers.

These are prayers that are too self-centered. There has to be a reason why God doesn't grant our prayers and vanity could be one of them. I get that it's not wrong to think of yourself but if it has become too much and you wouldn't care about the people anymore, then there's a higher chance God won't grant our prayers.

Here's one thing I'll confess here.

I was in 6th grade when I strongly prayed to God for the death of my classmates. I can't believe I prayed that to God. Seriously, it's bullsh*t. How can you pray for someone's death? I didn't realize how evil I was.

I prayed that to God because they are the smart ones in the class. They are candidates for Valedictorian and Salutatorian and I got insecure. God surely didn't grant my prayer because it was evil, vain, and selfish.

I asked for God's forgiveness and I am very embarrassed about what I did.

Wrong prayers.

These are prayers that are not meant for us to happen. That's when the statement "God's plans are better. God's plans are bigger" comes in.

We keep asking for things that we want but when God rejects it, it's his way of saying that that's not what you need. He's avoiding you from that happening because he has plans for you. It's a redirection.


When I harmed myself almost 3 years ago, and when God saved me from death, I realized how much he loved me as his child. I realized a lot of things and I can see in myself how much growth I gained through that experience.

When we pray, we must do something for it as well. We need to walk the talk. We should also do our parts. Do you want to get rich? Do something about it. As long as the trails you follow are just and honest. As long as your conscience is clean.

Praying requires flexibility as well. You know in yourself you have exhausted everything to do your part but still, it's not happening. It's frustrating but we need to open our hearts to the fact that some things don't go according to our plans. That's when you surrender everything to Him. You know that you've done everything you can, and you've done everything you could.

Pray and do your part to make things work. Ask for his guidance.


Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone ❤

14
$ 5.85
$ 5.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry for the late read, Ateee.

I admit that 'di ako ganito pala-dasal dati. 'Yung tipo na okay lang for me kahit di ako magdasal pagkagising or bago matulog, sigiro JHS ako that time. Pero as I get more matured and mas nakikita ko na mga nangyayari sa palagid ko especially to our fam, 'dun na nag-start and until now. Nowadays, 'di na kumpleto araw ko kapag walang usapan between me and Him. May mga nightmares din kapag nakakaligtaan, kaya kahit antok na antok na ako, sige pa din. Basta, maka-usap lang s'ya kahit saglit lang. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true Mae. At leastml man lng, may usapan or confession kahit papano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, Ate. Kaysa wala, lalo na at di naman sa lahat ng pagkakataon is may napagsasabihan tayo ng mga naiisip natin. Sa Kaniya, okay lang ilabas lahat. Sarap pa sa feeling. ✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. Ang ganda madam. May point talaga sa buhay natin na magdadasal lang tayo dahil may kailangan tayo sa Kanya. Ganun ata kapag di pa masyadong maalam sa buhay sa mundo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakaloka talaga yong about sa classmate ko madam 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uyyy alam mo ba nung bata din ako, ang bad ko kasi lagi ko din hinihiling na sana mawala na ung parents ko. sutil kasi talaga ako eh. Now, I realised na maling mali talaga ako sa part na un. thankfully buhay pa nmn sila pero grabe ung badness ko that time. ayun, napariwa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super bad nga yon, Dee. But at least you asked forgiveness to God. You made up for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We believe that god has provided us freewill to do anything and if our prays are not working we believe that it is the divine will of god and is not beneficial for me because if my supplication get answered it might harm me so we thank god because as time passes we come to know that whether that was benefical for us or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And we have that flexibility in us that keeps us going even if times are rough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We sometimes pray but don't receive answers. We later attain a certain level of maturity and realise that those requests made were not good for us and were completely unnecessary at that point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah right, it takes us to a level of maturity and greater understanding that not all things that you aspire are meant for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako te nilelet ko nalamg si God magpagalaw ng lahat, ayaw ko kobtrolin. Alam kong alam ni God mas better oara sakin, sana lumugar swerte saken nextmonth 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next month na Gy ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ignorant prayers and vain prayers are really bad problems... You know what you're talking about friend .. nice write up...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Lucifan ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes He won't grant iur request if He know that it's not good for us. He won't grant because He know what's the best. His plan is always better than us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally. His plans are better than us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako madam, lage pinipray nun bata pa ako na wag managinip ng masama kasi grabe ang mga nightmares ko before. But still I kept on having nightmares...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that you're grown up na madam, do you still have nightmares?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron pa din naman madam pero bihira na lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our prayers as kids are something else and truly God doesn't answer all prayers because not all the things we request are perfect.

He knows what we deserve at the right time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, George. Thanks for dropping by ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God doesn't always grant our prayers because He has better plans for us. Aside from that, those prayers that God rejected are those that are not genuine enough and just came from our mind, not from the heart.

With this article of yours, madam... I suddenly remember those religious people working in the church here in our city who seem to act the other way around. Parang, they are just following the practices and traditions sa religion nila, without even applying the real concept sa mismong actions and behavior nila (ang susungit po kasi). And then, they are usually praying by reading or memorizing a certain prayer in a repetitive manner, hindi yung nanggaling mismo sa puso nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, people are hypocrites madam. I myself is a hypocrite at times and I'm not proud of it. I acknowledge it. But if these actions are repeated as you said, they certainly need to help themselves to be aware of their wrongdoings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our creator is the only one who is our true well wisher, if he is not granting our prayers st the moment, there must be something good for us stored ahead. He is holder of our all affairs, so we just need to believe on him. You are right in childhood we were used to praying for wrong things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were immature back then and we just pray random things 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just two things: Jesus is not on the cross any longer and the crucifix is idolatry. Second, God hears and answers all prayers. It's just that he either says yes, no or wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate your corrections to my article. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this one sis. It's about God. It's about prayers. Yes sis there are a lot of prayers that it should not be. We must learn what are the dos' and donts'.

I always pray sis. God change my life. He help me when I was down. I never question him but I keep praying and trusted him with all my heart. Until he sent me an angel and I truly believe God make a way. I am forever thankful to God.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that, madam. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, I read your story and you made me think a lot about the subject. you made me remember a movie I saw a few days ago, it's called Lucky Peter. everybody wants answers, but we must be calm and patient because even though some answers never come God never forsakes us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And he also listens. Keep safe always, friend ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago