Why Do People Like The Taste Of Intoxication?

88 139
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

August 21, 2021

Alcohol is so diverse like food. There is a vast selection of flavors, aromas, qualities, and other characteristics. And alcohol drinkers say that pairing it with the right food can bring out more flavors in a delightful way. Every time I heard about it, I always ask myself, "why do people love the taste of bitterness?" Personally, I never like the taste of alcohol even how delicious the paired foods are.

My curiosity started when I was young. During special occasions like fiestas, birthdays, Christmas, New Year, and other events, alcoholic beverages are always present. The most popular alcohol beverage in our country is coconut wine or what we locally called "tuba." Not only because it is cheaper compared to brandy, beers, grape wines, vodkas, etc, but also because of the distinct flavor that makes it in demand on many special occasions and events. It is also easy to find in many local stores, most especially in urban areas.

Image from: https://foodandroad.com/philippines-coconut-wine/

One day, I was so curious about why people in our place were always drinking tuba paired with Pepsi, and of course, some appetizers and other food. My father on the other hand also drinks other kinds of alcoholic beverages like beer and vodka. I was too young and doesn't have any idea about alcoholic beverages, but the labels of the bottles taught me their names. I don't even know about the alcohol content of their drinks until I grew up and gained more wisdom.

Back on track, there was a special occasion one day at home and we have containers of tubas. By the way, the tuba was the first kind of alcoholic beverage I have learned. The next was Tanduay and Beer. If there's tuba, there's Pepsi as well because it can't be taken without any pair of cola, but the typical beverage they were pairing with was Pepsi. If you will ask me why I don't actually know the reason. But maybe because the taste of tuba compliments the taste of Pepsi compared to Coke, which was an alternative to Pepsi as well. That's what they have said.

Curiosity can really kill the cat as the quote implies. I saw my cousin drinking tuba so I wanted to try as well. When people weren't looking, I picked up a glass of pure tuba and the aroma was out of my likings but for the sake of feeding the curious cat, I sipped a little amount of it. Duh! That was so disgusting and I spat all the bitter liquid on the ground and wiped my tongue. But the flavor of bitterness lingered on my tongue and so I drank sweet soda to remove the awful flavor.

I wanted to know from personal inquisitiveness, why do people like drinking alcoholic beverages even if the flavor is so awful? I thought that might be because I was a child back then and so I tasted it differently. Later I asked my mother about it but she only reprimanded me for doing such an inappropriate act. She said I was too young to taste such kind of beverage. Since then, I have never tried tasting any kind of alcoholic beverage anymore.

But what's memorable about tuba is every time my grandfather got drunk. He will always tell his grandchildren funny stories and we just keep on laughing the whole course. Until he falls asleep, lol.

However, when I was in high school, my mother once told me that drinking tuba and other alcoholic beverages can kill parasites inside the intestines. You might think that my mother is a tipsificator and teaching me to drink alcohol, but no she isn't. I can call her an occasional drinker as she drinks only if invited by her sisters.

My older brothers learned how to drink alcohol when they were only in high school due to peer influence. Some were offering me to try one, but I never tried. Even the aroma was stomach-turning. I was curious about it and so I asked my classmates if alcohol can really kill parasites, but they only answered the same thing. Then I also thought that it might be the reason why people are drinking alcoholic beverages, to kill off the parasites in their intestinal tracts.

Can alcohol really kill parasites inside us?

As I've entered college I heard the same thought and my friends who drink beer and other alcoholic beverages once offered me to try one. The popular alcohol beverage back then was Red Horse. Every after-party at school, students will go to the seaside resto-bar and barbecue stalls to have fun. My close female friend can even finish a big bottle of Red Horse alone. And one day, I tasted the glass of Red Horse out of curiosity to know why my friend liked drinking it.

Image from: https://en.tripadvisor.com.hk/LocationPhotoDirectLink-g188113-d15083906-i345512388-Pinatubo_Philippines_Restaurant-Zurich.html

The taste was smooth bittersweet but the bitter alcohol flavor was stronger and not my likings. There was like a strong fuel that exploded inside my stomach and my body heated up and turned my face red. They even told me that a very cold Red Horse has a lesser alcohol taste and I should try it. But I never pushed myself to drink something that can make my stomach turn.

One of our instructors told us about the potential of alcohol to kill parasites. Of course, everything can be explained by Science. Later I found out that even many foods contained alcohol as well. It can disinfect our stomach, prepare the enzymes, and kick up digestion. That may be the reason why chefs are using alcohol in cooking, to add flavors to the food with beneficial factors, especially for digestion.

Trying alcohol again..

When I was 25 years old, I studied Caregiving and met classmates of different ages and characteristics. But what bound the class was the likeness to alcohol and food trippings, except for me and another younger student. They never pushed me to drink though, because I told them that my alcohol tolerance was very low.

Image from: https://www.foodnavigator-asia.com/Article/2018/09/17/Healthier-wine-Three-times-more-resveratrol-in-Mercian-s-new-Bon-Rouge-grape-wine

One day my friend brought a bottle of wine to school and hid it inside her bag. After the class, we were allowed to use the room until 5 in the afternoon. She took out the wine and disposal cups and started distributing cups of wine to my classmates. They teased me that I'm old enough to try it and so I tried one sip. The taste was like bitter grape juice but I didn't like the effect in my stomach. It also made me dizzy just after one shot. They told me that I am not used to drinking alcoholic beverages that's why my alcohol tolerance isn't increasing.

But even though I am not drinking alcohol, I sometimes go with them to different bars just to have fun and only ordering juice or soda for myself. One day we went to a bar near our school and we invited our demure-type classmate who doesn't really speak a lot in class but likes drinking alcohol. I left the bar through at 5 in the afternoon because I still need to travel back home.

The next day, the happenings at the bar were the trending topic in our class. My silent-type classmate expressed out her anger towards her father who was a Police Officer. And that father of hers picked her up and learned about the grudge of her daughter against him that she's been holding for too long. My classmates even said that she cried hard and become talkative when she got drunk. Another classmate of ours got drunk and uncontrollably danced wild on the roadside, and tossed out things she touched. My best friend even got a lesbian girlfriend after that night.

I was like, "did I missed a tremendous event?"

And just like my classmates, others still like drinking alcohol even if they know the consequences once they get tipsy or drunk.

With that, I thought, "why do people like the taste of intoxication? Are they after the taste or the effect of it?"

Our body may need alcohol and I guess a small amount can do, and a large amount can destroy us, physically and mentally. But in most cases, they enjoy the buzz and others even go to great lengths just to get more. Alcohol may taste awful but drinkers become accustomed to its flavor over time. Just like how we become accustomed to the black coffee flavor and become addicted to it. The bitter and astringent kick becomes normal to alcohol drinkers. And with the right food pairing, the drinking session becomes more enjoyable for them, especially if there's a singing session as well, lol.

But I don't think all drinkers like drinking alcohol because of its taste. Literally, it doesn't taste good and not all tastes are suitable for everyone who dares to try it. Some have good flavors though especially some wines. And some people are after the taste and the quality of alcohol.

And I learned from @mommykim that when people become used to drinking alcohol, its taste becomes sweet for them.

Maybe yes. I wouldn't know the real answer until I experienced it personally.

But in my own opinion, people will start to like alcohol, then due to regular consumption, they become addicted to it, not because of the taste, but because of the effect of alcohol on them. And being buzzed is only a happy part of the drinking sessions.

The alcohol makes alcohol drinkers tough and can express out their hidden self once intoxication took over their body. Just like what my Caregiving classmate did when she got drunk. She released out her hidden grudges against her father. It can compensate for the ego and they can express out things that are hidden inside them. And for others, they become a real man after alcohol consumption.

But some force themselves to take alcohol because they don't want to be labeled or outcasted. They want to fit into the group and because of peer pressure as well. That's how I started tasting alcohol again. Alcohol drinkers will start to appreciate the taste because they associate it with the buzz. It's revolting but addicting. The same with how people become addicted to smoking. The smoke itself doesn't smell good, but they still want to fill their lungs with smoke. Because for them, the feeling of intoxication is different and addictive.

Some people drink alcohol purely for the feeling of intoxication and for the express purpose of getting drunk. Some drink alcohol because of the taste. But some drink alcohol for both reasons and also based on their mood and preferences.

Many hate alcohol because of its effect, but it's not actually the alcohol's fault that people do ridiculous things when they're tipsy or drunk. I did try once to drink more than I can afford to handle, but I only got dizziness, stomachache, and red rashes appeared on my body. Maybe that was an indication that I exceeded the alcohol tolerance level in my body. Then I asked my friends that day, "why do other people allow alcohol to control them when they can control alcohol?"

Remember that it is us who are controlling ourselves and not anything else. Just like, guns don't kill people unless someone pressed the trigger. Things won't act alone without being controlled by humans. So why allow alcohol to control you when you can control alcohol?

If you will ask me if I am open to drinking alcohol now that I'm in my 30's.

Yes, I am. But I have preferences. I only drink good quality tuba (bahalina) paired with a lot of Pepsi, lol. Tanduay Ice is fine for me because it has lesser alcohol content and there are a variety of flavors to choose from.

Image from: https://www.music21plaza.ph/alabang-branch-promos/tanduay-ice-flavors_1/

The 5% alcohol content of it is preferably fine for starters, especially the sweet flavored ones. But one bottle is enough for me, two bottles can make me dizzy and I don't like that feeling.

My boss' wine storage

For wines, I'm not really into it. The taste also depends on the quality of the wines. The higher the quality, the better the taste. That's what my wine lover boss told me, lol.

What's my point here?

You can drink anytime but do not exceed to the point that you are already out of your mind. Everything can always be done in moderation. If you don't want the ramifications, you should not drink if you don't know how to control alcohol and yourself. And while you are drinking, at least, you should always be sober enough to pay attention to your senses. Do not let alcohol turn you into a monster, or worse, don't allow it to lose your reputation and dignity.

Drink moderately and don't be a tipsificator.

This is my entry to the trending prompt regarding "drunk and alcohol" initiated by @OfficialGamboaLikeUs. It's fun reading different articles about their experiences in drinking alcoholic beverages and their effects on them. But guys, as I have mentioned above, drink moderately and do not allow alcohol to take over your system, lol.

Thanks for reading.

38
$ 18.29
$ 16.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 27
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

sarap din nang soju madam! with yakult sabi nila di ko pa natry eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D ko pa natry yung mga mix mix. Ayoko masira tiyan ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na try ko mix dati pero tanduay at nestea pa yun ahahah ...way back college ata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas masarap po ang ticila at wine yun po ang gusto kung tikman kahit masama sa ang palaging umiinom nang alak po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the feeling of being intoxicated after drinking alcoholic beverages, it seem like the world started to spinning, then you feel light and problems are forgotten for a little while, actually drinking alcohol is not that bad for a person, it will just bevame bad if it became a daily routine, drinking alcoholic beverages always can cause a lot of serious health problems. Drink moderately talaga. Also some people drink to relieve their stress, and also some just want to celebrate something or some just feel they need a drink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still see no reason why the bitter taste of alcohol can be electrifying to eveeven become an addiction.....I have a palmwine joint right in front of my house, so I know how people do react to such. You'd see some lie flat in a dirty gutter due to the intoxication, it's crazy. It's good to know you put a delicate No sign to alcohol even to this moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes o, too much of everything isn't good in the first place, and dear friend pity your liver na, it over works when you take over your limit 🥴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag ganitong usapan, 'di talaga ako gaanong maka-relate. 🤣🤣 Pero totoo ba na malakas ang tama ng tuba like lambanog? 'Yun kasi naririnig ko eh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

D ko pa natry lambanog. Yung bahalina plng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young I drank some liquor with pepsi cola. The drink is called "Cuba libre". But I don't like that. Then I liked to drink cocktail type drinks. They are soft and lighten the taste of alcohol. But my favorites are soft and sweet wines. I am not a drinker. I don't know how to drink. And this year I only did it once. But the date when I drink cocktails is in December even though I have allergies I drink it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I got allergies if alcohol exceeded my tolerance level.. It happened to me once when I tried drinking many because I was curious about the result haha..

My mom also started drinking when she's a mother already.. But only seldom.. Just when her sisters invited her..most of the time, she's just at home.. . I think i heard that cobra libre before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, I don't know why people derive Joy in taking alcohol even when it is bitter and taste awful. They would be like "Just to make me calm and okay" Alcohol is good but too much of it is bad to the health.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Too much is always bad 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong tuba masarap Yan pag bagong kuha sa puno ng niyog. Dapat sa inuman Alam natin Kong pano krontolin sarili natin Kung di Kaya wag na uminom ng marami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alcohol is the most drinkable solvent in the world. It kinda harms the body also. It has also parasitic killing effects. We should use it mostly in medicines. Grapes are my best fruits in life. I am not fond of these drinks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's with cousins and alcohol. I think we need to start running away from the influence of our cousin's hahahaha.

I think we both have low tolerance levels. A little can knock me off and I am glad you know your limit so you stick to one bottle. I've avoided it at all cost though and being an indoor person helps me to stick to my decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't take alcohol too. Even the local one "palmwine". The first time i tasted it was by mistake at a handing over party. I was told it isn't an alcoholic drink but the scent says otherwise. I didn't know what pushed me to take a taste but i spat it out. It's was so bitter. I wonder why people persist in taking it, maybe what mommykim said is right.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Any alcohol is really bitter.. I only drink that coconut wine pepsi haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

honestly, di ako naniniwala dun sa mga nagsasabi na hindi nila alam kung ano yung nagawa nila dahil sa kalasingan... never pa kasi nangyari sa akin yung hindi ko talaga alam kung ano yung ginawa ko eh... kahit anong inom ko LOL pero tama.. if you don't know how to control alcohol drink in moderation.. hindi yung inom lang ng inom wag lang masabi na hindi marunong makisama.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yun nga..nung unang beses ko uminom ng sobra kc gusto ko itry bkt ganun ibang tao. Okay pa naman pag iisip ko nun 🤣 nagka rashes lng ako, nahilo at sumakit ang tiyan haha...kya hndi ko na ginawa pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha ay may allergy ka sa alcohol... ako ok naman yung tolerance. ko sa kanya.. nung mga 20s ko grabe din kami uminom ng friends ko... uwi ako ng 4am... pasok ako ng 8am sa work halos araw araw ganun ang schd namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lumalabas lng nman yun kpg madami na nacoconsume ko. One time plng namgyari. Gusto ko lng itry yun haha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehee oks na din yang nde ka nainom sis good for the health lalo na ngayon na di natin afford magkasakit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masarap yung tuba gawing suka hahaha Yung cousins ko parang unti unti na silang nagiging addict sa pag iinum kasi mostly every weekend nag iinuman sila which is so unhealthy, okay lang sana kung Isang bottle pero kadalasan lalagpas sa apat na bote ng alak iniinum nila

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun ang ayaw ko..maadik haha... Masarap tuba kpg may pepsi 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's been 2 years since last na uminom ako xd. ladies drink iniinom ko, diko bet lasa ng redhorseand tanduay o kahit ano pamang beer. mas gusto ko ung strawberry wine na may 4% alcohol content kasi matamis lang sya

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tandua ice okay lng naman prang juice.
Grape wine plng natry ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried tuba too. Uso yan samin dito mga bisaya eh. but I don't like it much. I prefer beers. I don't why I like the bitterness haha! Maybe it's not the alcohol that matters it's the quality of the bond when you are drunk. Hehe! But as girls, of course we need to drink moderately especially kung konti lang alcohol tolerance natin.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dpende rn sa klase ng tuba. Ng iba kht madami na pepsi. Mapakla tlga lasa hhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay korek. Haha! Pepsi talaga eh. I wonder bakit hindi coke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I'd ever be interested in even trying out alcohol, especially now that all you mention abiut the taste is bitterness all through.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah I only drink alcohol ocassionally. tapos hanggang wine lang ako and flavored beer hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes tama po miss Jane. There's nothing wrong na uminom but hindi yung sobra kasi nakakasama na sa health. There's should be a limit when it comes to alcohol. Take care always miss Jane..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still having mixed feelings about trying it out or not, would it be worth the experience or just make me hate myself even more?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Why don't you know it by yourself 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some drink because they are depressed While some drink because of peer pressure While some just tried drinking maybe because it's a party but eventually turn to an addict.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's starting with the likings then turn into addiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguyy, wala talaga akong maekwento pag dating sa alak huehue. Gusto ko sana tatry tapos magwawala ako. Wahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Try mo kaya 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right. Everything should be in moderation. Ay so bisaya din po kayo? Kasi yung term na tuba eh hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nope. Ganun dn term samin waray

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a drinker but I don't ayoko talaga sa lasa nila. Hahah. Weirs diba? Umiinom ako pag kasama ko mga friends ko. Parang IINOM nalang ako kasi nasisiyahan ako kasama sila at pag medyo tipsy na ako mas lalo akong sumasaya at medyo nakakalimutan ang mga problema. Haha. But now, di na ako masyadong umiinom, food trip na naman. Hehe. Bdw, ano po site gamit mo sa pag check sa plagiarism?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

1text.com

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to be self disciplined. And there should be caution in whatever we do. Drink but not to stupor. Many's love for drink has sent them to their early graves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. And others even experienced nightmares . like been raped, molested, or humiliated.. Lost their reputation and dignity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't the slightest idea why people like the taste of intoxication. You know some of my friends refer to it as liquid courage cause it lowers their inhibitions and gives them a false sense of bravado and courage. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed reading this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My friends are heavy drinkers too and i am the only one being left behind.. Still sipping a bottle of soda 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakatikim na ako ng tuba, akala ko kasi suka, yun pa talaga ginamit ko pansawsaw sa hilaw na papaya. Lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha. Yung puti? 🤣 d ko pa natry yun. Pro lasang suka naman tlga ang tuba haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our country people drink whisky, rum or red wine with coke or white wine with soda water. Red and white wine go well with different food. Even with crackers and cheese. Spirits can be drank before eating. Small amount is ok and yes drink responsibly.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We are eating before drinking because alcohol is not good when consumed on an empty stomach

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. I meant we have those spirits as appetizer and beer and wine can be consumed during the meal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father drinks tuba too and yes, my mom would convinced me to drink too when I was young so that the parasites in my stomach would disappear too. Now, she wants me to drink some so that I would get fat😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So Filipino ka pla haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss. Ms. Jane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sabi din ng boyfriend ko na kapag palagi ka napapainom tumatamis na siya. Sabi ko siguro dahil sa palagi nga sinisira ng acid yung sense of taste niya kaya kahit mapait tumatamis haha sabi sakin imbento ako jusko! Haha. Oh! Baso mo na Ate @Jane hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tagay na 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo Yung Sabi ni Mommy Kim na kapag into alcohol e tlgang normal nalang ang lasa. Nung kasagsagan ko pa sa pagniinom tuwang tuwa ako kapag nagmomoist Yung red horse haha.

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Haha.. Dami ko nabasa sa mga article mo effects ng alcohol haha.. Kaso d ko carry ata magpakalasing 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo . Iba kasi pamumuhay ko noon 🙈

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Bakit yung "Tuba" or coconut wine, orange something yung kulay tas yung puti rin Ms. Jane.. hihi Dito sa'min medyo mapula na, tas pag walang softdrinks na halo, ang pait nang lasa..😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

May coloring na yung orange , yung white pure yun ata haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Tungog" ang tawag dito sa'min po..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mapula dn samin. Iba2 actually klase ng tuba. Yung orange ata at bahalina. Pula ay normal na kulay. Iwan sa iba haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nilalagyan kasi nang "Tungog" para maging pula yung kulay, diba Ms. Jane?😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D ko alam yun haha.. Pro yung ninong ko taga gawa ng tuba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I may have to buy some tomorrow and drink already, lol! This made me wonder when will I be able to drink hard again. As to your question of why people like the taste, I have no idea, lol! Yung tuba sis, d ko pa na-try.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As n? Yun pinaka una ko natikman haha. Try mo bahalina . sabi nla yun ang masarap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saya sna lol! Kaso bawal eh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mganda yan. Pra healthy hehe.. Wine nlng haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa una lang mapait yan, habang tumatagal lalong sumasarap ganern 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha. Take it from the expert 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya yun pala sinsabi sa commercial. Hahaha ate @Eybyoung shot mo na 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kaya yan talaga nasa advertise kasi nagiging ganyan habang tumatagal 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onti-onti ng nagsisink sa isip ko dahil sayo Ate @Jane. Wala na nalasing na ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Chillax k lng jan.. Maya ulit 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Drink moderately and don't be a tipsificator. 👌❤️ Gist of the whole article ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ba't puro alcohol nakikita ko ngayon? lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Prompt yan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akin sis iba yun hahaha vaccine 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko rin masubukan uminom ng sobra, kaya lang wala pang makakasamang mapagkakatiwalaan talaga @Ruffa @ExpertWritter tara inom basta walang videohan 😂😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Taraaaa, videoahan nyo ako. Curious ako if ano gagawin ko oag nalasing ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same haha .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Hanggang malasing 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was drinking a cold drink while reading and I'll continue with cold drinks not alcohol coz i know it's side effects and peoples should also drink carefully not too much coz health is important and it cost nothing to care yourself first

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There's nothing wrong with that. As long as you drink moderately

$ 0.00
2 years ago