The More You Deprive, The More You Crave

72 121
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

October 30, 2021

Food is life, just like what @Princessbusayo said in her recent article. But what would you feel if you found out that you have a food intolerance and you have no choice but to deprive yourself of taking the food you wanted because your body would react after consumption?

Undoubtedly, you'll feel sad, especially if you are a foodie or a food lover.

My first-time hot pot experience

I wasn't a fussy eater. I ate whatever I wanted for as long as the food was edible and not exotic. May it be ordinary or local cuisine to something costly that the money in my pocket can afford to buy. I do love trying new kinds of food that aren't typical in my place or usually serve on our table. Because sometimes, especially on red days, my tummy and my mouth are craving for something palatable for my taste, except with the alcoholic beverages of course. And I don't hesitate to buy whatever that food is.

But the time came when I felt like the foodie part of me has been spared by whoever God of food was when reactions started to be felt by my system. Every time I eat delightful food, odd reactions in my stomach are ruining my supposed precious time to devour my favorite food. I felt like "I want to have my cake and eat it too, but I can't."

It's not that I can't afford to buy, but the consequences are much more intolerable sometimes, and alternatives are somehow unpleasant to handle.

It was the year 2017 when I learned that I have a food intolerance, specifically in gluten and lactose, after I underwent a medical test for a particular purpose. After knowing the results and things that I need to deal with, my mind was flying everywhere and collecting food that contains gluten and lactose that I have to avoid.

The first question I asked myself was, "how can I live if most of my daily food contains gluten and lactose?" That was truly absurd and dealing with this food intolerance made me starve most of the time, especially during the first year. How can I avoid eating food served on the table if I need to feed my body so I can act productively at work? Besides, food was served for free and was just too tough to resist. Or else, I'll be spending more money on buying food outside.

From breakfast, lunch, to dinner, all contain gluten and lactose. From bread to filling and spread, as well as coffee and milk. Some oats have gluten too and some tea is being processed in manufacturers which also process nut products that contain gluten. Even the condiments and seasonings used in cooking dishes have gluten as well. And the only kinds of food left with no gluten or lactose are rice, fresh vegetables and fruits, and water, lol.

Buying food has been a struggle as I always need to check the labels of the products and it's just too saddening every time I see my favorite snack and drinks containing gluten and lactose. And the prices of lactose-free milk and gluten-free products are a pain in the ass and it's quite difficult to find them in the supermarket.

Ever since I learned about my food intolerance, I changed my diet and tried my best to avoid food containing gluten and lactose, even resisted eating in fast food chains like McDonald's and Jollibee 🤧. And I was able to manage a gluten and lactose-free diet for a year (2017-2018), but eating oatmeal in the morning continued up to date.

My breakfast usually consists of oats with fruits or chia seeds, and a cup of tea. I prefer jasmine or green tea. No bread, no milk, no noodles.

Oatmeal with milk keifer (lesser lactose)

For lunch, I opted to cook at home rather than having takeaways. Since condiments and seasonings contain gluten, I usually blanch or steam my food, and eating bland food was really not satisfying.

I ate more fruits and vegetables than meat and processed food, and my wallet always complains as fruits are quite expensive here.

As for dinner, it's all for free. And I should eat any food served on the table since I can't complain or demand my food preference. And I don't have the audacity to do it, so I better shut my mouth and feed it with whatever serves on the table than to be called demanding.

The food is good anyway. However, the seasonings contain gluten and that's what I was worried about. Because too much accumulation of gluten could lead to a more serious health issue. So I usually consume a small amount of food and my boss would ask if I am on a diet but I just always say that I don't eat much at night.

My body needed milk as well so I opted to ferment milk keifer so I could have lactose in my diet. That's also a process of decreasing lactose from milk. Milk keifer was expensive too, but gladly a friend of mine gave me some keifer grains as we're in the same shoes. Aside from fermenting milk keifer, she also gave me water keifer so I could have more probiotics in my diet.

The process of fermenting was quite strenuous as well as I had to monitor the time and check it regularly. It should be processed daily so it won't be over fermented because if it happens, the milk will be more curdled and the taste would be as sour as vinegar. And that was always the first thing I did in the morning, separating grains from milk and water and replenishing them with new ones. That costs me a plethora of time, effort, and money. Every month I consumed more than 4 liters of milk for this.

The fermented milk keifer was usually used when making snacks like oatcakes with chia seeds and nuts, or mixing it with my oatmeal or fruits in the morning. The food tasted different and was quite unpleasant but I just endured it and became used to it as days passed by, just for the sake of getting lactose.

Gluten/Lactose-free Diet Struggles

It was a struggle for me during the first year of having a gluten and lactose-free diet, as I can't completely eradicate them, especially when going out with my boss' family or with my friends during holidays.

Hot pot for instance has a lot of gluten. The dumplings, meatballs, sausages, siomai, udon, etcetera, and the appetizers and desserts have lactose as well. So every time we eat hotpot outside, I opted to eat more vegetables than meat. But it is sometimes too tough to resist the temptations of the foods on the table especially if they all look delicious.

When going out with my friends, they would prefer to eat in fast-food restaurants like Jollibee, McDonald's, or KFC, and all foods have lactose and gluten.

And at the end of the day, I would always suffer the consequences after eating the forbidden foods - flatulence, bloated and unwell tummy, and constipation. And sometimes, if I consumed too much gluten and lactose, the suffering would last for a few days. And I would go with drinking green tea or laxatives just to extricate the waste that was sitting in the colon for quite a long time.

So as much as possible, I would deprive myself of consuming delicious, yet unhealthy foods just for the sake of my health.

But the more I deprive, the more I crave, the more I suffer.

My diet was healthy, wasn't it? Except during holidays. It should have impacted my health positively, but the opposite happened. I was consuming less protein and fats that are essential to my health, so I was losing weight.

And instead of decreasing the hunger level in my body since I was consuming less sugar and starchy foods, it was increasing that led to excessive cravings and binge eating. I felt like my digestive system was working oppositely, and things were not in accordance with what they were supposed to be.

I was losing weight and easily getting tired at work as consuming more fruits and vegetables wasn't giving me enough nutrients and energy needed to have an active body and mind. I needed more protein and enough fats so my body could build more muscles and strength, but I was avoiding them. That only proved that I can't go with a 100% vegan diet.

Could it be because of too much diet and food deprivation?

I wasn't body conscious but health conscious. But due to food deprivation, I tend to crave more and the result is even worse as I sometimes fall to binge eating.

And as I became busier at work, I eventually lost the will to continue my diet as it requires too much time and effort, as well as money.

Then I stopped the diet and told myself, "I am working to feed my tummy, why do I need to deprive myself of eating foods that I wanted?" And I just cursed this food intolerance in my mind and thought that I might be able to tolerate it too just like facing the fear to overcome it.

What happened then?

I regained my normal diet and eat whatever I want but in moderation when it comes to eating sweets and processed foods.

Tea, congee, and any food with soup are what I like the most and they have less gluten and no lactose and are easy to digest.

If I crave sweets and something yummy I would go for it but in moderation.

Of course, I didn't finish that double-patty burger 🤣

The same goes with well seasoned-foods.

And I always told myself, "eat now and fart later" lol. This is really embarrassing and a bean that I shouldn't spill 🤦‍♀️. But it's better to have flatulence than to starve due to deprivation. That's even more unhealthy.

If there is a lesson I learned from here, "the more you resist your favorite food, the more you crave for it, and you'll likely overindulge in the end. So why deprive yourself of eating them if you can have them in moderation?"

Food is life. So savor it, but in a healthy way.

And this is my entry to @JonicaBradley new prompt "#20 Food." If you want to join, just visit the article here.

33
$ 12.03
$ 10.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 22
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ayygooo ang hirap nga naman pag ganyan ateeee. Yung kahit gustong gusto mo nang kainin na food eh hindi pwede ksi sa katawan mo lang rim naman yung balik. Di kasi tu kagya sa diet lang na pwede mag cheat day 😅. Pero infairness ateee apaka healthy ng foods mo po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt, food intolerance is big issue in many peoples due to absence of specific enzymes. I am kinda lactose intolerance. Your schedule of food from breakfast to dinner is good containing all the essential factors but I am wonder you are thin like me lol. I am kidding wheat related products have too much gluten protein. You can enjoy gluten free diet if you have problem.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's I need more probiotics too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything in moderation is okay is what I always believed. I am so happy that you seemed to have got used to food without a special pain in the ass and wallet diet again.... Haha you made me laugh farter Jane !!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣 that is embarrassing 🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the rule, the more we deprive ourselves of what we like the more we will want it. The best is to eat what we like in moderation. I lately, also have a bit of an intolerance to wheat flour. And what I do is try not to eat anything with wheat flour late at night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's gluten intolerance I guess. Every after consuming bread and other food with wheat... My stomach is reacting.. But I still bread. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't stand this haha! Ang sasarap ng mga food kainis :D :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Food intolerance would be hard but we just need to adhere to it since that would make us physically healthy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you @Jane, you can eat the foods you desire to intake but in moderation. Always remind yourself to take caution and be disciplined enough for It really is a serious matter. Laban lang! 💕

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..laban lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap ngang pigilan yung sarili ate eh na huwag kumain. Tuwing dito may handaan eh, may mga foods na bawal sakin pero kumukuha ako ng konti pero pinapagalitan din ako 😂 Wala eh nakakaingit kasi yung iba na kumakain nito. Nakakaiyak lalo na kapag inaasar nila akong kumaain sila non 🥲

Pero why naman ang sasarap ng mga pagkain na asa picture 😂 HAHAHA ang dami eh. Naging fiesta na dito sa artikol mo ate

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Masarap daw kc ang bawal 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yan tayo ehh kaya tayo..mas lalong mag crave sa mga pagkaing Bawal sa atin.. Bakit nga kaya no.. kung ano pang bawal yun pang pinakamasarap para sa atin 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe! I was just smiling reading your article and how you deprived yourself of food you ever wanted to eat. Of course you have concluded that everything should be done in moderation. There is nothing bad in eating food but let's do it in moderation so that at the end, you feel happy eating what you ever wanted to. Food is life 🤭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Yes it is.. Everything should be done in moderation.. That's how life should be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love food and fruits drive me crazy. I don't know what would happen to me if I were gluten and lactose intolerant. That's pretty much all I eat. I'd be thin, mind you, because I'm thick-framed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why I'm thin 😅 coz Im avoiding a lot of food haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already started salivating right from the start of this article and upon getting to the end, it felt like I just finished eating everything 😂 I love taking sweets as well but in moderation

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Sorry. I seldom eat sweets as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am lactose intolerant din pero mild lang naman. Siguro nakakaya ko pa din magconsume ng milk but in moderation; my tummy is not a fan of fresh milks.

Buti naman po in the present nakakain nyo na yung gusto nyong kainin. Hirap talagang mag-diet lalo na kung maraming tukso sa paligid hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sakn kc matagal na ata to at last 2017 ko lng nalaman... Nasobrahan na ang katawan kaya iba ang reaction. ..nkain parn ako may lactose. Pro kunticat minsan lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As of now, it's 11:30 pm. Napapalunok nalang ako habang nababasa at lalo nakikita mga photos ate 😂. Sakin naman wala ako kasi pong diet, gusto ko naman tumaba taba, bilis ko kasi pumayat e. Iinom ko nalang po ito ng tubig ngayon wala na kami rin ulam pala para makain ko sa ganitong oras HAHAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Kain k nlng 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang daming foods. Nakakacrave 😭

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Let see how I explain. If I were to do an article on food, the only thing I could show is a plate of rice and beans maybe, with chicken or fried egg ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Write it then 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now I am hungry, again. LOL! It's really good sis that you consume more fruits. That's awesome and stay healthy :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi na nga masyado lately. Nagtitipid 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food is life ma'am and it's not a problem most especially when it's good for our body. Just fart to let it go and eat again haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakatapos ko lang mag dinner tas nakita ko namn to HUHU kagutom eh lalo na yung mga desserts at yung last pics. Parang gusto kong tikman lahat except sa oat meal na may itlog haha. Kasi Nong nakita ko yung oatmeal with egg sa taas, hindi ko maimagine kung ano yung lasa niya hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hndi ka nag ooatmeal..dati ko pa pang breakfast yan nsa pinas pa ko 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was food intolerance. I avoided eating outside it was bad and I was also lactose intolerance. I was growing slender because i stopped eating most time to avoid abdominal cramps. The most painful thing that I can't forget was one of my birthdays, I wanted to eat out with my friends but I couldn't.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And it's difficult to attend parties with lots of desserts lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes oooh, it's difficult

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food is indeed life. Our food cravings can only be satisfied if and only if we get what we want. A diabetic patient was once told to stay away from carbohydrates like rice and bread. Which are hee favorites. What she did was bake her own millet bread and she started eating rice with milk.🤣 It worked for her and she's getting much better now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oats are good for diabetics too. And sweet potatoes can be alternative to rice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Anything whole meal is good for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi ang dami dami 🤤🤤😍 madaming food na ang natikman mo tas ako huehue

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..tikman mon lng sa photo lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food is Life Talaga Ate Jane. Kahit anung dami ng kain ang kinain ko, ewan ko ba hindi talaga ako tumataba, Hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same .. Hndi kal tumataba kht madami ang kain..marahil dhl malakas ang metabolism

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan din isa sa pinapasalamatan ko malakas ang metabolism ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I am hungry, and reading this just made those worms bite me harder.

Sorry about your body reacting to some food, I have some food I stay away from here as well. Aside from the beautiful sight of the foods, the colors are unique. You are doing pretty well sis and your compulsory style of food is really healthy because it contains vegetables and fruits.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But not so healthy lately.. I'm eating more meat lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, there are times we can't do than to satisfy what we want when it comes to food.

I really don't eat meat because of tooth ache but I eat a lot of fish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You keep making my decision to come and find you and live next to you easier for me... Wouldn't it be nice to be next door neighbours 😂😂🤣😂🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Sure then you cook for me 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣 how the tables have turned... Unless you want to eat just plantain and eggs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im okay with plantain. Not with eggs 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂 are you sure or because you are running away from cooking for me? 😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Nope..im not into egg yolks..i only egg white and I love eating banana in the morning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You see why we are going to get along so well now? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I've ever had food intolerance. You seeem to have found a system that works for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Deym. Haven't had dinner yet and I am now drooling.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're article one of the best article today I have Read many other articles but this article give me different happiness and this is Awesome Word awesome day and very foody day

This is really impressed me and Dilicious Dish yummy dummy Diligently that make me hungry today

Best wishes for you Best day for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung panganay ko sis palagay ko lactose intolerant.. Napaoansin ko kasi kapag iinom sya ng milo or kakain ng something na may gatas at chocolatr maya maya expect mo nasa cr na sya..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayun.. better malaman habang maaga.. Naalala ko nga dati mahilig ako mag gatas bago matulog, kaya pla ako nun bloated pro hndi ko lng pinansin. Last 2017 lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi ko pa napapatingnan sa doktor yung panganay ko pero ayun nga ang suspetsa ko. Diba ganun kapag lactose intolerant? Yung kakakain mo lang ng something na may dairy product eh nasiCR kana?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Nagtatae. Dpende dn. Minsan ako constipated..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see...kapag wala nang pandemic saka nalang namin ipapaconfirm sa doctor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder they said food is life and happiness. Checking those pictures alone makes me hungry

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very wrong timing pagkabasa ko nito ate. Haha. Patulog nako at akoy nagutom pa nga. 🤣 Di ko pa na try yung hotpot. Haha. Pero food is life talaga tayo ay. Pero tama nga naman, we always need to eat in moderation pa din or else we will face some consequences nga naman din.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kain ka ulit 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natulog na ate, di na nakakain. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm even happy that you know that food that is good for you. Some people don't know the kind of food that they are allergic to. For example, my throat itches when I eat pineapple so I don't eat it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mali yata na binasa ko ito ngayon. Nagugutom pa naman ko. 🤧😂 Ganda ng pictures, nakakagrowl nga lang ng stomach. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My body can be very food selective hence there are so many things I deprive myself of daily; for instance my nose itches with popcorn; I'm allergic, I don't eat vegetables bevaise my stomach reacts and have runny stomach the following day, I don't eat certain fruits as well. I can only eat a few things without having a side effect; at a point my aunt had to ask me "what exactly do you eat"...haha

Turns out I'm allergic to too many things..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh that's even worse . but I do have food sensitivity to some vegetables as well like cabbage..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I decided to mention all things I'm allergic to, you'd begin to wonder if I'm human at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago