The Lessons I've Learned From Simon

70 138
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

August 29, 2021

Perhaps, you opened this article because of the title and the name Simon on it. Maybe you thought that it's the admin's name. But no, I am not referring to the admin Simon, I am referring to Simon Sinek.

He's an optimist and a motivator I look up to because of his motivational words and his contributions in inspiring millions of people across the world through his motivational talks, books, and videos. Some of his best-selling books include Start With WhyLeaders Eat LastTogether is Better, and The Infinite Game.

Click the image to learn more about him

The last video I watched about his inspirational advice moved me to the realization and made me contemplate my real purpose of working hard.

What is really my purpose? Is it to wake up every day to do my job? Or to fulfill something Bigger?

As per Simon, one of the mistakes people make is they think purpose comes from their job. Doing one job and another, until they get tired or retired. Upon losing their jobs, they would feel no sense of purpose because they've associated their self-worth with the job they did. But then the real purpose is not your job that you wake up to do every day, your purpose is something BIGGER.

This somewhat hits me because all I think about is waking up every day to fulfill my duty at work for the sake of getting money. And I guess it's not only me who is thinking the same. Living in this demanding world makes our minds think about only getting a job because we can not survive without a single penny in our pockets.

As years pass by, the world is growing exponentially as well as the demands, expenses, prices, and everything. That's the main reason why many of us are diving into a job that is out of our line. Because what we only think about is money can suffice everything. And we are all doing the wrong thing following the wrong path.

And now you might be asking yourself as well, what is really my purpose in this world? To perform the tasks at work, or to perform my real duty in this world?

As I have learned from Simon Sinek,

For the sake of surviving in this perilous world, we tend to follow the path that is not supposed to be ours. We tend to choose things we don't love for the sake of other people. We tend to sacrifice our own happiness just to provide for the needs of other people. We tend to cross the unknown road and sometimes get lost in the middle of our journey. We tend to miss the boat where we are supposed to hop in because we consider other people and other things in life.

Image from https://unsplash.com/@johnarano

And we tend to do work that is out of our passion. Or should I say, do we even know our real passion or are we just going along with the flow of life?

Because most of the time, we are only doing things for the sake of getting what we need, and not what we want. It may be a practical mindset, but have you ever ask yourself about your real purpose in this world? Because I always ask myself about it especially during the times when I am alone, facing a blank wall, contemplating many things in my life and about this huge world, and thinking about our real purposes, and if we already have done something BIG.

Because of this, I can say that there are millions of people in this world that are stressed because they are working hard for something they don't even love. And I must admit that at some point in my life, I also work hard for things that I don't love, because of the sense of responsibility. That's the same reason for other people.

However, Simon is right. We are just stressing ourselves. Why not pursue our passion and the things we love?

Image from: https://unsplash.com/@goian

Remember that we set off for a journey for a reason. And our real passion is the fire that lights our way. So if what we are doing is not our real passion, that fire that is lighting our way will soon be diminished and our path will turn darker and darker until we can't see light anymore.

Related article: Purpose Is The Reason Of Your Journey, Passion Is The Fire That Lights Your Way

And in the dark place, we might just stumble onto things that will hinder us to to step forward or go back to where we started. But we always have the choice to continue until we reach the place where the light is. We always have a choice to light again the fire that fuels our journey. We always have a choice to choose our real passion over things we don't love. Because if we choose the wrong one, it's still us who will suffer in the end.


But in case you are lost in the dark and don't know how to light the match, here are other lessons I've learned from Simon for us to find the spark and bring our spark to life.

  • Go after the things we want

In our journey in life, we will encounter obstacles in our way that we need to surpass. If we really need to get what we want, we should not focus on the obstacles, rather, we should think and do something on how to surpass the obstacles to get the thing we want. Think positively in a negative situation. We can do anything just to surpass the obstacles, we can step on it, jump on it, climb on it, or push it. We shouldn't fear its height, because everything can be resolved if we just believe in ourselves and put more determination to surpass any obstacles in life.

  • Take accountability for our actions

Sometimes, we are the problem but we can't just see it or admit it, because of our huge ego and pride. We always thought we are doing the right thing and we don't listen to other people's words and advice. We just continue doing things we thought are right even though the consequences are negative.

  • Take care of each other

Having a strong body and mind isn't the only aspect we need to achieve success. Because in this world, no man is an island. Time will always come that we will be needing others. And in any battle in life, the only way to win is to help each other. The world is a perilous and huge place and we can't just survive from everything alone. We always need each other. So if someone offers us a hand, we should not hesitate to reach out. And if we see someone who needs help, we should not hesitate to reach a helping hand.

There's nothing wrong with giving help, and there is nothing wrong with asking for help. And just like what Simon said,

Until such time that we'll say that we don't know what to do anymore and we are being stuck in the dark. By that time, the people who love us will rush in to offer a helping hand.

  • Exercise humility and gratitude

This part is truly happening in reality. People who gain fame, fortune, and position are more respected by others and they are being treated special compared to ordinary people. People will even do things voluntarily for them without them asking to do such things. Some of the examples are the politicians, the artists, the bosses, and other well-known personalities. They are being treated differently by other people.

However, once their fame, fortune, position, and name fade, people will treat them normally just like how they treat other ordinary people. They won't open doors for them or treat them special, because they are already as ordinary as them. This only shows that people only respect the position or title the person has and not the person himself. The sad truth of reality.

Always remember that we can accept and enjoy all the perks, but be grateful for them and know that they are not for us forever. Those things are just temporary sources of happiness and fame, and won't last a lifetime.

  • Be Patient

This is the most important thing that the young generation should also learn.

As I always say to others, success won't grow overnight. Everything takes time. If you want to reach a summit, you should take the arduous trail of the mountain and endure the pain and obstacles to reach the summit. If you want to cross the sea, you should take a boat and sail with courage and strength, conquer the big waves and strong winds to cross the sea. So if you want to attain success, you should grind and strive harder, follow your passion for you to see the right path, and achieve whatever things you want to.


Author's Notes:

This world is indeed a perilous place and so we need to do anything for the sake of survival. And people who have burdens of responsibilities on their shoulders tend to follow the wrong path, choose works that are out of their lines, sacrifice their own happiness for the sake of other people's happiness, and they tend to lose their real passion.

We are working hard and stressing ourselves out about doing things we don't love. However, we always have a choice to follow our passion and the things that we truly love. Always remember that it is our passion that fuels us to pursue and light our journey in life.

Our purpose in this world is not just about waking up every day to do the tasks at work. Our real purpose in this world is to fulfill our duty as a human. And a part of that is going after what we want, not what others want us to have. And by going after what we want, we should always take accountability for our actions. And sometimes, we should listen to what other people are saying because not all the time we are right. We should take care of each other and we should not hesitate to lend a helping hand to those who are in need.

Moreover, we should not hesitate as well to ask for help in times that we badly need it. Because in this perilous and huge world, what we need to survive is not ourselves alone, but others as well. Most importantly, if we really want to achieve something, we should be PATIENT. .Things won't grow over time, just like money won't grow on trees. To achieve something we truly love, we have to do the right thing, strive harder, conquer every obstacle in our way, trust the process and ourselves, and most especially, give all the burdens to Him to make your baggage lighter and make your journey easier and faster.

And always remember not to do things that will give you stress, but the things that you love - your PASSION.

I hope you learned something from this article. Thanks for reading.

44
$ 16.31
$ 13.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.16 from @King_Gozie
+ 33
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Mas maganda po talaga na gawin ang nakaka pasaya po sa atin para kung mag kamale paman atles wala kang pag sisisi sa ginawa mo. Dahil maikle lang ang oras at minsan pa hindi na tin na mamalayan tumatanda na pala tayo at lahat nang gusto na ting gawin baka hindi na natin magawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to agree to what you said in this article po that we don't need need to stress ourselves to something we don't really want because we are only torturing ourself and we are just inflicting more damages.Just pursue what we really want to lessen the burden on our shoulders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's me. Work is like a role too. Sacrificing my own happiness for others.But as a mom, I learned to get to used to my role, Being a mom became my passion. If I won't accept it, it would become my burden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes what we do is not what we want but because all we think of is to survive then we began to do what we don't want just to get along

Nice motivator sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your learnings from Simon ms. Jane. Actually Hindi ko sya kilala pero ngayon, mukhang e fofollow ko na sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this wonderful article ate Jane. This speaks a lot. Thanks for sharing the learnings you got from Simon. Actually I love what I am doing right now, I am enjoying it. But I know inside me that this is not my passion. Just like what you've said, there are reasons why we cannot pursue our passion and that is because of other people. But still I got hope on the last part you wrote about being "patient". Hopefully soonest, I can really do the things I truly love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Accountability is something that we don't have right now. We tend to do things that we don't think of the consequences of our actions. Thus we don't have patience, we don't feel gratitude and we don't care for each other for we only think more about ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I studied engineering physics but that I do not have passion for it. I was given the course as consolation since I couldn't meet up with the criteria for studying electrical engineering. I'm at the bridge of neglecting my passion but thanks to this article it has encouraged me that I can still pursue my dream. Being an electrical engineer is what I love to do, it's my passion. Thanks Jane,I'm motivated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything really hits deep but the advice on doing what you love is something nobody should ever take for granted....his advice was solid just as yours is, if we have the chance to re write our paths again i think adding our desires and passion into the scheme is very important. I learnt so many things here even to be patient. Thanks for putting this together. 💖

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for your wonderful comment as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know anything about Simon but he must he a really wonderful pwrosn based on the lessons you learnt.

I appreviate the concept humility a lot, this determines if people will love to associate with you or not.
As for the patience aspect, I can be extremely patient I actually trained myself for that but it's been difficult lately especially with challenges and all.. Altogether this article is full of advise and I enjoy it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's good then. You will succeed in the future with your patience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But my patience isn't attracting rusty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exercise humility and gratitude, that is one thing i have started since childhood. Every good thing that happens to me I owe it all to the Lord. Grace undeserve kumbaga. Basta marunong ka magpasalamat sa Kanya expect mo di ka din nia kakalimutan ibless. Gratitude results to humility.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed.. Be grateful always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For this reason I always try to do the things I like and leave aside the things that even if they make me money don't give me any sense of passion to do them. I still haven't figured out what my mission in life is. But I am pleased with many of the things that God has allowed me to do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess you are already fulfilling your mission 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is two ways to be successful...

  1. Do what you love.. Or
  2. Love what you do.
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako basta kung anong nakapag papasaya sakin go ako jan. Kaya nga pag ayaw ko, ayaw ko talaga kasi maiba din magiging effect sakin. Selfish ako ee sarili ko lang iniisip ko kaya di ako mag sasarifice kahit kanino ahahaha. Tamo, tambay pa rin ako till now. Pero ito rin naman gusto ni Mommy ee. Marami oa naman akong time na eexplore ang mundo so sa ngayon. Hahanapin ko nalang muna kung ano ang para sakin. Basta go with the flow and float like a marshmallow

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Haha... It's fine kn your case.. Since you are only thinking bout yourself.. Pro tumatanda mga mommy mo.. Marami ka time now, but later baka kulangin na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know Simon po ate to be honest. Medyo natamaan po ako dun sa yung success ay hindi overnight and it takes time talaga. Minsan kasi nagmamadali ako pero mali pala ako. Salamat po dito sa article na to. Thank you po sa pagiging unang subscriber ko hehe. God bless po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diko siya kilala ate pero ang gaganda ng mga words niya 🤧 May natutunanan nanaman po ako dito. Can I save your article ate so that I can read po again and again?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ibaon mo yan pra maging positive ka lage haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa ako sa tinamaan ni Simon. Tama nga sya. Narealize ko nung nabasa ko ito, parang ang iniisip ko lang na purpose ko sa araw araw ay magawa ng maayus ang aking trabaho at maplease ang boss ko.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Ganun naman ata lahat tyo. Lage pera iniisip nkakalimutan yung real purpose

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis, Sad but true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Do what you love," ,that one struck me, that is definitely something to consider while we try to find our purpose in life, until today I haven't quite asked myself that, I always imagined a big revelation would appear. Now I know it's something I would have to figure out as I grow as a person

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You really need to as we are not getting any younger anymore.. Once we get into the stage where can't do things well anymore, we will only regret every opportunity we missed to pursue what we truly love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never heard of him. But going through your post, I'm quite impressed with his charm and motivation. Surely follow him. Thanks Jane for introducing Simon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such people who are able to bring the best out of us aren't common, I personally seek occasion to associate with people of that status because am also in the field of helping others find their purpose in life. I check out the work of this guy you wrote about to learn one or two new things.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sure and you'll lear more 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your notes at the end of your article sis! More like a realization :) And yes to chasing our own purposes in life. Not to merely exist, work and die. There is so much more than that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exist work and die. Most people are into that routine. Haha.. That includes me.. But at least, chasing our own passion while fulfilling our duty as a human is what makes our life different from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think you are just working and existing, you are soaring and yes doing your passion too❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayie. Kakataba naman yan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean it though ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw a question Why not pursue our passion and the things we love? Basically,When we are doing something we love, we are more likely to want to do it more. Our passion can be a driving force to learn more and give us that all-important sense of purpose to be the best possible version of ourselves. But most people tend to follow where money is and eventually when they get sacked or retired at an old age they won't be able to do what they love again.

I make sure I read to the article to the last word. Great article

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you.. That is because we are living in this demanding world so people tend to follow the wrong path.. But always have a choice to follow our passion while getting the money we want to survive from living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so much motivating. Hehehee. The background music and each words he spoke touched me. Reading alongside your article is just so much cool.

One thing I am happy about is opening this article and learning a lot of lessons from this. Simon indeed is a motivational speaker and I see no reason for you not to love him this.

At times we are the problem of ourselves. But we don’t know. We need to sit back and think to ourselves then we realize what next to be done. We need to love what we do as it brings passion of it And patience indeed something we should try to work towards in our life in addition to pure and true love.

Thanks so much for sharing this ma’am. Your article are always outstanding.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't know either what's my passion in life, haha just going with the flow 🤦

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun mostly ginagawa ng karamihan na hndi alam ano gagawin sa buhay 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga eh pano kasi may asawa na kaya ayun pamilya na lang priority.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun dn nangyayari kpgcmag iba na status.. Nag iiba na passion... And the real purpose would become, "to serve well the family and be a good model to kids".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking you're taking about head of noise & read and I'm hearing his name for the very first time by looking at how he inspired you with his work I'll also visit and explore more about him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can watch his videos.. All inspirational..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

akala ko talaga si simon e hehe. pero depende din kasi sa sitwasyon minsan.. i mean yung gawin mo yung passion mo or yung gusto mo o kung saan ka sasaya..

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Minsan masaya dn kht hndi passion.. But deep inside you are wanting to pursue what your heart wants to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One essential tool to succeed in today's world is the ability to adapt to circumstances and situations and get the outcome we desire. This is necessary because we will surely encounter tasks which we may not like but just have to do.

$ 0.03
User's avatar M3i
2 years ago

Why not pursue our passion and the things we love? Tma naman tlga, minsan lang tlga di ganun kadali pero kakayanin 💪

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ganun tlga. Hirap ng buhay kelangan kayanin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di bale sabihin n lng sa sarili.. Tuloy lang ang laban💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking accountability of our action is very much important for me. Sometimes kasi kahit mali ako hindi ko inaamin kasi akala ko tama ako at hindi ko kailangan opinion ng iba

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The pride and ego.. Mga lalaki mostly malalaki ego na ayaw ibreak. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

His name doesn't ring a bell but I am sure he is great with how you have described him in the article.

A lot of us have failed talking about our purposes because we take the wrong things in life for a purpose. We now see the things we do to survive as passion whereas it is bigger than that.

There are a lot of things attached to the purpose which are more than just earning a salary, it requires praying and understanding oneself to discover our purpose.

Great piece

$ 0.07
2 years ago

True.. We always thought that our purpose is to wake up every day and work.. But no it's not.. Our real purpose is something bigger and greater.. And to serve God is one of them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've come to that point of my life also. Actually ever since I stepped on the 2nd year of my high school, I began to realize what was my true purpose, "Young people being and bringing Christ wherever they are." I became a missionary at a young age. Not really a missionary thou pero somehow you can compare me to that. I've talked to thousands of youth pero it is really hard to continue that kind of journey kasi after all, I was the breadwinner of the family. So, I ended up giving up that passion pero passion really calls me. And nandito parin ako serving Christ pero in a different ministry lang. Medyo magaan na ang trabaho and atleast I can do both. Sooner maybe after having enough money, baka bumalik din ako dun. Sarap kasi ng feeling.

Hehehe basta ate, minsan talaga we forget to work kung saan yung passion natin kasi like you said, para din kasi for family.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I guess your heart really tells you to serve God and be an inspiration to others.. But as you said, you also need to fulfill your other passion due to a sense of responsibility.. We are in the same shoes and I know how it feels. That's why I admire you because you can still serve God while pursuing your passion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such an educative article addresses the misconception of ceasing whatever opportunity to earn a livelihood as our purpose in life. One purpose in life varies from individual to individual but the above-mentioned qualities in the article apply to whatever purpose you are working towards...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me at Simon! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. I knew it 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is i am the only who search for simon sinek. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba, bakit habang binabasa ko to eh naiiyak ako, hehehe.. Siguro at my age I still don't know my purpose in life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Your purpose has changed ate.. And now, it is to serve your family..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, medyo gumaan pakiramdam ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I listened to his video with remarkable messages up until the end of the article and it touched me. I am moved by this super inspirational article of yours ate Jane. Thank you so much. 💗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Motivational speaker play a very important role in our lives. When i got demotivated, i listened also the lectures of Qasim Ali Shah who is great motivational speaker in Pakistan, and after listening her 10 to 20 minutes lecture i feel new zeal in life😘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's what i always do every time I am down and my mind is filled with negative thoughts.. After listening to motivational words, I feel lighter..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article make me think more,yeah lately im always making my own stress in life thinking lot of questions in my mind,why like this why like that.. I almost forgot to do what I love the most and this is more important after all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have learned so much from it and I don't want to repeat all of it for it was all written in here. Thank you so much for sharing this to us Jane. I have ponder a lot that would help me get up and draw strength in this trying times. God bless to you 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago