Success, Is That Really What You Think It Is?

83 142
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

July 21, 2021

SUCCESS...

We all have our own definition of success and it does not only comprised of one word or one sentence because it is comprised of several things, and it depends on an individual's point of view of every aspect of life.

But we usually define success as having a lot of money, a huge house, luxury cars, wealthy life, a higher position in a corporate world, and anything fancy. Because it's the definition being fed by films, magazines, television, and the people who seek the same success, but not the definition we opted-in to.

But how do you define success?

At work...

We define success at work when we accomplish tasks without delays. When we've been promoted from a lower position to a higher one. When we receive compliments and praises due to excellent job performance. When we commit to our work performance and goals.

But you know what's the best definition of success at work?

It is when we motivate and inspire others not to give up and to work harder. It is when we contribute great things to the work environment and the success of the company.

At home...

We define success at home when we balance everything and support all needs of our family, provide food on the table, send the kids to school, buy their needs and wants, provide them a good shelter and comfortable life.

But you know what's the best definition of success at home?

It is when you were able to resolve every family problem without shattering the bonds into pieces. It is when you were able to raise your kids and they become kind and responsible individuals. It is when your kids were able to achieve their dreams, goals, and the successful life they wanted.

In studies...

Successful students in school usually define as those who are smart, have high grades, have many achievements, have lots of medals and trophies, have passed all quizzes and exams, and who graduated with flying colors.

However, they are not the only definition of successful students. Successful students have self-disciplined, are more focused, developed successful study habits, can balance their school activities and personal life, and have surpassed all obstacles in their lives.

In a relationship...

Successful relationships are those that survived all trials, the ups, and downs, bitterness and sweetness, fighting and misunderstandings. When the couple had an emotional connection, the same perspectives, sexual chemistry, and spiritual alignment, they are said to be a perfect match. But the chance to find the perfect match is just so little.

So to achieve success in a relationship, you need to listen to each other's point of view and be open to sharing thoughts and opinions about anything, accept the flaws of both, enjoy quality time together, and fix every stitch and hitch before the day ends, and the mutual desire to help each other's lives to get better.

Life in general...

For some, they define a successful life based on the achievements a person received, the kind of life a person has - wealthy and luxurious. However, it's not the real definition of success. A successful life is when you balance all areas of your life because you can't be called successful in your career life if your home is in bad shape.

You are successful when you are happy and has able to overcome the obstacles in life. And despite the current challenges, you have maintained your pace against odds and did not give up. You are successful when you followed and pursued your own right path, and not the path that others want you to follow, or the dreams of others.

But you know what's the most important definition of success in life?

  • It is knowing who you are and being who you are and choosing the life and path you have ever wanted.

But since we are in this field of writing and blogging so may I ask you,

How do you define success in blogging?

Is it when you got a lot of readers, followers, and popularity on the platform?

Is it when you are being paid high?

Is it when you are rated as an excellent writer and writing excellent articles?

All of these are perfect definitions of success in blogging. But you know what's more important here?

It is when you respected yourself and others, and gained respect from others. It is when you inspire and motivate others through your works. And it is when you received compliments and appreciation from others for providing simple, YET helpful, and meaningful content.

Always remember that:

Am I successful?

The answer is NO. I did not reach my dreams and goals yet, I did not achieve real happiness yet, I can't call myself a successful one yet. But I believe that I'm on my way and following the right path.

We may call ourselves successful but not by others. We may call others successful but not by themselves. Others may call us successful but not by ourselves. Because we all have definitions of success in all aspects of our lives. And having successful stories in all areas of life and multiple achievements while maintaining the pace of a human is what we can call, the REAL SUCCESS.

What about you, how do you define success?

Share your stories below.

This is my entry for the prompt: SUCCESS

If you can't think of anything to write, you too can join.

  • Write an article with at least 600 words.

  • Don't forget to challenge your friend and tag the initiator, @JonicaBradley

This time, I want to tag @tired_momma and @Eybyoung

Happy blogging and thanks for your time. 😊

Lead image source

41
$ 2.64
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Panky
$ 0.15 from @gertu13
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yes Madam! We have our own track and expertise but we are the ones who can define our own success πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth. We define success differently and even me I cannot say that I am successful already but atleast we are working towards achieving our dreams and that what matters. Godspeed in your journey to your successful life @Jane. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success is very useful and its also very necessary to build relationship not only a single person but with you a , with nature with your work and a family as well , success always make you new relations because a failure one is not consider to be better person as compared to success one so in my case success is a compulsory thing , if you are not successful in anything you are nothing important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely! Success holds different meanings in every aspect of our lives and in every single person. We do have different perspective of success and different yard sticks for success. Successful or not yet, on the way there. Tha bottom line is we are all working on it. Working on our way to achieve our success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My latest success is yung natagpos ko yung 3rd year college despite tong nakakaburyong na online class. Then I have this everyday success pag nakapagluto ako at nasarapan yung mga kasama ko dito sa bahay. Yay! Soon na yung big success ko. Hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana matikman ko rn luto mo πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not yet successful but sometimes I feel like I already am. Hahahaha Feeler ako. Gawa nga din ako ng entry dito. 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Goora. Not late yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po we all have different definition of success because of our different perspectives and experiences. As for me success in blogging is when you gained friends whose supporting your works and when you learn something that helps you improve in this platform

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And i guess may nagain kna 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napapaisip tuloy ako, "Ako kaya, sa puntong to' successful na ba ako?" maybe sa ibang bagay.. Anyways, sa kakabasa ko sa articles niyo, minsa nag.alalangan man ako na mag.leave nang comment, siguro nahihiya lang din. Pero masasabi ko na talaga na, napaka.galing niyo po. Ang strong nang personality niyo po. Honestly, walang kimi yun. Sa bawat araw na may nababasa ako'ng mga articles dito, mas na.oobserve ko po yung tao, kahit sa virtual lang. And as for you po, huwag niyo nalang i.think differently ha..hihi... MATAPANG ka po na tao..SURE AKO DUN..😊😊😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

mhaha. matapang virtually. Pro in person sis. Sus.. Halos hndi magsalita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hihi.. Depende na rin po siguro Ma'am Jane sa kaharap na tao..☺️

God bless you po..πŸ˜‡β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success for me is yong kahit makapag lagay lang ako ng ngiti sa mga tao. I'm not really a joker pero ewan, obsess akonh pasayahin lahat ee. Yan, jan palang it's a success na for me. Or kahit ano pamang maliliit na bagay, ung mga simple na nakuha ko or naachieve, yong nakatulong ako kahit maliit na bagay, yan mga ganyan lang. Kahit nga pag utot success na sakin un ee πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And you are doing it here through sa articles mo... Successful kna 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no single right way to be successful. As long as you are happy with what you're doing and doing what you really love, that to me is success.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And you have it already πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mga 79% sis 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! I can only remember my brother when he was still younger, whenever he gets out of the toilet sabay sigaw ng SUCCESS! hahhah!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🀣🀣 ay iba . araw araw success 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success for me is seeing my son well and happy. Success in providing him the needs up to the best that I can.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ganun tlga pag mommy na πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success at work is being able to work as a team and achieve the objective together. For me, success at home is having the life I have. My son in college, food in my fridge, peace in my heart and love to share with my friends and family. My life as a student never ends. I must always be reinforcing my knowledge of pathology. That is a passion in my life and I am successful when I can guide my patients to find out what their disease is.

The definition of success has many connotations. If it refers to economic freedom, to having all the money you can't spend and having all the luxuries you want... no, then I am not successful. But from my point of view I am a very successful woman. I have what I can and I like what I have. My life, my job, my friends and my son with me. To me this is being successful. I can die peacefully now because I have fulfilled almost all of my wishes.

But now I want to plan to be successful with money and have more than I can spend.

You have made a good discussion post.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Tha k you for this wonderful comment too.. You said it all.. You're a parent so that's how you define the success.. We all have a different definition depending on what aspect in life.. I hope my mother thinks like you too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, because we all see success according to our needs. Or our way of looking at life. If you asked me in my youth what success was, I would have told you that it was having all the material goods I could buy in my life. But now my personal success is my peace, my tranquility, my family, my son and being able to help in my job those who come to me. I don't know how your mother thinks, but I hope she can see life with all the beautiful things it brings us as payment for our experiences and that gives her the success she wants.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For me I have not yet succeeded in my desire to achieve, but I have succeeded in loving my family, Success is happy and contented, just like being content with what you get in life, be happy because blessings are we receive 😊 ganyan po ang nasa bio ko sa noisecash, I'm Happy and Contented ❀️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Galing naman . mabasa nga mamaya 🀣 Ganun dapat, hndi lng successful dapat happy dn . dapat balance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have defined success in several ways that I have never thought of. To me success is relative this is because most persons who are poor will see themselves as not being successful even when they have a healthy family... I see success in everything once I achieve my set goal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same... Every achievement is a success.. And real success is when we achieve our goals in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well. I get your point of view. But I can define any of my little win as success. So, not buying cars or building houses could be tagged as been successful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly.. We can find success in every small things.. It's not just about money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you defined success in blogging "...respect yourself and others" . Earning a lot doesn't necessarily mean one is successful, being famous doesn't matter. But matters the most is how you relate with others, the respect they accord you. Because life is beyond blogging. We need each other whether we admit it or not.

As a student the ability to understand fully and put in use what is being taught in class is Success. So many students come out in flying colours but can't defend it. They only read to pass and not to understand. And as you clearly stated, they are able to balance everything together without one affecting the other.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You explained it well.. And I can tell that you are a successful student 😊 btw, are you in the University already?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. I'm currently in my 3rd year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success for me is seeing my parents happy. Lahat ng ginagawa ko para sa kanila. Kahit wag na ako bsta maayos at masaya lang sila.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lahat naman tayo 😁single kpa rn ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May bf. Hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success is seeing my parents' lives lighter than before and I'm still in the process of giving that. hhehe. They're not asking but I must give it to them at least before they leave us. Seeing them happy makes me successful as a daughter but defining my own success, is another story and still not sure about that. hehe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh.. I forgot about that too... Ganun dn gusto ko. Yung maransan nla na maging magaan ang buhay.. Lalo nat tumatanda na sla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga sis. thinking about sometimes naprepressure ako but still trying to calm myself and sabi soon sana ay maantay pa nila yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko sanang sabihin 'yung naiisip ko about this topic pero nire-reserve ko kasi for my article din. Baka kasi ending nito is ito na maging article ko. Hahaha

Anyways, tama naman lahat. Saka dun ako sa school pinaka-naka-relate. Like you, Ate, di pa din ako successful. Kasi nasa proseso pa lang din ako eh, katulad ng karamihan. Pero dadating din tayo jan, dibaaa? Soonest! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Olahh... Mararating din natin yan. Tiwala lang 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tiwala at tiyaga lang. Bawal sumuko :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"It is knowing who you are and being who you are and choosing the life and path you have ever wanted."

I love this. For me, success is being real and accepting yourself. Success is choosing the things we love without hesitations. Success is being contented to what we have ❀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed.. No matter how simple our life is, for as long as we are happy and contented, we can feel that success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll call I'm successful when my mom will feel proud of me and I'll able to complete her all dreams and the better life she deserve and indeed your facts are best!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you.. For sure, your mom is proud lf you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You definition of success in all aspects is right , at work, school, blogging , life in general are all correct

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I think I am too young to label myself as successful but I could use the term succeded for I was already prove something in myself and for my family.. HEHE

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mas malalim yun ah. How old are you na? πŸ˜… Since nalagpasan natn pagsubok sa past.. Matatawag natin yun na success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success in blogging? Hmmm, a long road ahead for us all.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah...always be a long road

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with your point because now we just think if we have money then we are successful but that wrong and you said right if we are happy in our life then we are successful it's my point of view

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A true success is when you are happy about the things you achieve in life.Pagtahak palang natin ng issng araw tas nalagpasan natin lahat ng obstacles sa araw na iyon is .a huge success na .success na kasi hindi na nag give up😊..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama. Sa tuwing nakakasurvive sa pagsubok sa buhay, success na yun....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one can define the success of an individual. It is with itself that can only tell if he/she is successful or have reached the level of success. This article is so so good and it made me think about my definition of success.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess you have made yours now. Time to write about it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll include this on my list of the topics that I should write about. ❀️πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success is relative and can be found in little things too depending on our priorities and of course, based on our background. Happiness is success because what's the point in achieving something or doing something and you are not happy? Happiness is hard to achieve in a world that has been altered to frustrate us. Well done, Jane ❀❀❀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you.. Indeed.. We can't be called successful if we are not happy.. It should always be together with success..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. ❀πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you were able to touch different areas of life and how success is defined in each of them! Thumbs up!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same to you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis applaud to you for this. I guess you nailed it already. I like it how you define success in different fields.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success is to be able to make the people around you happy... That's one of the things that I consider as success.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama.. Hndi lang ikaw ang happy kundi pati mga tao sa palibot mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are successful when you are happy and has able to overcome the obstacles in life.

Agree on this line, my own definition of success is when I am happy and contented in my life. I'm still not successful, need to find my happiness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Happiness can be found in small and simple things. Pro ako, prang d ko pa nafefeel uung ideal happiness πŸ˜…πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa ata akong success eh kaya di ako magsulat char πŸ˜‚ Success is when you reach satisfaction I guess.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Para may topic kna sa sunod in case wala ka maisip 🀣. .dami mo rn naman success sa buhay na matatawag.. Compare mo plng life mo noon at ngayon.. Kung much better, then it's a success 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With what you've quoted there as an important yardstick of success, you are one already, at least to me ❣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay kakatouch naman 😁 at least meron isa 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ultimate success ang inaantay mo eh :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Matagal na panahon pa makakamit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't say matagal, cge ka mgtatagal talaga🀣 all the best though, i believe whatever they are, you will achieve them sooner❣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magdilang anghel ka sna 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen sisπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa dami ng regrets ko sa buhay ko dikona maisip Kung magtagumpay pa ba ko hahayssss. Pero siguro success na din matatawag yung may napatunayan ako kahit papaano hehe

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oo naman. Dami challenges sa past na nalagpasan natin.. Success narn yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago